DEV Community

CodeNewbie Staff for CodeNewbie

Posted on

April 15 — Daily CodeNewbie Check-in Thread

You are encouraged to use this daily thread to:

  • Ask for help (all questions encouraged)
  • Explore topics you’re curious about
  • Share something you’ve written or read
  • Celebrate your wins
  • Stay accountable to your goals
  • Support your fellow programmers

Happy Coding!


Interested in joining the twice-weekly live #CodeNewbie Twitter chats? You can find us on Twitter each Wednesday at 9pm ET (1am GMT on Thursday) and Sunday at 2pm ET (6pm GMT)!

Top comments (20)

Collapse
 
terabytetiger profile image
Tyler V. (he/him)

Boosting awareness that if anyone is stuck on a bug and needs a fresh set of eyes, or can't quite wrap their head around a concept (looking at you, For-loops 👀) - don't be afraid to reach out.

I mostly focus on working with HTML/CSS and Vue, but message me about anything! Worst case is that I have to point you to someone else 😄

Collapse
 
peter profile image
Peter Kim Frank

Awesome offer, @tvanblargan ! 👍

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

To kick things off, I hope someone out there might benefit from this post I made a little while ago...

Happy coding ❤️

Collapse
 
vaibhavkhulbe profile image
Vaibhav Khulbe

What a great post! Learning never stops! :)

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Absolutely

Collapse
 
coffeecraftcode profile image
Christina Gorton

I waited 20 minutes in a Google hangouts today to do a presentation for a job interview... The interview is actually next week 😂

On the plus side, I am very much prepared for it and now have an extra week to prepare even more so I am counting this as a win.

Collapse
 
lizzsoup profile image
Lizz Rennie

Ahahaha! That is so relatable 😂

Collapse
 
k_the_c profile image
Kris
Collapse
 
bogdaaamn profile image
Bogdan Covrig

I also found @lydiahallie 's JavaScript Visualized post about async/await amazingly helpful and neatly explained.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Definitely.

Async/await is so not straightforward. In a way I don't envy the CodeNewbies have to come in to the JS landscape where there is so much transition happening and so many cool new things. But I also envy that they get to learn concepts like Async/Await early and probably get a handle on async programming a lot more thoroughly than I ever did.

Collapse
 
ekafyi profile image
Eka • Edited

Hi all! I've been off social media for a while (still peep at Discord though 😬), so have not been interacting much with dev communities. Grateful for this brilliant thread, thank you CodeNewbie & DEV!

Quite swamped with work these days; aside of day job I'm taking a short-term side gig this week, grateful but kind of drained. Unfortunately it also means I don't have the energy for personal projects and/or learning after some 8 + 3 hours of work!

Quick snippet of random stuff that tripped me up at day job where I work with Laravel (this applies to PHP in general though): We call static and public methods differently. 😶

// Define the methods
class Foo {
  public function doSomething() { /* something */ };

  static function doOtherThing() { /* other thing */ };
}

// Call the methods from elsewhere
use Foo; // regardless of method type, make sure you call the class

// Call public method
$foo = new Foo();
$foo-> doSomething();

// Call static method
Foo:: doOtherThing();

If you copy-paste from one file/class to another without paying attention to that, you'll get 💀 aaaall the errors 💀.

You can also have private methods and... public static function (what the? 😆) but today I'm mainly learning to differentiate those two. Mind you I'm not strong at PHP, started from front-front-end (HTML, CSS, presentational JS) so I'm learning as I go.

Anyway hope you all have a good day!

Collapse
 
coffeecraftcode profile image
Christina Gorton

Also if anyone wants to hold me accountable!?

I am working on getting my first video out on Egghead.io this week. They invited me to be an instructor at the end of last year. Because of conflicts at my current job I couldn't do any videos until now!

So no more excuses. I hope to have my first video ready to publish by this weekend.

Collapse
 
calvinoea profile image
Calvin

If anyone is looking to learn JavaScript with code challenges and videos, I found Edabit and a free 4 hour course by Amigoscode to be really helpful: youtube.com/watch?v=dOnAC2Rr-6A&t=...

Collapse
 
cchacin profile image
Carlos Chacin ☕👽
Collapse
 
cchacin profile image
Carlos Chacin ☕👽
Collapse
 
gianniskoutivas profile image
Giannis Koutivas

Hi there, I hope this won't be in the wrong place.

I would like to ask if it's possible to build an API JSON response with Google functions.

WorkFlow goes:
I make a scraper on puppeteer
I upload the function and make it run once per day
The function somehow returns JSON or XML or any response based on date parameters
My web app crawls these responses and brings the data it needs to the web.

Possible?

Collapse
 
peter profile image
Peter Kim Frank

Hi Giannis, to increase your likelihood of getting a reply I’d recommend commenting in the latest thread: dev.to/codenewbiestaff/may-2-daily...

You can also post a standalone #help thread if you’d like.

Collapse
 
chakrihacker profile image
Subramanya Chakravarthy

I started practicing algorithms after a long time and it's fun too. If you want any help please reach out to me

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Bookmarked

Collapse
 
pandiyancool profile image
Pandiyan Murugan

I have written this post on topic angular with bootstrap

efficientuser.com/2020/04/13/angul...