DEV Community

Gabor Szabo
Gabor Szabo

Posted on • Originally published at perlweekly.com

Perl Weekly #633 - Remember 9/11?

Originally published at Perl Weekly 633

Hi there,

Finally I am back editing the weekly newsletter. As you all know I share the responsibilities with the chief editor, Gabor Szabo. I usually do the even numbered weeks and he does the odd ones. Having said, I was off the job for sometime because of health issues, I decided to take odd numbered week i.e. 633 to make a comeback. From next week onwards, I will be back to the routine. I would like to take this opportunity to thank Gabor for all the help and support.

Today is 9/11, people all around the world remember this day with different emotions. I still remember the event, I was sitting with my team in a small office in central London. Around lunch time local time, we got the news. The team was made up with Iraqi, Indian, Pakistani and English. So you can imagine the mixed reactions? For me, it is a very special day as I got married on this day 20 years ago. I choose this day so that I would never miss the most important day of my life.

Coming back to Perl, I have been out of touch with it for the longest period. Thanks to The [Perl|Weekly] Challenge, I was holding the ground and stay in touch with the magical power of Perl. There was a time, I used to be active and available to help anyone with Perl related queries. With passing time, I find it hard to cope with the work load. I recently saw this post by Olaf Alders. It feels nice to see so much help available.

Post release of Perl v5.38, I saw jump in activities among the Perl fans but there is still some not so positive vibes going around which makes me very sad. There is clearly two groups, one is very vocal in sharing personal opinions and the other is not so vocal but allow free speech. I happen to see both sides on daily basis and wish we had one platform where we can share our experience with Perl. This would have help sending one strong voice to the young generations and welcome to the community.

Recently concluded, The Perl and Raku Conference in Toronto was a great event where I met so many young and enthusiastic members of the community. We should provide a common platform to these young bloods to come forward and share their experiences. They have so much knowledge, it is unreal. One evening, I spent with a twins brother having abundance of knowledge. Just talking to them gave me so much positive energy. On a funny note, it makes me realise I am getting old very quickly. Deep down, I would like to give back to the community that has been so welcoming. Having said, I have to be selective where I put my energy in. I keep getting invitations to be part of so many exciting things but I hardly find time for it. One thing, I would definitely do before I die is finish the book I started long time ago. It is primarily Perl focussed and I have a publisher, Dave Cross, ready to help.

Enjoy the rest of the newsletter and please do share your stories with us.

--
Your editor: Mohammad S. Anwar.

Announcements

Announcing Dancer Core Team Changes

We’re excited to announce that Ruth Holloway (GeekRuthie) has joined the Dancer Core Team.

Help in Perl available

Olaf is offering help with multi-domain field. Enjoy.


Articles

A bit of history about The Gecko Book

Interesting facts by the creator himself.

This AI Paper Explains How Programming Languages Can Enhance Each Other Through Instruction Tuning

AI the hot topic is once again being used in a very innovative way.

It's Slimline September!

Please checkout how Perl is discussed on Exercism.


Discussion

Defined OR in Perl

Refresh your memory about Perl defined OR.


The Weekly Challenge

The Weekly Challenge by Mohammad Anwar will help you step out of your comfort-zone. You can even win prize money of $50 Amazon voucher by participating in the weekly challenge. We pick one winner at the end of the month from among all of the contributors during the month. The monthly prize is kindly sponsored by Peter Sergeant of PerlCareers.

The Weekly Challenge - 234

Welcome to a new week with a couple of fun tasks: "Common Characters" and "Unequal Triplets". If you are new to the weekly challenge, why not join us and have fun every week? For more information, please read the FAQ.

RECAP - The Weekly Challenge - 233

Enjoy a quick recap of last week's contributions by Team PWC dealing with the "Similar Words" and "Frequency Sort" tasks in Perl and Raku. You will find plenty of solutions to keep you busy.

What's the Similar Frequency, Kenneth?

TWC233

Working with words

Sorting numbers with the help of ChatGPT

Words of a Sort

Perl Weekly Challenge #233

PWC 233 Data on the side

Perl Weekly Challenge: Week 233

Perl Weekly Challenge 233: Separate Digits

Perl Weekly Challenge 233: Frequency Sort

THE WEEKLY CHALLENGE - 233

Sorting, by similarity and frequency

Perl Weekly Challenge 233

Tune in to the right frequency!

What’s the Frequency, Kenneth?

Similar words and a rather strange ordering

The Weekly Challenge #233

Similar Frequency

Similar frequency

PWC233


Rakudo

2023.36 Slimline September


Weekly collections

NICEPERL's lists

Great CPAN modules released last week;
MetaCPAN weekly report;
StackOverflow Perl report.


Perl Jobs by Perl Careers

Modern Perl and positive team vibes. UK Remote Perl role

If you’re a Modern Perl developer in the UK with TypeScript or Node and you’re searching for a team of dynamos, we’ve found the perfect place for you. This award-winning company may be newer, but the combined experience of their people is impressive. No doubt this is one of the many reasons their AI recruitment marketing business has taken off!

UK Remote Perl Programmer for Leading Enterprise Tech Publication

Our client is a global leader in the enterprise technology publishing industry, providing audiences worldwide with stimulating perspectives and unique news on enterprise tech that matters today and tomorrow. They are seeking a talented Perl programmer to manage the full life-cycle of software projects on a remote basis.

Perl Programmer Opportunity - Join a Prominent Tech Publishing Powerhouse in the Philippines

Our UK-based client is a global leader in the enterprise technology publishing industry, providing audiences worldwide with stimulating perspectives and unique news on enterprise tech that matters today and tomorrow. They are currently seeking a passionate and exceptional Perl programmer based in the Philippines to join their team.

Adventure! Senior Perl roles in Malaysia, Dubai and Malta

Clever folks know that if you’re lucky, you can earn a living and have an adventure at the same time. Enter our international client: online trading is their game, and they’re looking for solid Perl people with passion, drive, and an appreciation for new experiences.


You joined the Perl Weekly to get weekly e-mails about the Perl programming language and related topics.

Want to see more? See the archives of all the issues.

Not yet subscribed to the newsletter? Join us free of charge!

(C) Copyright Gabor Szabo
The articles are copyright the respective authors.

Top comments (0)