DEV Community

Cover image for 8 additional sites to launch your app for free | Preparing for a launch series [Day 4/7]
Joel Patrizio
Joel Patrizio

Posted on

8 additional sites to launch your app for free | Preparing for a launch series [Day 4/7]

Short intro

I'm releasing my app (iplan.to) next Monday, targeting Product Hunt and Hacker News as the main sites.

However, I'm trying to also post it on several sites to boost visibility before the official launch.

List of sites

This is a selection of the active sites I found, where it's possible to submit your app for free:

🔸 10words: Describe your project in 10 words or less.

🔸 AlternativeTo: Submit your app and explain why it is an alternative to other existing apps.

🔸 Launched!: Simply post your product name, description and a screenshot.

🔸 AppRater: Get featured on a daily list of new apps.

🔸 BetaPage: Submit your startup or product and appear on the Recent list after receiving 5 upvotes.

🔸 Startup Buffer: Get discovered through the website, mobile apps and social networks.

🔸 Startup Stash: List your product for a chance to appear on the site and weekly newsletter.

🔸 Launching Next: Community of tech startups that daily showcases the latest ones.

A final thought

The requirements to post on these sites are very similar, so it shouldn't take a lot of time to just do it in all of them at once.

Look forward to seeing how it goes! 🤞

Thanks for reading!

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
coderslang profile image
Coderslang: Become a Software Engineer

Hey, Joel. Great post!

However, I've tried submitting my project to all the services you've shared and it turned out, they're asking me to pay to be listed? Do you see any point in paid submissions?

Collapse
 
joelpatrizio profile image
Joel Patrizio

Hey hi, thanks for the feedback!

Really? I did try it last week and was able to do it for free. However most of them ask you to pay if you want to get immediately featured, which I didn't do because I can wait. For my product I didn't see the point in paid submissions, I just choose the free option and tried with many different communities.

The ones that worked best in terms of visibility were Reddit and DEV.

I wish good luck with your launch!

Collapse
 
coderslang profile image
Coderslang: Become a Software Engineer

Could you share the links to your Reddit posts? I'm new there and I'm not sure what should I do to get a single upvote :)

Thread Thread
 
joelpatrizio profile image
Joel Patrizio • Edited

Sure, no problem! These are my posts, the best one allowed us to get +100 users applying to our beta. But some of the posts didn't get any interaction at all.

As a reddit user, I've seen two types of posts that work well:

  1. Make it personal: explain why this is meaningful to you, some people might find it relatable.
  2. Provide enough value: don't just put your links, share some data about what you've learned during the process, eg- "I spent 200 hours studying X and these are the 5 key things that would have save me half of the time."
Thread Thread
 
coderslang profile image
Coderslang: Become a Software Engineer

Thanks for the great advice. I've posted a link and a short comment today and got quite a few upvotes! reddit.com/r/learnjavascript/comme...

Thread Thread
 
joelpatrizio profile image
Joel Patrizio

Yay! That's awesome, I'll leave a comment :)