DEV Community

dev.to staff
dev.to staff

Posted on

Welcome Thread - v27

Hey there! Welcome to dev.to!

An orange clay person enthusiastically waves hello!

Leave a comment below to introduce yourself to the community! ✌️

Here are some ideas to get you started:

  1. You can talk about what brought you here, what you're learning, or just a fun fact about yourself.

  2. Reply to someone's comment and say hello or ask them a question. πŸ‘‹

  3. Or answer this question: what's one post or article you would recommend to someone?

Top comments (177)

Collapse
 
lampewebdev profile image
Michael "lampe" Lazarski

Heyow I'm Michael, right now I'm a fulltime web developer. I want to get into freelancing and writing about my experience!

I would love to give back to the community by writing about my experience.

Right now I'm posting mostly on Instagram @lampewebdev.

Collapse
 
wolfhoundjesse profile image
Jesse M. Holmes

Welcome, Michael! Nice to meet another Gary V. fan!

Collapse
 
lampewebdev profile image
Michael "lampe" Lazarski

Hello Jesse! Nice to meet you too :)

Collapse
 
cmabuza profile image
cmabuza

Hi there, nice to meet you! Your instagram feed is awesome.

Collapse
 
lampewebdev profile image
Michael "lampe" Lazarski

Thank you! Much appreciated!

Nice to have so fantastic people like you here too!

Collapse
 
abourass profile image
Antonio B.

Hello! Nice to meet you!

Collapse
 
arnellebalane profile image
Arnelle Balane

Hello! I'm Arnelle, a fulltime Web developer (mostly focusing on the frontend). Right now I'm into VueJS, and recently started learning React as well.

I have a personal blog, but looking into posting more here in the future.

Looking forward to learning and sharing more cool stuff here at dev.to! ❀️

Collapse
 
chiangs profile image
Stephen Chiang

Welcome Arnelle,

I look forward to reading your thoughts on the transition form Vue to React. I'm making a foray into React from Angular. I enjoy Angular 2+ and now I'm at a point where I'm ready to check out other frameworks. A few customers in my market have asked about Vue and so I think that will be my next look after React.

Collapse
 
arnellebalane profile image
Arnelle Balane • Edited

Thanks Stephen!

Will definitely write about my experience with React. I am rebuilding my personal site with React and have learned a lot from it. Still needs more practice though to get comfortable with it πŸ˜†

Vue is cool as well in its own way, totally worth checking out πŸ‘

Collapse
 
dance2die profile image
Sung M. Kim

Hi Arnelle, πŸ‘‹ to dev.to~

I can see how much effort you have put by how constantly your have shared you posts on your personal blog πŸ˜ƒ.

You can also cross post your personal blog posts in dev.to by importing your Medium feeds (blog.arnellebalane.com/feed).

feed setting

Collapse
 
arnellebalane profile image
Arnelle Balane

Hi Sung Kim! Oh wow that's really helpful, just updated my settings to also publish from my blog's RSS. Thank you for the tip! πŸ‘

Collapse
 
wolfhoundjesse profile image
Jesse M. Holmes

Welcome, Arnelle!

Collapse
 
andy profile image
Andy Zhao (he/him)

Hey y'all! :) This is a great post by @kelly if you want to get started with freelancing:

There's a ton of information in the comments, too.

Collapse
 
lampewebdev profile image
Michael "lampe" Lazarski

Welcome :)

Collapse
 
jplonghi profile image
Jose Longhi • Edited

Hello, I'm Longhi, I'm a fulltime backend developer, mostly .net. Right now I'm all into kubernetes and docker, also learning about AWS.

Collapse
 
wolfhoundjesse profile image
Jesse M. Holmes

Welcome, Longhi!

Who do you look to for .NET inspiration? I am a fan of Jimmy Bogard, and I often find myself digging around in Damine Bod's articles and repositories.

Collapse
 
jplonghi profile image
Jose Longhi

Well I don't have one in particular but I often check Scott Hanselman blog. Also I follow Elton Stoneman for docker on Windows and I like Nigel Poulton pluralsight courses. Other authors that inspire are Martin Fowler and Robert Martin.

Collapse
 
juanfrank77 profile image
Juan F Gonzalez

Welcome, Longhi! there are some people that are really into docker around here, I'm personally a fan as well e_e

Collapse
 
peter profile image
Peter Kim Frank

Welcome!

Collapse
 
philfernandez profile image
Phil Fernandez

Hi, I'm Phil. I am a 39 year old undergraduate studying Computer Science at Sacramento State. I'm about half way through my junior year. I love math, puzzles, and solving problems in general. Starting this Spring I'll be learning about database management systems, computer organization, and software engineering, as well as linear algebra.

Outside of school, at the moment, I've been spending allot of time teaching myself about web development. Things like the basics, JavaScript, HTML, CSS, and some other topics that fall under that umbrella, such as Python and Django and Flask, React, Sass/scss, etc.

I don't remember how, or where, but somehow I stumbled across this site and it seems pretty cool. For a while I was just lurking, but I though what the heck, why not sign up? So here I am!

Collapse
 
wolfhoundjesse profile image
Jesse M. Holmes

Welcome, Phil!

What were you doing before Sacramento State?

