DEV Community

dev.to staff
dev.to staff

Posted on

Welcome Thread - v63

Hey y'all!

Welcome to DEV!

  1. Leave a comment below to introduce yourself! You can talk about what brought you here, what you're learning, or just a fun fact about yourself.

  2. Reply to someone's comment, either with a question or just a hello. 👋

Great to have you in the community!

Top comments (357)

Collapse
 
jfdelarosa profile image
Juan Fernando

Hi everyone! i’m Fernando, one of the main developers at MailVibes, a Chrome extension that can help you improve your Gmail workflow, using tools like mail or link tracking, email templates and mass email.

After months of reading tons of post, I've finally took some time to sign up haha, I hope we like each other... I love Javascript and everything that can help me boost my productivity, even a little!

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Welcome to DEV!

Spiderman swinging by to say hello

Collapse
 
devcon profile image
1008

Hi

Thread Thread
 
thesides profile image
Jacob Sides

sup

Thread Thread
 
ikaru19 profile image
Muhammad Syafrizal

Hi Everyone !

Collapse
 
gebertdominik profile image
Dominik Gebert

Hello! :)

Collapse
 
janelehmann profile image
janeLehmann

Speaking about loving everything that can help to boost productivity - it's really a great way to go!

Collapse
 
vipulgarg1 profile image
Vipul Garg

Hi Fernando :-)

Collapse
 
sszukala profile image
Shan

Welcome!

Collapse
 
vtexperts profile image
Tom Brown

Great job!

Suggestion: Add option to get notified when someone replies to a certain email.

There are so many extensions that track clicks, opens, etc.. but I couldnt find a single one where you can mark an email as "Notify me when replied". This would be helpful, if the email reply depends on a time sensitive matter and you need to take action as soon as the reply comes in. The alternative now is, going back to gmail every few min to see if that particular email was responded to.

Thanks!

Collapse
 
akshyan profile image
Ak Sekhar

Hello

Collapse
 
lrvc3 profile image
Renita Lobo

Hello :)

Collapse
 
gopalhalder profile image
Gopal Halder

hi

Collapse
 
avidme profile image
avidme

Hello!! I wanted to learn javascript but being a C# Dev, javascript seems little uneasy for me haha. Wish I could being it someday.

Collapse
 
datrine profile image
datrine

Hi avidme. As a developer who came from the .NET world, I can tell you that you fears thankfully not real. Javascript is probably the easiest language to learn, apart from python. Mastering it is more nuanced, but you'll generally do fine

Collapse
 
benjaminsmiths profile image
Ben Smith

You should definitely take the plunge and yes you would have to learn es6... but you could start by learning typescript as the syntax to C# is almost identical. It’s not the usual way of learning JS but it could work and Typescript is awesome.

Collapse
 
mzprizm profile image
Carolyn Nickell

that's an awesome tool!

Collapse
 
pritmoksh profile image
pritmoksh

Heyy :)

Collapse
 
edwardfernando profile image
Edward Fernando

Welcome Juan!

We have same last name 🙏🏻

Collapse
 
flameoftheforest profile image
Bryan Chong

Hello, Fernando!

Collapse
 
kevjose profile image
kevin

Hello! 👋

Collapse
 
theagols profile image
Thiago Lourenço

Hello!

Collapse
 
nikitasherman profile image
Nikita

Welcome!

Collapse
 
reddgum profile image
Michael

Welcome Juan!

Collapse
 
rbelow profile image
Rubén Below

Hello, Juan Fernando!

Collapse
 
csveda profile image
Anant Kumar Pandey

Hello!

Collapse
 
wseymour profile image
Will Seymour

Hi, all. I'm Will. I got my BS in CS in 2015 at the age of 41...and I'm not using it. I have about a year and a half of professional programming experience. A bad experience at my first programming job really shook my confidence. Rather than risk my family's status I'm working for half of a dev's starting salary as a marketing technical resource. But I want to code. It's time to get back into the swing of things. I'm looking for an active community to help me steer my learning, and hopefully pay it forward when I can help in return.

Collapse
 
shaijut profile image
Shaiju T • Edited

Hi Will, Welcome :) I hope You can Learn and Get a Job, EDX is free , UDEMY and PluralSight is paid.

Check below links to get started:

dev.to/thunderfury1208/it-is-never...

dev.to/tranbathanhtung/how-i-learn...

dev.to/codingtagofficial/top-15-we...

dev.to/nicolepdev/how-to-find-your...

dev.to/bosepchuk/how-to-crush-it-a...

dev.to/beznet/learning-code-while-...

dev.to/flippedcoding/how-to-get-yo...

Hope this helps.

All the best. 😄

Collapse
 
soradev profile image
Tracy Marshall

this seems useful

Collapse
 
jcolag profile image
John Colagioia (he/him)

You didn't ask for advice, but it's worth keeping in mind that your experience outside of programming is just as valuable to the right company as it would be if you hadn't had a career detour. You might want to quantify the sorts of things you've worked on, but the ability to walk into an interview and show that you understand the "big picture" of how features are going to land with users (or how to find out) on top of being able to do the literal work is a big deal.

