DEV Community

Cover image for What's an awesome VS Code extension you recently installed?
Nick Taylor
Nick Taylor

Posted on • Updated on • Originally published at iamdeveloper.com

What's an awesome VS Code extension you recently installed?

I just came across a simple yet awesome VS Code extension tonight care of Elijah Manor.

Basically it dims code that currently isn't selected. Here it is in action.

So what's an awesome VS Code extension you recently installed? 👨‍💻

P.S.: It's a bit out of date, but here's my VS Code setup for those interested.

Top comments (76)

Collapse
 
edisonpappi profile image
Edison Augusthy

Peacok -- it surprise with colored sidebars

Collapse
 
laurieontech profile image
Laurie

This plugin has been such a revelation for me! It always drove me nuts to have multiple projects open and accidentally be in the wrong one. Especially during the period when I was porting my site from one framework to another and had both projects open. Too similar! I accidentally wrote in the wrong project way too often.

Collapse
 
john_papa profile image
John Papa

That’s great to hear that you like it so much!

Enjoy!

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

I hear that @john_papa knows a bit about VS Code and web dev. 😉

Thread Thread
 
john_papa profile image
John Papa

Meh. He’s ok.

Collapse
 
john_papa profile image
John Papa

Glad you like it!

Collapse
 
codercatdev profile image
Alex Patterson
Collapse
 
raisaugat profile image
Saugat Rai • Edited

I use Indent Rainbow with custom settings which I found on a medium blog long ago.
These are the custom settings:
"indentRainbow.colors": [
"rgba(16,16,16,0.2)",
"rgba(16,16,16,0.4)",
"rgba(16,16,16,0.6)",
"rgba(16,16,16,0.8)",
"rgba(16,16,16,1)"
],

Collapse
 
tombyrer profile image
Tom Byrer

Thanks! I saw that in a screenshot a few weeks ago & have been looking for it.

Collapse
 
jackharner profile image
Jack Harner 🚀

Just curious, why do you have it fade back out?

Collapse
 
raisaugat profile image
Saugat Rai

Actually the settings are a little bit out of order. Thanks for noticing. :). I'll update it.

Collapse
 
dylantientcheu profile image
Dylan Tientcheu

I think it was my post, thank you
You can find it here.

medium.com/free-code-camp/here-are...

Collapse
 
raisaugat profile image
Saugat Rai

I should thank you instead. :)

Collapse
 
ahmadawais profile image
Ahmad Awais ⚡️ • Edited

🦄 Shades of Purple theme — I'm biased (I made it).

sop

🎉 P.S. celebrating its crossing 1 Million devs.

Collapse
 
hyftar profile image
Simon Landry

God I love it so much! Sadly I prefer using Atom 😭

Collapse
 
ahmadawais profile image
Ahmad Awais ⚡️

Help me build one for Atom, or I can send in a discount coupon for my VSCode.pro course and convert you to a VSCode user :)

Thread Thread
 
hyftar profile image
Simon Landry

I would be honored to help you convert it for Atom! 😃

Thread Thread
 
ahmadawais profile image
Ahmad Awais ⚡️

Here's the link with VSCode theme and has all the colors in the README. Start there and let me know if you get stuck. github.com/ahmadawais/shades-of-pu...

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

You should give VS Code another try. 😉

Collapse
 
frostqui profile image
Diego López

TabNine

  • Indexes your whole project, reading your .gitignore to determine which files to index.
  • Type long variable names in just a few keystrokes using the mnemonic completion engine.
  • Zero configuration. TabNine works out of the box.
  • Highly responsive: typically produces a list of suggestions in less than 10 milliseconds.

marketplace.visualstudio.com/items...

Collapse
 
limark profile image
Mark Li

I am an Angular developer from China.

Here are the Angular extensions which I installed, all of them are awesome.

  • Angular Inline
  • Angular Language Service
  • Angular Snippets
  • Chrome Debugger
  • Editor Config
  • Material Icon Theme
  • npm
  • Peacock
  • Prettier
  • tslint
  • Winter is Coming theme

The Code Spell Checker is helpful for Chinese developer, it can check the source code.

The last one is GitLens, I think you will love it after you install it.

Collapse
 
tombyrer profile image
Tom Byrer

Nice theme; first I heard about out. Yes, GitLens is helpful, especially if more than you touch the code.