Collapse
 
philfernandez profile image
Phil Fernandez

Hi Jesse,

Before Sacramento State, and for most of my adult life, I was doing varying types of trade work. Carpentry, house painting, handyman work, etc. I owned a small business for several years doing this type of work. A few years back I was presented with the opportunity to attend school for training in any field of my choosing. I've always had a thing for computers, so I decided to give CS a go. Initially the plan was to just attend a local community college for an associates degree, but once I got going in academia I really enjoyed it. I decided to take it to the next level and go for that four year degree.

Collapse
 
jbull328 profile image
John Bull

Hey there Phil, welcome!

Hope you find a lot of value with this community. I just started trying out some Django today as they use python at my work, maybe I can hit you up for pointers.

Collapse
 
philfernandez profile image
Phil Fernandez

Hi John, thanks for the warm welcome! There's definitely allot to learn when it comes to Django. I'm a beginner myself, but if you ever run accross something that you could use an extra pair of eyes on I'd love to help out to the best of my beginner's knowledge!

Collapse
 
lpjune profile image
Lauren

Hi everyone! I'm Lauren, I'm an undergrad CSE student and Android Dev for a research lab. I just started working there a couple months ago, and it's crazy how much I've been learning. My brain feels like mush at the end of every day, but I love it! It's so cool to find this site and read about everyone's experiences, I'm bummed I didnt know about it before now. Anyways, nice to meet you all!

Collapse
 
wolfhoundjesse profile image
Jesse M. Holmes

Welcome to the community, Lauren!

I live for that mush! Learning something new every day is the way to thrive, not survive.

Collapse
 
lpjune profile image
Lauren

Thank you, Jesse! Yes it's a great feeling!

Collapse
 
rbarner14 profile image
Ryan

Hey, All! I'm Ryan. Formerly a data analyst, currently a software engineer. Working on a personal project that uses Python, Javascript, React, Flask, SQLAlchemy, PostgreSQL, jQuery, Jinja, HTML, CSS, Bootstrap, and D3. Any tips? I'd love to hear them!

Collapse
 
dance2die profile image
Sung M. Kim

Hi Ryan, πŸ‘‹ Welcome to dev.to~

You can subscribe tags for technologies of your personal projects to learn
(& share your experience, as well πŸ˜‰).

e.g.)

You can easily subscribe by clicking on "+follow" button.

follow button

Collapse
 
rbarner14 profile image
Ryan • Edited

Thanks, Sung Kim! I’ll subscribe to those now!

Thread Thread
 
dance2die profile image
Sung M. Kim

Enjoy your stay~ πŸ˜ƒ

Collapse
 
imharshbhatia profile image
Harsh Bhatia

Hello everyone, I am Harsh, currently transitioning to mobile and web development from Data Warehousing technology. Hold a bit of experience in website development and currently learning android development.

Looking forward to learn with the community and share to the community at dev.to!

Cheers.

Collapse
 
gitsuha profile image
Suhasis Saha • Edited

'#include '<'suhasis'>'
using cppspace;

int main()
{
LinuxDev* pL = new LinuxDev;
Java* pJ = new Java;
JavaScript* pJ = new JavaScript;

if (Algorithm == good && DataStructure == good)
{
return 1;
}

return 0;
}

Collapse
 
lorenzotenti profile image
Lorenzo Tenti

Hello! I’m Lorenzo. I’m a big data engineer / programmer / computational scientist / tech geek.

Here you can find some more information about myself.

I hope I'll find the time to write a bit more about what I do and what I like here on dev.to

See you around.

Collapse
 
rpalo profile image
Ryan Palo

Hi Lorenzo! Nice to meet you!

I'm excited to see what you have to share. Let me know if you have any questions about DEV.to or anything else!

Collapse
 
prototorpedo profile image
Bogdan Calin

Hello all!

I'm Bogdan, a frontend web developer at the moment, but throughout my career I have also done backend work.

My tools of choice: Laravel, vue, angular.

What brought me here is the desire to better myself in these fields, and learning about others as well.

Could someone tell me what kind of platform this is? Is it supposed to be a mix between stackoverflow and medium?

Cheers!

Collapse
 
Sloan, the sloth mascot
Comment deleted
Collapse
 
aezrael1 profile image
Danny

I look forward to following your posts and learning more about design topics.

Collapse
 
fakhrulhilal profile image
Fakhrulhilal M

Hello folks,
I’m Fakhrulhilal, a .NET developer. I love to code in Microsoft stack and javascript also. I see many tutorials from this site. That brings me here. If you want to talk about azure devops and selenium in .NET, please bring me in. Let’s share experience together.

Collapse
 
walterdom_ profile image
Walter Dom πŸ‡²πŸ‡½

Hi, I'm Walter from Mexico.

I'm a 26 y/o PM.

My main goal for this year is to learn to code so I can deploy my own products. My current stack is nothing fancy, just HTML and CSS.

Before I move into JS I decided to do a real project and that is my personal website, you can see the work in progress here.

I've been lurking the Dev community for a while, mainly reading some awesome posts, but now I'm going to interact and maybe publish some stuff too.

If you guys want to connect on Twitter, please let me know :)

Collapse
 
aezrael1 profile image
Danny

Hello to all! I'm Danny.

I'm currently a sys admin wanting to focus more on dev ops side of things by following a web developer learning path to see how everything is tied together (front-end, back-end, dev ops, etc.). This seems like a good place to get exposed to a bit of everything and share my own experiences on my personal development journey.

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.