Collapse
 
deadlysyn profile image
Mike Hoskins

Hey don't fear, there are some who have been programming a lot longer and are still bad at their job. Some times it's their code, some times it's their attitude... at least you can fix the prior.

Stay humble, keep learning, be thankful and always look for little ways to make yourself useful (ideally by working some sort of programming into whatever job you have -- amazing how you can do that these days). I know you will go places. The fact you allowed your confidence to be shaken (rather than just blaming others) tells me you are just the kind of dev I want to be working with some day.

Collapse
 
maximilianomathias profile image
Mathias Maximiliano Amarillo Lemos

Hey Will!! Welcome to Dev! Its time to get your confidence back because if you made all the way through your bachelors at your age, im sure you can get back on track and learn new things here! I've learned a ton from a site called Udemy. theres paid and free courses that cover all the necesary topic to get you started on any particular language! So start coding! and enjoy!

All the best!

Collapse
 
reddgum profile image
Michael

Welcome Will. Quick comment for you -- I went all through my career without the typical college degree. Last position I held was R&D Engineer in charge of making prototypes and walking new product through design, development and industry certification. Not terribly bad for an "uneducated" guy. Hint: It's not about your pedigree or lack of credentials; it's about NOT GIVING UP. If Engineering were easy, we'd all be in movies. It's often quite hard. There will always be personal and technical challenges that can tear you up and spit you out.

You only lose when you quit and tell yourself that you can't do it.

Take it from me, it's been VERY difficult for me to get jobs w/o a degree in the past, but when I landed them, I set out to win and keep winning by deciding that I would not give up and do whatever it took to learn / understand new things.

That was especially difficult for me back when I deliberately quit management and started a job as a contract engineer. I had a new home and an 18 month old daughter. Talk about stressful.

Here's the thing: Prayer, dedication and not giving up. Drop the distractions and go back, mister. You CAN do it.

Collapse
 
sriramank1988 profile image
Sriram Krishnan

Good to see you here Will. "Age is just a number", we can all do wonders with enough conviction. Welcome to the world of devs!!!!

Collapse
 
sszukala profile image
Shan

I am just starting coding for fun. I am sure with your experience, you will find what fits.

Collapse
 
rbelow profile image
Rubén Below

Hello, Will! Keep everyday hustlin' youtube.com/watch?v=JU9TouRnO84

Collapse
 
forrestknight profile image
Forrest Knight

Hey All! I found out about DEV from a YouTube comment and hope to find my place within this developer community.

Last year I left my job as a Software Engineer to pursue coding my own projects. My all-time favorite language is Java - and you can't convince me otherwise. Similar to what I did in college, my primary interests have reverted to machine learning & artificial intelligence.

I use Arch, btw.

Collapse
 
hizkiajuan profile image
Juan

How do you see ML/AI compare to SWE in terms of "worthy" ness? :D
I'm currently on Andrew Ng's Coursera course, and you shouldn't miss it, pal. Have a good day!

Collapse
 
forrestknight profile image
Forrest Knight • Edited

I see both as being very worthy in their respective areas. Automating tasks is important, just as is knowing statistical patterns of data. I'm just so in love with research & math that my natural progression in this field must lead to ML/AI. But I could talk about this all day lol.

Are you referring to Andrew's Machine Learning course? I hate to be "that guy" that says he already knows (my brother does it to me all the time), but I'm familiar with it! I added it into this "open source" CS degree I put together a while back. I'll have to take a deeper look now that I have the time!

Collapse
 
fultonbrowne profile image
Fulton Browne

Glad to see you here!

Collapse
 
soradev profile image
Tracy Marshall

What's up Forrest! Your channel's dope.

I've been shown the ways of the Java recently and it's just something about statically typing... Are you gonna use Java for machine learning and AI?

Collapse
 
forrestknight profile image
Forrest Knight

Hey Tracy! Much appreciated. Yea, I'm using Java as my primary ML/AI language.

Collapse
 
mitchellclong profile image
Moe Long

Hi! Long-time DEV reader, finally took the plunge and started contributing articles. By day, I write about maker projects over at Electromaker.io, and on the side I cover consumer tech (streaming devices, smart home tech, Linux tutorials, etc.) on Tech Up Your Life and movie/TV/album reviews on Cup of Moe.

I'm learning some basic JavaScript for fun/personal edification, and enjoy watching cult films while cuddling with my dog when I'm not banging away at my keyboard.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Great to have you!

Collapse
 
sszukala profile image
Shan

Cool welcome!

Collapse
 
soradev profile image
Tracy Marshall

dope, welcome!

Collapse
 
laylar profile image
Layla

Those maker projects look pretty awesome! Thanks for sharing!

