DEV Community

Hayden Wadsworth
Hayden Wadsworth

Posted on

Freelancing: create a brand or not?

I’m unsure on this topic. Whilst freelancing do you represent yourself as yourself or do you create a ‘brand’/company to trade as?

I would like your thoughts on which one comes across as more professional and wether you think it really matters as long as your work and customer service is professional.

I’d love to hear your thoughts on this matter.

Top comments (10)

Collapse
 
ironcladdev profile image
Conner Ow

I created my own brand, logo, and username. I would suggest having that over being an anonymous freelancer since others can remember it and recommend you.

connerow.dev

Collapse
 
marissab profile image
Marissa B

I tip my hat to you, dude. That's a marvelous portfolio site and you're slaying the game.

Definitely memorable for a logo and brand motif. Reminds me of old shooter game enemies.

Collapse
 
ironcladdev profile image
Conner Ow

Thank you :)

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Anecdote, but way back in the day, I called my freelancing business "Ben's Web" — which was sort of a company brand, but still kind of clearly a personal brand. I didn't call it "Infotech solutions" or anything like that. 😄

This was just a choice I made and I didn't overthink it, but I felt like it worked pretty well.

Collapse
 
curiousdev profile image
CuriousDev

Just my opinion, I am not a Freelancer: If you are just a single person, your name should be totally fine. A brand or "company name" does not fit well and do not think that people will remember it any better, if you do a good job and connect well.

Collapse
 
camco profile image
Camco

I have struggled with this question for sometime now. I have tried both. If I had to pick I'd say create a micro brand.

For my type of work, having a name behind the product is critical to the initial sale. Once I engage long term with the client, I have had time to build trust, this they remember us (me)

I also find that without a brand, in the minds of some clients I become "their guy"... Which might seem desirable to some, but it's the least desirable thing to me. I really worked hard on building and maintaining the most valuable relationships (valuable in regards to $ and emotional well being).
Once I become "their guy" the lines between work and personal are tested, and often leads to uncomfortable conversations and to the loss of the emotional value.

Collapse
 
theaccordance profile image
Joe Mainwaring

My recommendation is to keep things simple.

I have been doing freelance for a decade now, and while I technically have a brand (LLC) today, I really continue to market myself as the person. I'm not opposed to aligning to a brand, but I haven't felt it necessary yet because:

  • It's a solo effort. I do engage in some subcontracting, but I don't have a dedicated team around contract work today.
  • My engagements aren't creating a customer base. If they were, then having I'd likely have a brand so I could eventually sell the brand and offload the customers for a profit. I primarily dabble in professional services and make it a point to avoid maintenance and on-going obligations.
Collapse
 
tzwel profile image
tzwel

age doesn't really matter, all that matters in this field is dedication and devoting a lot of time to coding/programing. I'm speaking as a young dev myself

Collapse
 
marissab profile image
Marissa B

I'd equate it to making a toast at a wedding: It's not required, but if you're going to do one then dear god don't make a crappy one.

Collapse
 
pankajtanwarbanna profile image
Pankaj Tanwar

Creating a personal brand obviously helps in attracting clients and there is a trust factor as well.

mine - pankajtanwar.in