Collapse
 
dreamchild7 profile image
dreamchild7

I love winter is coming theme and prettier.

Collapse
 
lucasgdb profile image
Lucas Bittencourt

VS Live Share! It's awesome.

Collapse
 
aaronpowell profile image
Aaron Powell

Yes! Live Share is amazing!

Collapse
 
sndrx profile image
sndrx • Edited

WakaTime it's a recent and useful VS Code extension that I really enjoy. It tracks the time I spend coding every day and it really helps me see the progress that I make.

Collapse
 
k_penguin_sato profile image
K-Sato

I've been very tempted to switch to VS code from Atom🤔.
Sorry, very random.

Collapse
 
glweems profile image
Garrett Weems

do it. no brainer

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Collapse
 
jackharner profile image
Jack Harner 🚀

Like everyone else is saying, do it! I started with Atom, Switched to Sublime text, and finally landed on VS Code. The built in git integration, and the built in terminal are life savers.

Collapse
 
vier31 profile image
Jan Schröder • Edited

The build in terminal brought me to VS code. There was an extension for that in atom, but it was so sluggish.

Collapse
 
obahareth profile image
Omar Bahareth

What I imagined Atom being as a text editor from Github is what made me stick to Atom for so long. Last year I realized that VS Code is the one realizing that vision. The ecosystem, the features, the DX (Developer Experience), and the performance are all what I imagined Atom eventually becoming but Visual Studio Code got there faster.

Collapse
 
tombyrer profile image
Tom Byrer

Unless there is a specific Atom plugin you need that is not available for VSCode. it is more than worth the effort.

Ecosystem is better, & since MicroSoft bought GitHub, I would not be surprised if Atom is back-burnered.

Collapse
 
ahmadawais profile image
Ahmad Awais ⚡️ • Edited

Do it. I can help! Shameless plug → VSCode.pro

Collapse
 
highcenburg profile image
Vicente G. Reyes

Do it! Vs code starts up a gazillion years faster than atom😂

Collapse
 
vycoder profile image
yev

Not my recent but I always add it to all IDE I use: Power Mode. It's nothing useful but a visual flair (will probably even lag your system if you enabled all) but it makes me feel like a rockstar (even though I'm actually not).

Collapse
 
adambraun profile image
Adam Braun • Edited

This isn't really an extension, but I use it very often.
I was looking for something equivalent to Sublime's panel focus, and there's a key map option, but it's not set to any key by default:
View: Maximize Editor Group and Hide Side Bar (shift + alt + enter)
View: Reset Editor Group Sizes (ctrl + shift + alt + enter)

Maximized editor group

Collapse
 
jeffblanco profile image
JeFFBlanco

Great topic! 😎

Some nice hidden gems:

Extension Desc
JSON Tree View Handy way to navigate beefy JSON
Markdown Table Format Markdown table formater
Calculate Great for scratchpad / notes
Git Lens Super charged Git functionailty
Highlight Bad Chars Very helpful for pesky encoding issues
Sort Lines Sort lines of text
Unique Lines Keep unique lines of text; remove dupes
Time Converter Converts various timestamps
Base 64 Base64 encode/decode
Collapse
 
cubiclebuddha profile image
Cubicle Buddha

if you like calculate, you'll love Quokka

Collapse
 
obahareth profile image
Omar Bahareth • Edited

Read Time

It shows an estimate for how long it takes to read your Markdown.

EDIT
Picture is taken from this tweet (I hope that's ok)
mobile.twitter.com/John_Papa/statu...

Collapse
 
cubiclebuddha profile image
Cubicle Buddha

I use vscode-jest a lot these days so I can do some TDD and get the quick feedback I want. And if I want even faster feedback I use quokka since it lets me try out libraries quickly. TypeScript covers me with the documentation, but sometimes you just need to screw around (like when I'm trying out js-joda (which is awesome btw) )

Collapse
 
yemolai profile image
Romulo G Rodrigues

I was amazed by the VSCode Python Debugger, you can run Python scripts more easily with breakpoints, variable analysis and a huge control and great data visualization, it is just too good to be ignored.

Collapse
 
kosich profile image
Kostia Palchyk

Vim
github.com/VSCodeVim/Vim

tutorial1

tutorial3

Not recently though, been using it for years 🙂