DEV Community

Cover image for Show off your Terminal Setup 👩🏻‍💻💯
Sarthak Sharma for XenoX

Posted on

Show off your Terminal Setup 👩🏻‍💻💯

After the "Show off Your VSCode Setup" it's time for Terminal setups. So I will go first, here is my setup:

Screenshot 2021-02-24 at 3.51.30 PM

𝗧𝗲𝗿𝗺𝗶𝗻𝗮𝗹: Hyper
𝗧𝗵𝗲𝗺𝗲: Shades of Purple
𝗙𝗼𝗻𝘁: Cascadia Code PL

Plugins I ❤️

For every terminal


For Hyper only

  • hypercwd: Opens new tabs with the same directory as the current tab in Hyper for OS X, Linux and Windows.
  • HyperLine: HyperLine is a status line plugin for Hyper.app.
  • Hyper pane: Extension for Hyper.app to enhance pane navigation.

So tell me what's your current terminal setup look like? I'm Curious.

Top comments (83)

Collapse
 
awais profile image
Awais Iqbal • Edited

(drop down) terminal: tilda
font : MesloLGS NF
prompt: powerlevel10k
for files and directories icons lsd

Collapse
 
shinigami92 profile image
Shinigami • Edited

Oh the colored permissions 🤩 I need this 👍

Collapse
 
awais profile image
Awais Iqbal

you can use lsd for that :)

Collapse
 
sarthology profile image
Sarthak Sharma

Yup looks dope

Collapse
 
sarthology profile image
Sarthak Sharma

That theme looks so cool 😎

Collapse
 
mebble profile image
Neil Syiemlieh

I had never felt the need to go beyond a basic ohmyzsh setup, but this is making me change my mind!

Collapse
 
sarthology profile image
Sarthak Sharma

Hahaha that was the intention 😅

Collapse
 
absphreak profile image
ᴀʙʜɪɴᴀᴠ sʜᴀʀᴍᴀ✩

Theme name?

Collapse
 
awais profile image
Awais Iqbal

its a custom theme.

Thread Thread
 
sarthology profile image
Sarthak Sharma

Can you share config?

Collapse
 
relativelyrehan profile image
relativelyrehan

These are some really cool setups. Lately, I have been using this COOL RETRO TERMINAL app for Linux.

alt

Collapse
 
darkwiiplayer profile image
𒎏Wii 🏳️‍⚧️

I kinda prefer the default amber colour with disabled glow line ;)

Collapse
 
sempsei profile image
sempsei

what theme is this? i can install in any terminal?

Collapse
 
relativelyrehan profile image
relativelyrehan

It's an app, COOL RETRO TERMINAL. You can install it using snap for Ubuntu

Collapse
 
sarthology profile image
Sarthak Sharma

I think that’s an app

Collapse
 
sarthology profile image
Sarthak Sharma

Wooahh vintage stuff. 🤯💥

Collapse
 
brandonwallace profile image
brandon_wallace

terminal.png

Terminal: Xfce4-terminal
Font: Hack Font

Applications:

Collapse
 
sarthology profile image
Sarthak Sharma

Moc sounds cool is it available for MacOS?

Collapse
 
cmb5557 profile image
CMB
Collapse
 
brandonwallace profile image
brandon_wallace

I am not sure if it is available for MacOS.

Thread Thread
 
sarthology profile image
Sarthak Sharma

It's not just checked 🤷🏻‍♂️

Thread Thread
 
brandonwallace profile image
brandon_wallace

It is open source maybe someone can port it over to MacOS.

Thread Thread
 
sarthology profile image
Sarthak Sharma

I wish 😅

Collapse
 
jae profile image
Jae Beojkkoch

I do only use a sober oh-my-zsh (with zsh obivously) on Termius.
My terminal setup

Collapse
 
ceoshikhar profile image
Shikhar

Can you link your dotfiles? Want to recreate this setup for myself.

Collapse
 
jae profile image
Jae Beojkkoch

I don’t have dotfiles, it’s the default theme of the Termius local terminal with default oh-my-zsh.

Collapse
 
sarthology profile image
Sarthak Sharma

Looks cool 😎

Collapse
 
jae profile image
Jae Beojkkoch

This probably is the simplest config here since everything is almost at its default ^^

Thread Thread
 
sarthology profile image
Sarthak Sharma

Minimalism 🧘

Collapse
 
barelyhuman profile image
Reaper • Edited

Minimal as always.

Terminal Emulator: iTerm2
Zsh theme: PureZSH (Rust Variant)
ITerm2 Color Scheme: New Moon
Font: Monaco

Collapse
 
sarthology profile image
Sarthak Sharma

Will, Definitely try this New Moon thing.

Collapse
 
brandonwallace profile image
brandon_wallace

I set up something like this back in the olden days but I do not remember how I did it.
bashrc-screenshot.jpg

Collapse
 
sarthology profile image
Sarthak Sharma

Wow this make so much sense. 💯💥✨

Collapse
 
dance2die profile image
Sung M. Kim

You gotta remember how you did this! ;p
I like how this stresses old commands less, not taking away the attention!

