DEV Community

Cover image for What was your win this week?
Jess Lee
Jess Lee

Posted on

What was your win this week?

πŸ‘‹πŸ‘‹πŸ‘‹πŸ‘‹

Looking back on your week -- what was something you're proud of?

All wins count -- big or small πŸŽ‰

Examples of 'wins' include:

  • Getting a promotion!
  • Starting a new project
  • Fixing a tricky bug
  • Cleaning your house...or whatever else that may spark joy πŸ˜„

dancing-snoopy

Happy Friday!

Top comments (73)

Collapse
 
chrisachard profile image
Chris Achard

I signed up for dev.to and wrote a post! It's been a long time coming.... :)

Here's the post: dev.to/chrisachard/use-react-hooks...

Collapse
 
marlonanthony profile image
Marlon Decosta

I also wrote my first dev.to post this week. Your post was great!

Collapse
 
chrisachard profile image
Chris Achard

Thanks!

Yours looks great too - (and a lot more complex than mine! πŸ˜‚)

Thread Thread
 
marlonanthony profile image
Marlon Decosta

Just means I have a greater chance of botching it and finding myself looking a tad bit goofy. Poor planning on my part. πŸ€£πŸ€·πŸ»β€β™‚οΈ

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Congrats!

Collapse
 
voidjuneau profile image
Juneau Lim

Sweet. hope to see yours again and again!🌟

Collapse
 
chrisachard profile image
Chris Achard

Thanks!

Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

This week, I...felt like I got some good synchronous work done with @ben & @peter . Also this tweet :D

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

πŸ’ͺ

Collapse
 
ddinorahtovar profile image
Dinorah Tovar • Edited

It was my last day at my job, even when I will miss my teams, I'm happy to start a new chapter, to learn new things and especially to get to know more people

Collapse
 
voidjuneau profile image
Juneau Lim

It sounds like a mixed feeling. I've only left workplaces when there is nothing to miss about anymore, so I can't easily imagine your feeling, but it must be really complexed.
Hope all the best for your future!

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

I was home in Halifax attending the wedding of one of my longtime friends Bradley (in the purple blazer below) and it was a really great time!

I've known him since we were about 11 and we went to the same high school and college, so it was a reunion of folks I've known from all different contexts. That pic includes on high school friend and one college friend. πŸ˜„

And then I got to get back to work and feel pretty refreshed. It's been a while since I've been super "available" for small coding tasks, so I was happy to make a few solid bug fixes like this one:

Fix mention notification to mention proper user #3721

What type of PR is this? (check all applicable)

  • [ ] Refactor
  • [ ] Feature
  • [x] Bug Fix
  • [ ] Documentation Update

Description

The bug was introduced here: github.com/thepracticaldev/dev.to/...

Fixes #3718

Good week πŸ˜„

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern
Collapse
 
chrisachard profile image
Chris Achard

Oh neat! I'm adding that to my reading list for sure. Do you know of any other similar books?

Collapse
 
dorshinar profile image
Dor Shinar • Edited

I've launched my own blog πŸ₯³πŸ₯³
dorshinar.me

Collapse
 
terabytetiger profile image
Tyler V. (he/him)

Looks awesome! πŸŽ‰

Collapse
 
dorshinar profile image
Dor Shinar

Thank you very much!

Collapse
 
voidjuneau profile image
Juneau Lim • Edited

Wow, you made me a bit guilty. was (one of) my to-do list for summer but not sure if I can make it. Should stop being idle and have to do whatsoever. anyways, Congrats with yours!πŸ₯³πŸŽ‰

Collapse
 
dorshinar profile image
Dor Shinar

Just do it! There are great starters for Gatsby and the community is awesome!

Collapse
 
christopheek profile image
Christophe El-Khoury

I love how the dark theme is your default! I'd buy you a beer just for that!

Collapse
 
dorshinar profile image
Dor Shinar

πŸ˜‚
Yeah I really love dark theme. In the article I've published I said I'm all "dark mode ALL THE THINGS".

Thread Thread
 
christopheek profile image
Christophe El-Khoury

Including my heart

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington • Edited

Went to Asheville over the weekend and visited the Moog factory... it's like Willy Wonka's factory but with synths. The front store area has a bunch of instruments with headphones plugged into each one, so you can easily jam out in your own little world!

I was grooving pretty hard on the theremin and probably looked pretty ridiculous. πŸ˜€

https://media.giphy.com/media/l378cS7jvqjasDb7q/giphy.gif

Collapse
 
dansilcox profile image
Dan Silcox • Edited

Signed up to do my first tech talk at a work organised meet up! Also I’m now on holiday for 2 weeks πŸ‘β˜€οΈβ˜€οΈ

Collapse
 
chrisachard profile image
Chris Achard

Nice! Giving talks can be nerve wracking - but you'll almost always learn something; plus you get to share you knowledge with others which is always cool. Good luck!

Collapse
 
dansilcox profile image
Dan Silcox

Thanks! Yes I’ve done a bit of public speaking before just never in a tech setting. I suspect I’ll be fighting the old imposter syndrome more and more in the build up but hey you’ve got to push through these things sometimes and just β€˜ship it’ sometimes!

Thread Thread
 
chrisachard profile image
Chris Achard

Yep :) Good ol' imposter syndrome...

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Good luck on your talk!

You got this

Collapse
 
dansilcox profile image
Dan Silcox

Thanks!

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor • Edited

I automated updating dependencies for my site. πŸ”₯ πŸ’ͺ🏻

And of course I wrote a post about it. πŸ˜‰

Collapse
 
glennmen profile image
Glenn Carremans

This week I found out that 2 of my colleagues indirectly joined the company because of me 😳

PROUD I DID THAT

Collapse
 
spidergears profile image
Deepak Singh

I run a software development studio. For last year my accounting was more like management accounting without giving me much details on anything specific. I took this week to fix that.
Now I have signed with an online accounting platform and all my accounting is now pro style. My CA can understand it and I don't need an accountant to take care of it.

It's a big win for me. I can see my updated financial statements everyday.

Collapse
 
gloriamaris profile image
Monique Dingding • Edited

Migrated our codebase from React version 15.4 to 16.9! Needless to say it was a very tedious process!

Collapse
 
chrisachard profile image
Chris Achard

Ah! I'll bet. Does anything stick out as being the worst part? I have some old codebases that I'm not looking forward to updating...

Collapse
 
gloriamaris profile image
Monique Dingding

Everything went perfectly fine until it came to upgrade React Router from 2.8 to 4... Things got a little bit out of control, but thank goodness for git!

Thread Thread
 
chrisachard profile image
Chris Achard

Ah yeah - I'll have to watch out for React Router too. Thanks!

Collapse
 
nbull92 profile image
NBull92 • Edited

In one of my personal projects, which is a WPF application, I've managed to get it to connect to a Firebase database with Firesharp and get/set data. Now I'm just looking to create a sign-up/login form to have the data connect to a particular user.

Never used Firebase before, but Firesharp was really easy to pick up and understand.

Collapse
 
dzhavat profile image
Dzhavat Ushev

Released my first VS Code extension and wrote a post about it. So far it's been installed 189 times which is amazing! πŸ˜πŸš€

Collapse
 
lizziekardon profile image
lizziekardon

identified a customer that was a flight risk through a post in a large Facebook group -- got our team on it so we could fix the issue before they churned!

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Interesting!

Collapse
 
eidsonator profile image
Todd Eidson

Not quitting my job.

Collapse
 
areahints profile image
Areahints

Hang in there!