DEV Community

Cover image for What's your experience on monetizing DEV posts?
Madza
Madza

Posted on

What's your experience on monetizing DEV posts?

If you are an avid writer, monetizing your posts is awesome. You get paid for your passion. Some time ago DEV decided to support their content creators by implementing this great feature, too.

It's been like 4 months since the announcement, so I thought it would be nice to hear your experiences.

Have you set up the feature on DEV?
Or maybe you have some experience on monetizing your posts on different platforms?

Top comments (13)

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

I've made ~$20 with a noticeable uptick lately. Not exactly paying for my time, but pretty cool to see it's not nothing.

The cool thing for me is that the whole Forem ecosystem will be able to monetizeโ€” so we'll be looking for cool ways to make use of the functionality.

Collapse
 
madza profile image
Madza

Valuable info and kind of you to share with us ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ’ฏ

Collapse
 
catalinradoi profile image
CatalinRadoi

I feel that monetization is really bad for a website. It will bring lots of low quality posts.

When people do things for free, I feel they do their best and they do it because they feel it matters. When money comes in...

Collapse
 
_garybell profile image
Gary Bell

If people opt to donate, then low quality posts won't get anything. I don't see there being too much of a worry really.

Collapse
 
catalinradoi profile image
CatalinRadoi

I did something somehow similar back in the day...

I had a website and I only posted High-Quality articles, mostly on science subjects. No religion, ancient-aliens, bullshit.

The content was very, very good. High-Standards, every article had research behind it.
We were doing for the love of science.

Then we decided to let other people post.
Again, very good content. We found a lot of people willing to post for free, with similar mindsets with ours.

Then we've put ADS... and shared profits with the editors. Guess what. Those great editors, posting only high-quality science articles, started to go deep into pyramids, conspiracy theories, ancient-aliens, 'cause this stuff brought in a LOT of traffic => lots of money....

... you got the idea.

Thread Thread
 
madza profile image
Madza

Agree, there is a fine line between posting for the readers (high-quality content) and posting for money. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Collapse
 
daviddalbusco profile image
David Dal Busco

Funny that you ask, good timing ๐Ÿ‘.

I totally had forgotten about this and then suddenly, a week ago on Oct. 16th, I received four emails in a row from Uphold ๐Ÿ˜‰.

All in all I made 0.49 CHF (0.54 $).

I have set up the feature by curiosity, because the articles remain public and the concept is really interesting.

I cross-post on Medium behind Paywall and make around the cost of one or two vinyls a months there.

I also cross-post on my website, public content, no ads, no tracking.

Results are different but cool to me in their different ways.

Collapse
 
madza profile image
Madza

Medium to me seems like a vast ocean and pretty harsh for new content creators. You surely need to know what you are doing there to get started from the ground up. Involves lots of research on which publications to post, lots of interaction to get a stable follower base, high impact of other social media to bring new people in, etc... Tho there are lots of writers who make a good living out of it. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Collapse
 
kallmanation profile image
Nathan Kallman

I've made $0.05... I also just started posting links to a Buy Me a Coffee page that I set up, but no bites (or sips I guess?) there yet.

Curious about others' (i.e. more popular authors') experiences though

Collapse
 
bias profile image
Tobias Nickel

just want to do something for personal brand.

I am sure, whem I create value for others, it will be comming back, and at dev it definetly comes back,... and if it is not in direct payments.

thanks to @ben and the dev team.

Collapse
 
winstonpuckett profile image
Winston Puckett

Oh, I'm in the process of getting monotized on my blog winstonpuckett.com with adsense, but if I can do it directly from dev, maybe I don't need to. (dev is my CMS)

Collapse
 
amananandrai profile image
amananandrai

I have used Web monetization on DEV and received INR 1.98 in total and from Coil Blogs, I received $ 0.02 which is equivalent to approx INR 1.5, my Coil account is deleted now but I am hoping to receive some more payment in the future from my DEV account.

Collapse
 
manchicken profile image
Mike Stemle

Haven't tried. Not really a priority for me.