DEV Community

Cover image for It's AMA Day! What Are Your Questions?
Sloan the DEV Moderator for CodeNewbie

Posted on

It's AMA Day! What Are Your Questions?

AMA Day has arrived! Fire away with your questions! What pressing queries would you direct at our skilled moderators and experienced community members, all geared up to provide guidance?

Join us on a journey that's all about newbies sharing, learning, and growing together. Follow the CodeNewbie Org and #codenewbie for more discussions and online camaraderie!

Top comments (18)

Collapse
 
khairunnisaas profile image
Khairunnisaas

Hey folks. my name is khairunnisa and currently i'm a frontend dev on local healthcare company. Besides being a coders, i also want to share what i've learn to people by making a blog (maybe right here on dev). but i had a hard time to write want i want to share with you guys. any recommendation to improve my writing skill?

Collapse
 
jessica_veit profile image
Jessica Veit

I guess the key to imrpove ones writing is experience. To gather it there are more ways than just writing itself, for example:

  • find a writer/blogger you like and try to understand what you like about their style

  • get into the theory of writing; How do I write a paragrah? What are catchy titles? How can I spicy up my vocubalary?...

  • Peer review your works (even with someone that may also be not that good at writting, we can always learn something from each other) 😁

I hope these tips are helpful to you on your blogging journey! πŸ˜‡

Collapse
 
juanfrank77 profile image
Juan F Gonzalez

This is pretty on point advice. I think it covers all the main points for getting better with it.

Collapse
 
khairunnisaas profile image
Khairunnisaas

woaw... this is some very good advice... thanks for the helpful tips!

Collapse
 
gauravgahlot profile image
Gaurav Gahlot

From my experience as a blogger:

  • Don't wait till you have a perfect draft. Draft it and publish it. You can always come back and update. It's your blog after all.
  • Your blog is/will be your identity. So don't write/talk about anything you don't believe in.
  • Don't always write about the destination (a final result). More often people tend to enjoy and learn from the journey.
  • Try sharing your failures too. Everyone learns from mistakes.

Cheers! 🍻

Collapse
 
darkterminal profile image
Imam Ali Mustofa

read me

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington • Edited

I got a couple questions for DEV community members:

  1. What's your favorite thing about DEV?
  2. If you could change one thing about DEV, what would it be and why?

Thanks folks! πŸ’š

Collapse
 
khairunnisaas profile image
Khairunnisaas
  1. my favorite thing about DEV is ofcourse meme monday. i can't get enough of that.
  2. i can't think of anything for the change. i like the way things are 😁
Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Thanks a bunch for sharing your feedback, Khairunnisaas! Meme Monday really is a ton of fun. I'm really siked to hear that you're enjoying the community here! πŸ˜€

Collapse
 
theaccordance profile image
Joe Mainwaring

Two questions:

  1. What's Dev.to's tech stack? I know of RoR, but what else drives this community?
  2. As more platforms shift towards a monetization model for creators, I'm curious if this platform has also explored that avenue? (I realize Dev.to is not at the same scale but it's still an intriguing question to ask)
Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

We use some Preactjs and Vanilla JS on the frontend. The frontend is designed to be fairly minimal in nature, but that's always a bit of a moving target. πŸ€ͺ

All the traffic runs through our CDN, Fastly for DEV, for performance.

Lots of other Rails configuration details to look up, but it's all pretty typical.

Otherwise: DEV is hosted on Heroku. That could change in the future, but it's been a great PAAS for us.

Creator monetization: Definitely in consideration in the long run. We have explored this in different ways and definitely still in exploration. We always strive to ensure that we are delivering a lot of value to those who contribute. Right now that is pretty indirect in the form of opportunities that folks derive from being active (and there are A LOT of success stories here).

As we are able to scale and overcome our own challenges and create bandwidth, this type of thing is definitely on our minds.

Collapse
 
mateusabelli profile image
Mateus Abelli

What is it like working as a professional software developer, how much does it change from working with personal projects, is it even fun?

Collapse
 
khairunnisaas profile image
Khairunnisaas • Edited

i just started my career as a professional developer. i don't have much experience yet, but from what i get during this career, it doesn't change very much from working with my personal project.
and is it fun? i guess so... i mean, i love working together with other people. but working for other people also mean that you can't be as creative when you're working on a personal project you have to create what the client want.

Collapse
 
gauravgahlot profile image
Gaurav Gahlot

It's been 8 years for me. The more I learn, the more I feel like there is so much I don't know. There are days when I work like a workaholic, and there are some when I just hate computers. That's all part of the journey.

I believe, more than the project and the technology itself, it's your team and work culture that makes you fall in love with what you do. Working on large projects as a professional will help you come up with more ideas for a personal project. It's all interconnected. So, enjoy the journey while you can!! πŸ₯³

Collapse
 
xoyeh profile image
dav xoyeh

Basically, I want to create a virtual currency on a custom made website. I want an admin portal and a regular portal. I don't know what coding language to use but if someone could help me make this, that would be awesome! I prefer to talk on Discord. My username is xoyeh. Add me if you can help!

Collapse
 
jmfayard profile image
Jean-Michel πŸ•΅πŸ»β€β™‚οΈ Fayard • Edited

Running my own instance of forem, how much time and money would that cost ?

Collapse
 
preetsuthar17 profile image
Preet Suthar

I am thinking to join hackathon I want to know how much knowledege is required to atleast make little bit of progress there.

Collapse
 
valehova profile image
Ziba

Hi, I want to make talking avatars, can I here?

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.