DEV Community

Cover image for Starting Your Coding Journey: What Sparks Excitement?
Sloan the DEV Moderator for CodeNewbie

Posted on

Starting Your Coding Journey: What Sparks Excitement?

Welcome to DEV, CodeNewbies! What's the most exciting thing about starting your coding journey?

Follow the CodeNewbie Org and #codenewbie for more discussions and online camaraderie!

Top comments (9)

Collapse
 
sarahokolo profile image
sahra πŸ’« • Edited

Learning something new. I think I have this thing where I get so excited when I come across something new to learn.

Although most times, the excitement quickly fades, then I get bored, then I move on to the next best thingπŸ˜….

But with coding, I just found out I really love it, because there is so much to learn that I never get bored. Overwhelmed yes, but never bored.

Collapse
 
shasheeshpurohit profile image
Shasheesh Purohit

What captivated my interest in programming was the sheer ability to craft something substantial out of mere lines of text, essentially building things from thin air.

While many individuals might become disheartened when confronted with challenges during their coding journey, it's these very challenges that foster personal growth.

Happy Coding !

Collapse
 
ahm_freeman profile image
Francis EnechukwuπŸ‡³πŸ‡¬πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦

πŸ€”...What captured my interestπŸ™‚ in coding was the curiosity to discover how websites are being built and what made them interactive😯.
Also, how technology works both the connectivity, interactiveness, usability of resources, rendering out of services in different ways, and what powers it.πŸ˜‡

Happy CodingπŸ€“

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Software development can be challenging, and not every job is great, but at the core it is a truly creative pursuit. It's a rare opportunity in this world.

Collapse
 
cocode305 profile image
coco

Learning to code has been a long time goal. I've always wanted to be a front-end developer. Then I didn't have a laptop to learn so I started out with my phone.
Coding for me goes beyond writing lines of codes, it pushed me to change the way I learn and think.
So far I've learnt HTML and CSS, moving on to JavaScript very soon and I know it's going to more challenging than the first two but I'm excited moving forward and black belting my skills

Collapse
 
harshacodex profile image
Harsha Bandla

There's an unparalleled sense of accomplishment and wonder that fills me when I see lines of code materialize into a functional piece of software – it's like bringing imagination to life through technology.

Collapse
 
khairunnisaas profile image
Khairunnisaas

for me personally, i have a teribble logic. i'm having a hard time to solve programming problem like leetcode, hackerrank, etc. so the most exciting part of my coding journey is when i could solve some programming problem all by myself and it got "accepted"

Collapse
 
jburky15 profile image
Joe Burkhart

Looking at what other people have done and realizing that anything is realistically possible when you learn to code. There's always something new and exciting to learn and you never stop learning and exploring.

Plus, it's an amazing creative outlet.

Collapse
 
kurealnum profile image
Oscar

What most recently sparked my excitement is seeing my React project build and run with Django flawlessly. I don't know why, but that was so fun to watch/do.