loading...

The Ember Times - Issue No. 163

embertimes profile image The Ember Times Originally published at blog.emberjs.com ・6 min read

πŸ‘‹ Emberistas! 🐹

Learn what's new in the Ember 3.21 release πŸŽ‰, Embroider preparation blog post πŸ“–, get ready for Hacktoberfest 2020 πŸ‘©πŸ½β€πŸ’»πŸ§‘πŸ½β€πŸ’», CI with GitHub Actions for Ember Apps: Part 2 πŸŽ₯, and last, but not least, celebrate 3 addon major releases 🌟!


Learn what's new in Ember 3.21 release πŸŽ‰

The Ember Blog announced the v3.21 releases of Ember.js, Ember Data, and Ember CLI. The occasion also marked the LTS release of Ember v3.20. It will receive bug fixes until May 2021 and security patches until September 2021.

The release of version 3.21 may affect your development workflow in a few ways:

  • getWithDefault (both the function and class method) has been deprecated per RFC #554.
  • ember new --lang support has landed per RFC #635.
  • ember-try configuration for addons has been updated to include ember-lts-3.20 and exclude ember-lts-3.12.

The release also kicked off the 3.22 beta cycle. If you can, please help with testing beta builds and reporting bugs before version 3.22.0 is published. πŸ’œ


Embroider preparation blog post πŸ“–

Have you been thinking about giving Embroider a try in your addon? Well, the community could use your help in landing Embroider and you may want to consider trying it out!

If you are inclined to give this a go there's an ✨awesome✨ new blog post on this subject by Dave Laird (@kiwiupover) that introduces some ideas about testing your addon against Embroider that may help you get started.

The blog post talks about how you can integrate Embroider into your build pipeline and how you can run your tests against it with ember-try. If you are at all curious about Embroider and/or you help maintain an addon, you should go give the fantastic and timely post a read.


Get ready for Hacktoberfest 2020 πŸ‘©πŸ½β€πŸ’»πŸ§‘πŸ½β€πŸ’»

Hacktoberfest is a month-long celebration of open source software. Between October 1 and October 31, you are encouraged to submit 4 quality pull requests to public GitHub repos. In return, you'll get a limited edition Hacktoberfest T-shirt and stickers (plus knowledge and fun).

If you are an addon maintainer, we encourage you to create issues with a well-defined scope for contributors to jump in and help. Be sure to label the issues with Hacktoberfest so that they're easier to discover. You can also tweet issues or repos with the hashtag #Hacktoberfest. Last but not least, please follow the Ember Community Guidelines and provide a welcoming experience to all contributors.

If you are new to open source contribution, we encourage you to be curious and proactive in asking for help. (There is a #hacktoberfest channel on Ember Discord.) A repo may provide directions in CONTRIBUTING or README file to help you get started. An Ember addon that you have used before may be a good place to start; the Ember teams will also provide issues that may interest you.

For more information, you can visit Hacktoberfest Details and Hacktoberfest FAQ.


CI with GitHub Actions for Ember Apps: Part 2 πŸŽ₯

In continuation of a blog post on CI with GitHub Actions for Ember Apps, Isaac Lee (@ijlee2) wrote another blog post about how Github Actions saved time on his projects. He talks about how to migrate to v2 actions, lower the runtime costs, and set up continuous deployment for your Ember apps.

If you are looking to setup Github Actions for your Ember apps, you should give this blog post a read here.


Celebrate 3 addon major releases 🌟

Three Ember addons recently published a major release:

We thank all contributors who made these major releases possible: Bouke Haarsma (@Bouke), Bryan Mishkin (@bmish), Chris Krycho (@chriskrycho), Chris Mansona (@mansona), Dan Freeman (@dfreeman), David Hamilton (@hjdivad), Ewan McDougall (@mrloop), James Davis (@jamescdavis), and Nick Schot (@nickschot).


Contributors' corner πŸ‘

This week we'd like to thank Amy Lam (@amyrlam), Andrey Fel (@andreyfel), Bryan Mishkin (@bmish), Chris van der Ploeg (@chrisvdp), Kalle (@ckarlbe), Isaac Lee (@ijlee2), Jared Galanis (@jaredgalanis), James Herdman (@jherdman), Kelly Selden (@kellyselden), Dave Laird (@kiwiupover), Ilya Radchenko (@knownasilya), Kris Selden (@krisselden), Alex Kanunnikov (@lifeart), Chris Manson (@mansona), Melanie Sumner (@MelSumner), Chris Garrett (@pzuraq), Robert Jackson (@rwjblue), Robert Wagner (@rwwagner90), Scott Newcomer (@snewcomer), Theenadayalan (@theenadayalank), @toh995, and Yehuda Katz (@wycats) for their contributions to Ember and related repositories! πŸ’–


Connect with us πŸ€“

Office Hours Tomster mascot

Wondering about something related to Ember, Ember Data, Glimmer, or addons in the Ember ecosystem, but don't know where to ask? Readers’ Questions are just for you!

Submit your own short and sweet question under bit.ly/ask-ember-core. And don’t worry, there are no silly questions, we appreciate them all - promise! 🀞

Want to write for the Ember Times? Have a suggestion for next week's issue? Join us at #support-ember-times on the Ember Community Discord or ping us @embertimes on Twitter.

Keep on top of what's been going on in Emberland this week by subscribing to our e-mail newsletter! You can also find our posts on the Ember blog.



That's another wrap! ✨

Be kind,

Isaac Lee, Jared Galanis, Abhilash LR, Amy Lam and the Learning Team

Posted on by:

embertimes profile

The Ember Times

@embertimes

Updates from the #ember Learning Team and friends 🐹

Discussion

pic
Editor guide