Collapse
 
ahmdichsan profile image
Ahmad Ichsan Baihaqi

Hello all! Greetings from Indonesia! I am a former Chemist. Yeah. No computer science/engineering background at all. Have a little interest on programming. Realise I only live once, try to take small step to become a programmer. Now I realised, do code is interesting for me. But do code that used as problem solver is like a priceless feeling for me. Hope I can learn and share in this community. Thanks for having me!

Collapse
 
hizkiajuan profile image
Juan

Hi Indonesia fellow! What a good decision to took a "programmer" journey. Super exciting stuffs on tech world ahead, and be sure to keep learning everyday! Good luck.

Collapse
 
ahmdichsan profile image
Ahmad Ichsan Baihaqi

Sure! Thank you, Juan!

Collapse
 
vidalive profile image
Vida Moayedi • Edited

Hiya! I am new to DEV :D I am a front end dev with love for CSS :D

Collapse
 
haludecassia profile image
Halú de Cássia

I am a front-end dev too. And also love CSS. Welcome o/

Collapse
 
spacecatmax profile image
Catherine

Hello! Welcome to DEV :) And I agree with you, CSS is great!

Collapse
 
vidalive profile image
Vida Moayedi

Thank you! I think so too 🤗

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Welcome to DEV!

Multiple TV and movie characters giving a thumbs up

Collapse
 
vidalive profile image
Vida Moayedi

Thanks Nick! :D

Collapse
 
chibishem profile image
Chibi Shem

heyo :)

Collapse
 
avidme profile image
avidme

Hello! Everyone!! I'm a junior Web Dev from India. I work on projects with AspNet Mvc, AspNet Core. I love sharing ideas and discussion. I was hankering for some friendly Dev community where I can contribute and learn from. I hope I can make my place here in and contribute to the community.

Collapse
 
ahmadpirani profile image
Ahmad Pirani

Devs,

Was just browsing Twitter that led me here.

I work as Lead Technical Consultant working mainly in Dynamics 365 world. However, I mainly use C#, though in very limited capacity, for my developmental work.

I'm looking to expand my horizon beyond this now.

This looks like a promising community to learn a lot from and interact with.

Collapse
 
abdulraheembawazir profile image
AbdulraheemBawazir

happy to join us Ahmed .

Collapse
 
chibishem profile image
Chibi Shem

hello :)

Collapse
 
blakiecodes profile image
Blake Lower

Hi people! I'm a beginner html/css/javascript developer! I fell in love with programming about a year ago and have already gone through a bootcamp! I'm now in the process of starting my career at a startup :3 !

Collapse
 
deogadkarravina profile image
Ravina Deogadkar

Hi everyone! I am quit new to this community. I am a Software Developer worked with different technology stack. I am self learner and a explorer. Hope to receive lots of knowledge through dev community.

Collapse
 
hostn4me profile image
Wumpus

Hello everyone. I registered here well over a year ago but sadly I'm just now accessing my account again. Better late than never, right? I do stay busy but I fully intend to visit here more often, become part of the community, learn, and help/contribute wherever and whenever I can. Nice to meet you all! Cheers!

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ☕

Hello and welcome to Dev.to Community ! 👋🏼😉

Collapse
 
temitayo profile image
Temitayo

Hi everyone, code newbie here. Graduate civil engineer but figured I don't wanna spend the rest of my life doing stuff I don't like cos Y.O.L.O, so here I am trying to get more out of the dev community. It's been amazing so far the amount of open source resources out here. Thanks to everyone for their hardwork.

Collapse
 
alexantra profile image
Alex Antra

Civil Engineer! That's pretty intense, are you wanting to change career or merge dev and civil engineering?

Collapse
 
temitayo profile image
Temitayo

Career change

Collapse
 
tberne profile image
Thiago Berne • Edited

Hello, folks!
My name is Thiago and I'm one of the architects of LumisXP, the very first 100% Brazilian end-to-end #CustomerExperience management software.
I'm an old-school #Java guy, but I love to keep up with the latest tools (at least I try to 🙃).
I love the way front-end development is evolving in the latest years, mainly the #Javascript and all of the frameworks!

Collapse
 
alexsegen profile image
$alejandro • Edited

Hello people!! My name is Alejandro and I work as a Frontend Developer in Chileautos / Carsales Std (LATAM HUB) placed in Chile.

I'm very happy to join this community. I hope to learn a lot from yuo, also I'm willing to share some of my own knowledge too.

Collapse
 
iamdjarc profile image
IG:DjArc [Hey-R-C]

Hi Alejandro, good to meet you 👍

Collapse
 
tainguyenbui profile image
Tai Nguyen Bui

Hi everyone! I'm Tai. I graduated in BSc Computer Science in 2014 at the University of Nottingham. I currently work @ The Agile Monkeys as a full-stack developer remotely from the Canary Islands in Spain. I've joined DEV after some of my colleagues suggested it, and I hope I can contribute with some interesting posts in the future :D

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.