Collapse
 
brandonwallace profile image
brandon_wallace

Here it is. lol

count=232;

# Set the prompt to change colors on execution of each command.
function bash_prompt(){
    PS1="\033[38;5;${count}m"' \W \$ '"\033[00m"
    count=$((count+1));
    [ $count -eq 255 ] && count=232;
}

PROMPT_COMMAND=bash_prompt
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

bash-prompt-color-change-on-execution.png

gist.github.com/brandon-wallace/7b...

Thread Thread
 
dance2die profile image
Sung M. Kim

ty for sharing~ woohoo~

Collapse
 
brandonwallace profile image
brandon_wallace

I knew I should have pushed that code to Github before the hard drive crash. Lol. I will start working on it. It was not too complicated.

Thread Thread
 
dance2die profile image
Sung M. Kim

No worries and thanks for sharing and showing what's possible~!~ :)

Thread Thread
 
brandonwallace profile image
brandon_wallace

With programming you can do almost anything.

Collapse
 
vonheikemen profile image
Heiker • Edited

three pane terminal setup
𝗧𝗲𝗿𝗺𝗶𝗻𝗮𝗹: Kitty
𝗧𝗵𝗲𝗺𝗲: Custom, I called "rubber-enhanced" (colors). Inspired by vscode-rubber. Prompt is also custom, it's a "cheap copy" of pure
𝗙𝗼𝗻𝘁: Whatever the default is.

Collapse
 
sarthology profile image
Sarthak Sharma

That theme is so dope ✨💯🚀

Collapse
 
retronav profile image
Pranav Karawale

Terminal: Windows Terminal
Font: Cascadia Code PL
Prompt: oh-my-posh (custom theme)
Shell: Powershell

spooks

Collapse
 
sarthology profile image
Sarthak Sharma

Woahh which theme is it?

Collapse
 
retronav profile image
Pranav Karawale

Its customized :) . Specifically, a mix up of Agnoster and some components from JanDeDobbeleer with my own styles

Thread Thread
 
sarthology profile image
Sarthak Sharma

Damn, Thanks for sharing 🚀✨💥

Collapse
 
kozmicluis profile image
Luis Lopez

screen

Terminal app: Gnome Shell (sometimes I use Kitty for font ligatures)
Terminal font and theme: Solarized dark with Jetbrains Mono (I use Pragmata Pro in Kitty and VSCode)
Terminal emulator: zsh + Oh my zsh (and the powerline-ish theme)

  • Favourite neovim themes: cake, alduin, gruvbox (current), NeoSolarized
  • Neovim notable plugins: vimux, nerdtree, ctrlp, coc, vimtex, airline, golden-ratio, tagbar, conjure, fugitive, gitgutter, devicons.
  • I'm using tmux with the default theme and using vimux to improve my IDE-like experience within neovim.
Collapse
 
sarthology profile image
Sarthak Sharma

Terminal + IDE setup. 🤯🚀✨

Collapse
 
huaiyu profile image
HuaiYu

My gnome-terminal font ligatures has no effect, but other editors, such as gedit and goland, support font ligatures. How did you do it? My current system is popos22.04

Collapse
 
shinigami92 profile image
Shinigami

𝗧𝗲𝗿𝗺𝗶𝗻𝗮𝗹: Konsole
𝗧𝗵𝗲𝗺𝗲: zsh agnoster
𝗙𝗼𝗻𝘁: Hack 14

image

hi-res screenshot

In VSCode:

image

hi-res screenshot

Collapse
 
sarthology profile image
Sarthak Sharma

What’s the link to the font?

Collapse
 
shinigami92 profile image
Shinigami

I think you will find it here?! github.com/source-foundry/Hack
But it was built-in in arch linux/KDE Plasma

Collapse
 
gochev profile image
Nayden Gochev • Edited

Nothing fancy .. just oh my zsh with Monaco + powerline.

terminal

Still it works SUPER fast and looks perfect... if I have this terminal on Windows I would not use Mac.. but still iTerm is a nice app.. a lot better then Mac OS Terminal.

Collapse
 
spartanatreyu profile image
Jayden Pearse

Have you checked out Windows Terminal? You should be able to setup everything you have there too.

Collapse
 
sarthology profile image
Sarthak Sharma

That’s correct.

Collapse
 
pzelnip profile image
Adam Parkin • Edited

Terminal: iTerm2
Prompt: Starship
Theme: who theme's their terminal? I want practical, not pretty. :p
Font: Monaco

FWIW, I've blogged about my iTerm setup and Starship setup

My Terminal

Collapse
 
yoursunny profile image
Junxiao Shi

I have default terminal in Ubuntu MATE and I like it.
I have default terminal of Git for Windows, and it works ok.
I have default terminal of WSL2 on Windows, and I hate it because the copy-paste key is different.
Life is too short to customize terminals.

Collapse
 
sarthology profile image
Sarthak Sharma

Lol, I get it 🦥

Collapse
 
dabibu153 profile image
saurav sharma

terminal image

Terminal: iTerm2
Theme: midnight-in-mojave
font: Press Start 2P

GitHub powered by 'Oh My Zsh'

Collapse
 
sarthology profile image
Sarthak Sharma

Looks cool

Collapse
 
mvelazquez profile image
Manuel Velázquez • Edited

My terminal
Terminal: Tilix
Font: customized Iosevka
Prompt: Starship
Color ls: exa

Collapse
 
sarthology profile image
Sarthak Sharma

Wow those colors.

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.