DEV Community

Cover image for My first frustration-free OpenSource Pull Request
Arit Developer
Arit Developer

Posted on

My first frustration-free OpenSource Pull Request

Finally. FINALLY! I just opened my first opensource PR, with much less frustration than I've grown accustomed to expecting.

For several months now, I have searched for an opensource project that I could successfully recreate in my local environment, and start contributing to. It's been hard. Whenever I did locate a Rails-based app, it was either all-but-abandoned or too complicated for me to install. In the latter case, my cries for help to the code maintainers would either go unanswered, or their responses would confuse me all the more. Trust me: #beginner-friendly doesn't always guarantee a smooth ride for a first-time contributor. With each iteration of being bombarded with "unsolvable" error messages, I grew less and less enthused about opensource.

Enter Dev.to. I wanted to get excited when I learned that their platform was Rails-based, but multiple past disappointments kept me guarded. After some encouragement from Ben Halpern, I forked the Dev.to repo and started going through the installation steps. Y'all, I encountered just one error (which is what my PR is based on). Just ONE! I couldn't believe it: there was my local Dev.to app at localhost:3000, looking just lovely! I'm just grateful to be on the opensource board as it were. I almost don't care if my PR gets rejected lol. Almost, though, almost πŸ˜„

Top comments (12)

Collapse
 
waylonwalker profile image
Waylon Walker

I think GitHub is definitely changing this game. For small changes, or docs related changes you can already hit the edit button right inside of GitHub. It will automatically fork the project for you. Then when you go back to the project there will be a notification that you just pushed to a fork, "would you like to start a PR". Their new code spaces is definitely going to take this to the next level.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Congrats!

BTW, love your PR. I am going to request a change before it gets merged, but it's the perfect addition to the README.

Collapse
 
zeddotes profile image
zeddotes • Edited

Congrats! Hopefully I can hop on board, too.

Collapse
 
kritner profile image
Russ Hammett

same! just gotta do my rails hello world and I'll be ready right? :P

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Definitely!

Collapse
 
migueloop profile image
Miguel Ruiz

This post pushes me to at least download a run the project locally...

Collapse
 
aritdeveloper profile image
Arit Developer

Absolutely! I had no problems at all. My local env is on a mac on which I'm running Postgres. Let me know how ot goes!

Collapse
 
dance2die profile image
Sung M. Kim

Congrats there Arit~.

I dug through to see where the PR was. And it was how I got started as well a documentation change.

Trust me: #beginner-friendly doesn't always guarantee a smooth ride for a first-time contributor.

I can empathize with it as I had trouble getting one of the open source sites run on "Windows" to make a simple markdown file change.

One thing led to another, I ended up doing another PR to make it run on Windows. It was quite tough to get it working (as I was knew to it).

Would you be able to share the frustration you had and how you got over it πŸ˜‰

And Hacktoberfest 2018 is happening soon and hope it can give you more confidence doing PRs 😎

Collapse
 
karlredman profile image
Karl N. Redman

gratz!

Collapse
 
isabelcmdcosta profile image
Isabel Costa

Congrats on doing that PR with less frustrations! I get that so much :) Open source can be very intimidating and frustrating. Glad you didn't gave up!

Collapse
 
aritdeveloper profile image
Arit Developer

I'm glad too sis! 😁

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor • Edited

I found my first PR super stressful trying to make it perfect... it wasn't 😜

Cool stuff @zhadyrassyn on getting your first PR merged! Documentation is important for projects and it's a great way to ease into a project.

If you're interested, here's a fun site to see what a person's 1st PR was. I remember trying to make a perfect first PR... it wasn't ;)

If you haven't read it yet, @jess has a great post for people new to open source.