DEV Community

Ben Halpern
Ben Halpern

Posted on

How many computer devices do you own?

Computers, phones, tablets, etc.

How many of them do you use to develop software?

Top comments (115)

Collapse
 
andrewbrown profile image
Andrew Brown πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦
  • Macbook Air 2012
  • Macbook Air 2013
  • Macbook Pro 2011
  • Macbook Prr 2019
  • Custom build Hackintosh
  • Surface Tablet 3
  • iPad Pro
  • 3 Echo Dots
  • Amazon Fire tablet
  • Samsung Galaxy A5 (primary)
  • iPhone 8 (development)

All I can recall right now.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Macbook Air 2012
Macbook Air 2013
Macbook Pro 2011
Macbook Prr 2019
Custom build Hackintosh
Surface Tablet 3

How may of these do you use regularly?

Collapse
 
andrewbrown profile image
Andrew Brown πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ • Edited

All of them. I have a lack of required devices.
I don't like having to carry my computer to various rooms
and so I have them set up around the house.

Some have specializations but mostly its and redundancy and convenience.

I have a lack of charges. Wiener dogs have chewed through a few.

Thread Thread
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Awesome! This is a life I could definitely live. I'd also read a post on some of the details of managing your config across devices, your cloud, etc.

I have a lack of charges. Wiener dogs have chewed through a few.

Ruby did the same with one of mine recently, but how can I stay mad at that face?

Ruby

Thread Thread
 
andrewbrown profile image
Andrew Brown πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦

I run my dev environments in Cloud9.

I store most files shared on my network to my Hackintosh
which has terabytes of storage.

I make great use of Google Drive

I have paid version of Dashlane.

Thread Thread
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Nice.

Collapse
 
lostintangent profile image
Jonathan Carter

Do you just have a single dev environment in Cloud9? Or multiple? I’d be interested to hear the details of your setup, since I’m imagining you push as much state to the cloud as possible, so that this multi machine setup is seamless 😁

Also, are you using all of these machines for work? Or a mix of work and personal?

Collapse
 
andrewbrown profile image
Andrew Brown πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ • Edited

I have a Cloud9 environment for each project.
Cloud9 has limitations which are unfortunate.

I wish I could use Cloud9 with CloudFormation to provision tens of servers at once for the purpose of teaching but it's not possible as AWS has heavily neglected Cloud9 automation where you can only automate the creation of Amazon Linux Cloud9 environment with no way of running a script afterwards. Amazon Liunx has problems and so I can't even automate that step having to manually use the console to spin up Ubuntu environments.

Every intern and dev at ExamPro has a Cloud9 environment and it saves us so much time.
No worries having to figure out docker, no full days lots because your dev environment broke.

We wrote a bash script which setups the dev environment. It has to manually run, but at least it's only 1 action.

I have Cloud9 env for every project that I work on. Since servers only run when you use them I'm not too worried about multiple instances running at the same time.

I'm seeing more IDE services spin up but I can't justify the subscription costs where Cloud9 is so inexpensive. If one of these IDEs can match the same functionality as Cloud9 I would strongly consider architecting my only solution so I can automate setting or rebuilding environments

We attempted to connect Cloud9 to ECS but it simply was not possible.

Collapse
 
downey profile image
Tim Downey • Edited

I just use a cluster of Raspberry Pis. πŸ˜‚

In all seriousness, I use the following regularly for coding in this order:

Collapse
 
dabrorius profile image
Filip Defar

Hackintosh :O It's still a thing, I can't believe I forgot about them. I had one back in college while there was no way I could afford an actual Mac. I'd love to build one again though, from scratch with all the right components. Just seeing your boxes makes me want to assemble one. I think I have a new (old?) hobby.

Collapse
 
israelmuca profile image
Israel MuΓ±oz

My last Hackintosh was built several years ago, I've been meaning to do one again as well! Except I've been looking for a good laptop that can be made into a hackintosh... no luck there yet... :/

Collapse
 
peter profile image
Peter Kim Frank
  • MacBook Pro 2015
  • iPhone X
  • Amazon Fire Tablet

The Fire Tablet has been a real star. Very inexpensive relative to an iPad (I bought mine on Prime Day) and it fulfills my basic needs of reading and video for traveling.

Collapse
 
terabytetiger profile image
Tyler V. (he/him)

My SO is wearing her Fire Tablet into the ground. Was really hoping for USB-C on the new model so it wouldn't be the only non-USB-C device in our house 😞

Collapse
 
cecilelebleu profile image
CΓ©cile Lebleu

MacBook Pro. That’s it for 99% of the time.
I also have an iPhone, but use it mostly for reading these very articles in the morning, the rest of the day I tuck it away into a drawer because all the chit chat from messages is really distracting.
And I have a Kindle chock full of books and guides that I use as reference sometimes.

Collapse
 
natonathan profile image
Nathan Tamez
  • Echo Dot
  • Google Home
  • 2018 MacBook Pro
  • Custom Build Desktop (win 10)
  • iPad Pro 10.5"
  • iPhone X
  • Samsung Galaxy S6 edge (maybe broken tho, not been used for a while)
  • iPod touch (the last generation released)

I try to use most of them for testing and debugged at least.

Collapse
 
desi profile image
Desi

I've cut way way back, but it's still a little out of control.

