DEV Community

Ben Halpern
Ben Halpern

Posted on

What's your most re-watchable movie?

Watercooler time!

Top comments (170)

Collapse
 
andy profile image
Andy Zhao (he/him)

Right now, Spider-Man: Into the Spider-verse. Just finished my fourth/fifth watch 😅

Of all time? That's much harder for me to choose... Kung Fu Hustle is definitely very easy to rewatch. Highly recommend if you haven't watched it.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Same! I've seen Spider-verse thrice now since the first time a few weeks ago!

Collapse
 
andy profile image
Andy Zhao (he/him)

I still tear up at the final Peter Parker/ Miles Morales moment 😭

Thread Thread
 
ferricoxide profile image
Thomas H Jones II • Edited

Of all the Spiderman movies, it's the most "mature". So little of that "golly gee I'm new" BS that plagues the other ones ...And they even make a running joke of the whole "how we got here" thing.

And that's without factoring in the absolute artistry of the animation.

Collapse
 
jacobmgevans profile image
Jacob Evans

SAME! Me and the GF can't get enough of it!!

Collapse
 
ferricoxide profile image
Thomas H Jones II

Twice in the theatres, once, so far, since it came to NetFlix. Also bought it on BD, but have yet to crack the wrapper on it.

Collapse
 
kmcginn profile image
Kevin McGinn

This movie is one of the few where if I scroll over it on Netflix, I will always watch the little clip of it that auto-plays. Love love love this movie!

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

I know that feeling

Collapse
 
kenhkelly profile image
Ken

Just rewatched Kung Fu Hustle! Shaolin Soccer is pretty good too

Collapse
 
rpalo profile image
Ryan Palo

Italian Job! Love me a good heist movie!

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Heist movies are amazingly re-watchable. Ocean’s 11 all day.

Collapse
 
phallstrom profile image
Philip Hallstrom

If you haven't... watch The Inside Man.

Collapse
 
rpalo profile image
Ryan Palo

Oh man that’s another one of my all time favorites. I will watch basically any Denzel movie without getting tired of them.

Thread Thread
 
phallstrom profile image
Philip Hallstrom

Heh. I'm that way, but with Clive Owen.

Collapse
 
cecilelebleu profile image
Cécile Lebleu

I know what I'm watching tonight :D

Collapse
 
andrewharpin profile image
Andrew Harpin

Original only, not the dodgy remake

Collapse
 
rpalo profile image
Ryan Palo

Respectful disagree. I’ve probably seen the remake at least 10 times, and I liked it quite a bit better. However, I will say that the car chase in the original is spectacular.

Collapse
 
ferricoxide profile image
Thomas H Jones II

I actually think Fury Road (and Mad Max II) is a better heist/chase movie (though definitely less whimsical).

Collapse
 
skryking profile image
Jason Ormes

Office space whenever my work annoys me.

Collapse
 
dvlpr profile image
Travis Werbelow

Such a great movie!

Collapse
 
jckuhl profile image
Jonathan Kuhl

PC Load Letter? What the f**k does that even mean?

Collapse
 
elmuerte profile image
Michiel Hendriks

It's such a good movie to wind down from work, as it presents you a more relaxed work place. Kind of :)

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Yes!

Collapse
 
peterwitham profile image
Peter Witham

I think still has to be the original Blade Runner (Director's cut).

Every time I watch it I'm in awe at how it really makes you feel like it's a glimpse into a World rather than just a story that comes and goes.

Collapse
 
ferricoxide profile image
Thomas H Jones II

Yup. One of the ones on my top-5.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Jurassic Park comes to mind for me. I swear it never gets old.

Iron Man, the first MCU movie, is also incredibly re-watchable. Especially after Endgame made so many callbacks to it towards the end.

Collapse
 
wolfhoundjesse profile image
Jesse M. Holmes

Oh, Ben. I watched this movie on VHS every day after school for years, and two times or more on the weekend. The soundtrack was taken off Spotify, and on the way home from rehearsal this week, I discovered it's been put back up. I've been listening to it nonstop this week.

I don't rewatch it now as much, but I don't know when anything recent will surpass my childhood obsession with it.

Collapse
 
dhanushkadev profile image
Dhanushka madushan

❤️Endgame

Collapse
 
dana94 profile image
Dana Ottaviani

I love Jurassic Park. I listen to the theme music on youtube when I work.

Collapse
 
jamiekaren profile image
Jamie Ferrugiaro

Ugh. I want to just go back now after Endgame and rewatch every MCU movie in chronological order. Problem is, I have so little time to do that and there are so many hahaha.

Collapse
 
faraazahmad profile image
Syed Faraaz Ahmad

Iron Man (1) is still my fav MCU movie

Collapse
 
briwa profile image
briwa

KungFu Hustle. No matter how many times I've watched it, it's always still funny. But only if you're into cheap slapstick jokes.

Also Christoper Nolan's Batman series. The dark heroic vibe of Batman and the enemies in those movies somehow just sticks, they don't go away after many viewings.

Collapse
 
mandarbadve profile image
Mandar Badve

Ip Man

Ip Man

Collapse
 
dhanushkadev profile image
Dhanushka madushan

Martial art fan here

Collapse
 
molly profile image
Molly Struve (she/her)

Wedding Crashers!

Collapse
 
wuz profile image
Conlin Durbin

Either Scott Pilgrim vs the World or Hackers. Both are masterpieces.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Here's some trivia for you:

Scott Pilgrim is based on the Plumtree song entitled "Scott Pilgrim". Plumtree is an indie rock band from my hometown of Halifax, Nova Scotia.

And not just any indie rock band from Halifax, Nova Scotia, they were my sister's friends! My sister was even their "manager" or something. (Nothing official, just helped out early on, and I might be misremembering)

Anyway, I have never even seen the movie but I very much remember Plumtree as my sister's friends' band.

Collapse
 
wuz profile image
Conlin Durbin

Whoa! That is super cool! You should check out the movie - it's really good!

Collapse
 
syntaxseed profile image
SyntaxSeed (Sherri W)

The graphic novel series is pretty great too.

Collapse
 
gluseppe profile image
Giuseppe Frau

This is easy: Back To The Future

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor • Edited

Lately, I'd have to say Thor Ragnarok (probably one of the best entrances ever of a super hero and just a hilarious and great action movie), The Lonely Island's Bash Brothers and Kung Fury.

Collapse
 
ferricoxide profile image
Thomas H Jones II

Ragnarok is, perhaps, the best of the mainline Avengers movies. Really hoping Taika's second crack at Thor is even better.

Collapse
 
jckuhl profile image
Jonathan Kuhl

Ragnarok is definitely the funniest movie in the MCU.

Collapse
 
akoncius profile image
Antanas Končius

Kung fury is a masterpiece!

Collapse
 
codemouse92 profile image
Jason C. McDonald

"You've Got Mail"

It's not about romance, it's about communication. I watch it several times a year.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Kind of makes me want to re-watch it. Never would have occurred to me.

Collapse
 
codemouse92 profile image
Jason C. McDonald

It's even better if you've read Pride and Prejudice (or watched the version with Colin Firth). There are a number of parallels.

Collapse
 
levivm profile image
Levi Velázquez

v for vendetta and pirate of caribbean

Collapse
 
murindwaz profile image
Pascal Maniraho

The Godfather

Collapse
 
manindu profile image
Manindu Wijewickrama

Forest Gump. I have watched it so many times. One of the best movies I have ever seen.