DEV Community

Cover image for February 19th, 2021: What did you learn this week?
Nick Taylor
Nick Taylor

Posted on

February 19th, 2021: What did you learn this week?

It's that time of the week again. So wonderful devs, what did you learn this week? It could be programming tips, career advice etc.

![Yoda wooping someone's butt](https://media.giphy.com/media/yDYAHbqe5DfyM/giphy.gif)

Feel free to comment with what you learnt and/or reference your TIL post to give it some more exposure.

#todayilearned

Summarize a concept that is new to you.

And remember, if something you learnt was a big win for you, then you know where to drop it as well.👇👇🏻👇🏼👇🏽👇🏾👇🏿

![Little kid making a fist as if to say "Yes!"](https://media.giphy.com/media/6brH8dM3zeMyA/giphy.gif)

Top comments (48)

Collapse
 
dansilcox profile image
Dan Silcox

I used GitHub Actions for the first time - sooo easy and good! Why have I not used this before?!

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Jean-Luc Picard from Star Trek TNG saying Well done!

Collapse
 
ayoubelmhamdi profile image
ayoubelmhamdi

not easy , it's powerfull but not easy

Collapse
 
dansilcox profile image
Dan Silcox

I guess what I meant is I was able to get 2 GH actions up and running successfully in far less time than if I were to have set up Jenkins from scratch with auto scaling nodes etc etc - certainly I’m sure it gets complicated the deeper you go!

In any case you are right as it’s a poor choice of words - what I found easy, others might not (and vice versa). We are all at different stages in this life long journey called software development :)

Collapse
 
igorlukanin profile image
Igor Lukanin • Edited

I’ve played with ClickHouse — it’s a fast open-source analytical column-based database, and by fast I mean BLAZINGLY FAST. It’s also very developer-friendly: for example, It has something like REPL on its website that you can instantly try and use. And I actually wrote a guide about building an analytical dashboard with ClickHouse! Here it is:

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Kylo Ren on Undercover Boss giving a thumbs up

Collapse
 
igorlukanin profile image
Igor Lukanin

My Twitter thread about ClickHouse quirks and features: twitter.com/igorlukanin/status/136...

Collapse
 
vonheikemen profile image
Heiker

I've been playing around with repl.it since I found out you can use it to deploy web servers. This means that is basically like a "full stack codepen".

I learned how to setup a tiny web server with 6 lines of code*.

(*) not counting the dependencies.

// index.js

const router = require('find-my-way')();
const static = require('serve-handler');

const assets = (req, res) => static(req, res, {'public': './public'});

router.on('GET', '/hello', () => 'Hello!');
router.on('GET', '/*', assets);

module.exports = (req, res) => router.lookup(req, res);
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

And 1 command.

node_modules/.bin/micro -l tcp://0.0.0.0:3000 index.js
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Ok, technically you need to install things first. That'll be 2 commands.

npm install micro@9.3.4 serve-handler@6.1.3 find-my-way@4.0.0
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

There you have it a (useless) web server with a fully functional router and capable of handling static assets. Here's a more exciting example in repl.it: micro-quote-machine.

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Actor Zach Galifianakis giving a thumbs up in a convertible car

Collapse
 
link2twenty profile image
Andrew Bone

I'm slowly but surely getting my head around WebGL. I've been using 2d context for a while but needed to do some equirectangular projection maths, which was painful on the cpu, and foolishly thought, 'how hard can it be?'.

Collapse
 
ayoubelmhamdi profile image
ayoubelmhamdi

use cloud for simulation as virtuzl mation or whatever
something cloud subscription is free

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Nice!

A kangaroo playing an electric guitar

Collapse
 
elmoogym profile image
Amr Elmoogy

I had used location service in my own Android app using Java.
And I had completed 100 Problem solved in LeetCode and I'm really happy for that :)

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Prince Harry Saying Boom! while beside his grandmother, the queen

Collapse
 
drumor profile image
Ludovic Taffin

I did my first Dockerfile 👌💪

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Actor Leonardo DiCaprio as Gatsby doing a cheers

Collapse
 
bitzania profile image
Ficky Irwanto

I've converted existing VueJS SPA into Android apps with CapacitorJS. The guides was easy to follow and the application is working good. Just need to change the icons and enable camera for file upload.

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Lego astronaut saying awesome!

Collapse
 
timothydjones profile image
Tim Jones

How to create buffers and splits in Vim. I made some notes on my findings in my TIL repository here.

#vim

This is for posts relating to vim, as well as vim plugins, integrations and workflows!
Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Noice!

Noice!

Collapse
 
ironcladdev profile image
Conner Ow

I learned how to do manage files with Flask and also how to use some JS APIs.

My two completed projects are:
code-crystals.tk
irisor.cf

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Bobby Moynahan character from SNL saying awesome!

Collapse
 
ironcladdev profile image
Conner Ow

Heh, thanks. You're so good at picking the perfect GIFs LOL.

Collapse
 
ferdianatmadiputra profile image
Ferdian Atmadiputra

Learning vuex and socket.io #todayilearn

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

TV personality saying Frickin' awesome!

Collapse
 
saurabhnigam profile image
saurabhnigam

Learnt Pandas dataframes. Am still curious how dynamically typed languages let their caller know about its functions.

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Awesome!

Hackerman from Kung Fury putting on a Nintendo Power glove

Collapse
 
michelledev3 profile image
michelledev

Heatmap Analysis to see how my website is performing

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Gym teacher from Glee saying amazing!

Collapse
 
michelledev3 profile image
michelledev

Thanks Nick!

Collapse
 
eduardonwa profile image
Eduardo Cookie Lifter

Wouldnt say “learnt” but i deployed my blog on Heroku that was special :-)

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

It's True - Dwight Shrute

Collapse
 
brianwisti profile image
Brian Wisti

I learned I really need to clean up my site's RSS feed if I want to forward posts here.

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Kirk and Bones nodding to each other in Star Trek

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

I recorded a podcast on accessibility and learned a lot!

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

BB-8 giving a thumbs up

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.