DEV Community

Cover image for What was your win this week?
Peter Kim Frank for The DEV Team

Posted on

What was your win this week?

👋👋👋👋

Due to the company holiday, I'm tapping in this week to post this fun thread.

So— looking back on your week — what was something you're proud of?

All wins count — big or small 🎉

Examples of 'wins' include:

  • Getting a promotion!
  • Starting a new project
  • Fixing a tricky bug
  • Cleaning your house...or whatever else that may spark joy 😄

Have a great weekend!

Weekend

Top comments (78)

Collapse
 
hannahgooding profile image
Hannah Gooding

I signed the contract for my first full-time role as a software engineer!

Collapse
 
warengonzaga profile image
Waren Gonzaga

Congrats!

Collapse
 
majedbojan profile image
Majed Bojan

Congrats Hannah, Keep going up

Collapse
 
hrishio profile image
Hrishi Mittal

Congrats, Hannah!

Collapse
 
derekcrosson profile image
Derek Crosson

Congratulations, Hannah! All the best with your new job :)

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ☕

Congrats!

Collapse
 
said321 profile image
Said Choukrane

Congrats, keep going!!!!!

Collapse
 
vic0de profile image
Vishnu Dileesh

Congrats Hannah, best wishes

Collapse
 
eelstork profile image
Tea

Thumbs : )

Collapse
 
hudson35 profile image
Hudson B.

Congrats! And me too!

Collapse
 
hannahgooding profile image
Hannah Gooding

Congrats to you as well!

Collapse
 
moideenluqman profile image
LUQMAN P

Congrats Hannah

Collapse
 
markoshiva profile image
Marko Shiva

Congrats hannah

Collapse
 
briwa profile image
briwa

Sending good vibes.... congrats!

Collapse
 
prafulla-codes profile image
Prafulla Raichurkar

My Project Express AutoDocs got 21 stars :D

Collapse
 
dsaw profile image
Devesh Sawant

cool man!

Collapse
 
prafulla-codes profile image
Prafulla Raichurkar

Thanks 😇😇

Collapse
 
derva profile image
derva

Cool man, congratulations 24* stars now :D :D

Collapse
 
prafulla-codes profile image
Prafulla Raichurkar

Thanks 😇

Collapse
 
codemouse92 profile image
Jason C. McDonald

I was elected to the EuroPython Board of Directors! So, that's only sort of REALLY EXCITING!

Dancing

Collapse
 
sharadcodes profile image
Sharad Raj (He/Him) • Edited

Congratulations

Collapse
 
fwd079 profile image
Fawad

Congrats. In case people want to read up on it.
europython-society.org/about

Collapse
 
learnbyexample profile image
Sundeep

Finish first draft of my ebook on Ruby one-liners and started editing. Hope to finish the changes and publish the book next week. Noted down some interesting changes, for example:

I shared my curated learning resources on a twitter thread for Python beginners tips - pleased to see it being received well.

Collapse
 
fennecdjay profile image
Jérémie Astor

Got some movement on my main project and its siblings: some stars, one more member in the team and a few PRs!

By the way, the team (to discuss a programming language development) is still recruiting!
So please let us know if you're interrested.

Collapse
 
eelstork profile image
Tea

Are we making a language again? Maybe hit me up : ▷
Did work recently on an ML related language effort, and more recently this github.com/active-logic/howl

Collapse
 
fennecdjay profile image
Jérémie Astor • Edited

I'm not quite sure what you mean by "hit me up" (english is not my native language), so I'm inviting you in the team. Feel free to ignore it if I misunderstood. 😄

Thread Thread
 
eelstork profile image
Tea

French maybe? "hit me up" probably means "let's talk about it?" as you perhaps mentioned you needed some kind of help?
Language-wise exp covers a little bit of Tree-Sitter and some Boost Spirit. Did hardwire a couple of parsers in Java and C# too.

Thread Thread
 
fennecdjay profile image
Jérémie Astor

French, yes. Reputedly not the best at foreign languages.
Thank you for the clarification on hit me up.
I'm mainly searching people to discuss Gwion's development. But, let's face it, the docs needs some technical writers (it does not seem to be a skill of mine 😄).

Thread Thread
 
eelstork profile image
Tea

Hey I see. The first step here regardless (for me at least) would be installing and giving it a go esp. since domain specific

Thread Thread
 
fennecdjay profile image
Jérémie Astor

I'll post a tutorial tonight (tonight a +5:30GMT), showing how to build Gwion, which (hopefully) end with a web page outputting sound from gwion. It's a special Hacktoberfest one because the html/javascript part deserves improvement 😄.
I also provide a way to do just that by using mdr to automate the whole process here.

Collapse
 
hrishio profile image
Hrishi Mittal

This 👇🏽

Collapse
 
eelstork profile image
Tea

Yay to this.

Collapse
 
shunjid profile image
Shunjid Rahman Showrov • Edited

Completed the "JavaScipt Algorithms and Data Structure" on freeCodeCamp 🎉😇

Collapse
 
warengonzaga profile image
Waren Gonzaga

This is awesome!

Collapse
 
radiomorillo profile image
Stephanie Morillo

Hey Peter,

My win: I pre-announced that I'm launching a content strategy program for developer advocates. ☺️ I started working on it earlier in the summer but had to table it due to some other life things, and this week decided to reimagine it. I'm formally announcing it in October.

I also cross-posted my first article in seven weeks on DEV Community! Again I'd been balancing work, life and writing so I had to put things on the backburner for a while. Things will continue to be busy but I'm happy with these small successes.

Collapse
 
andrewbaisden profile image
Andrew Baisden

Creating two React Apps, one with a Node/Express backend and the other with a Python/Flask backend that connect to a HarperDB database. Deploying them both to Netlify/Vercel. Also creating a new and improved Resume and transferring my domain from HostGator to Namecheap which should reduce my annual costs. And finally writing a post on "What I realised after learning Python, TypeScript and Kotlin" which got lots of recognition.

Collapse
 
bramleydev profile image
Anthony Bramley

Made my first dev.to post today! Very fun experience overall.

Collapse
 
bernardbaker profile image
Bernard Baker

Closing an issue for a database migration from Heroku to AWS. It involved GraphQL + Web Sockets + Serverless + AWS. Very exciting 😺.

Collapse
 
harshvats2000 profile image
HARSH VATS

Just finished a frontend project for $200 in 10 days. I know it's very low but i am in my third year at college ( from mining engineering), so it actually means a lot to me. Thanks :)

Collapse
 
theme_selection profile image
ThemeSelection • Edited

We've won a new badge this week 🥳

CSS

Collapse
 
uvinduharshana profile image
Uvindu Harshana

What is this?

Collapse
 
warengonzaga profile image
Waren Gonzaga

Ow where to get this kind of badges?

Collapse
 
sandordargo profile image
Sandor Dargo

I finished the vomit draft of my book which has a working title, The Seniority Trap!

Collapse
 
phantas0s profile image
Matthieu Cneude

📙 I've began the second draft for my book Building Your Mouseless Development Environment, and it goes way better than I thought.

I hope 'll be able to send an early sample of the book for the subscribers of my newsletter next week!