  • MacBook Pro 2016(?)
  • iPad 2018
  • iPad Mini 2013
  • Chromebook
  • iPhone 8+
  • iPhone 6 (not in use, but it's laying around, so I think it counts)

If we're counting my partner's gear as well, it gets really nuts.

  • Lenovo Yoga (I use this as well for Windows/PC testing)
  • Chromebook
  • Kindle Fire
  • Android Tablet 1
  • Android Tablet 2
  • Essential phone
Collapse
 
jackharner profile image
Jack Harner πŸš€

Old, pretty shitty Dell Laptop running Windows 10 (only use it for Adobe products).

Old, slightly less shitty HP Desktop running Ubuntu (main Dev machine).

Old, very shitty iPad 2(?) (reading things on the toilet).

Old, very shitty Galaxy S5 (occasionally testing mobile).

I need some new hardware. πŸ˜‚

Collapse
 
kmarcini profile image
Kevin Marciniak

~~ Development ~~
2015 13" MacBook Pro
2018 Mac mini
2019 iPad mini
iPhone X
2nd-Gen iPad Pro - I don't use this as often since getting the iPad mini

For gaming, I use a custom built PC. And a Nintendo Switch.

Collapse
 
sleepyfran profile image
Fran GonzΓ‘lez

Right now a MacBook Pro mid2015, iPhone 7, iPad 2018, Apple Watch Series 4 and I just bought a 2019 iMac. I only use the MBP and iMac for development, though I sometimes read dev books on my iPad, if that counts!

Collapse
 
tekgy profile image
Chris Averill

How's the new iMac? I have one from 2017 and love it, but I'm looking to upgrade as I got the minimum specs.

Collapse
 
sleepyfran profile image
Fran GonzΓ‘lez

Just saw this! I don't have another iMac to compare but it's been a HUGE performance difference from my MBP, mainly because the processor in my MBP is a dual core and I got the 9th generation i5 (which has 6 cores) on the iMac. I suppose that if you have the minimum specs and you're looking for an upgrade it'll probably be a good buy since you can upgrade the RAM yourself and save a loooot of money.

Collapse
 
yamalight profile image
Tim Ermilov • Edited
  • Macbook Pro 15" 2015 (primarily used for work and travels)
  • PC desktop (primarily used for gaming, but also streaming and a bit of work)
  • Honor 9 Android phone (if it wasn't for totally garbo camera - I'd actually be happy with it)
  • iPad Pro (very handy for travels where I know I won't need to develop stuff)
  • Oculus Quest (that also counts as computer device, right? πŸ˜‚)

I've seen some people include some other devices, so here we go:

  • Chromecast (because it makes it incredibly easy to watch stuff on my TV)
  • PS4 (to play exclusives once or twice a year πŸ˜…)
  • Switch (irreplaceable travel companion)
Collapse
 
mortoray profile image
edA‑qa mort‑ora‑y
  • Desktop Powerhouse (the only one I develop on)
  • MacBook Air 2014
  • Android Tablet
  • iPhone
  • DumbTV
  • SemiSmart Amplifier
  • PS4

I used to own a whole bunch more, but I'll say they all belong to my kids now.

Collapse
 
gablaroche profile image
Gabriel Laroche
  • Old Toshiba Satellite (loaded with Ubuntu)
  • Custom desktop tower
  • Pixel 2

I use all my devices except for my pixel 2, but I mainly use my big desktop tower and the macbook pro provided by the company I work for.

Collapse
 
therealkhitty profile image
Mary Thompson

Good question... :thinking_face:

A gaming PC, an Asus laptop, my Google Pixel 1, and several gaming consoles.

Both my gaming desktop and laptop for development, however, my laptop doesn't have a lot of space, so I can only develop one project at a time on it. I bought my laptop to work on group projects with my friends at various locations.

Collapse
 
nachomahn profile image
Lowell Hamilton

Dell XPS 15 ... If I am sitting at this computer I am writing software, period. Usually in the Linux subsystem and VSCode. Sometimes I plug it in to my desktop’s 4k screens on the standing desk. Usually using an ErgoDox keyboard when it isn’t on my lap.

iPad Pro 12.9 2018 for all media consumption related to code/work (twitter, blogs, tutorials, email, slack, etc), but rarely anything personal and I have separate dev accounts for social media and personal stuff. Turns out I can type really fast on this thing’s on screen keyboard :)

Pixel3 XL for all time wasting and personal stuff, but with digital wellbeing on to limit how much time I actually waste. Also streams music to my headphones and for calls, but notifications are turned off for all apps (soooo nice)

Kindle Voyage exclusively for learning and kept in my β€˜work’ backpack. Even the kindle app on the iPad is too distracting for me

Kindle paper white for entertainment reading

And a monster desktop gaming rig, really just used for Factorio these days :)

Collapse
 
vgrovestine profile image
Vincent Grovestine

My daily drivers include:

  • Thinkpad T520
  • iPad Mini 2
  • Asus Zenfone Laser 2
  • Fitbit Charge 2
  • Roku 2
  • Kobo Aura

And there's all the old gear that's destined for the dustbin of time:

  • Dell Inspiron 1318
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1
  • Sony Xperia T
  • Sony Xperia Ray
  • Kobo Mini
  • Microsoft Zune 120 (which I'd still be using if not for its cursed proprietary MTP handshake)
  • Creative Labs Zen Stone Plus
  • a box full of 5400rpm laptop drives and USB keys smaller than 4 Gig
Collapse
 
kleene1 profile image
kleene1

wow