DEV Community

Cover image for Day 24. Step by step
Kiolk
Kiolk

Posted on

Day 24. Step by step

I don't do much, but I do it regularly. I make little progress, but it's progress every day. If any action is present, that means I'm on the right path to my target. 

What I did:

I spent an hour working on the filter component for articles. I worked only on the UI part. I configured the chips, added colors, and localization. It looks terrible. It's very complicated for me to implement a nice UI without a design. Correct theming is another complicated aspect for me. On the other hand, it's a good opportunity for growth: working with challenges that push you. 
Terrible design of sorted bar

The next hour, I spent investigating how to save bookmarks. I learned the API for that and found a suitable call for it. I didn't find it in documentation, I found it by inspecting the code of the main page. It looks like the documentation isn't complete, and some important details are omitted. So, I have to be more careful about that. 

Another question is authentication. The login process with Google or other providers isn't described. Or maybe the only way to do that is by just using an API key that's manually generated in a web form. It's a big question. I think it's the main question that's been bothering me all this time. 

What I will do:

If you want to join the project, just leave a comment here, or write a message in LinkedIn.

What help I'm looking for:

Designer (create design of application in Figma)
Android/KMM developer
Any other help related to the project.

My timeline:

Day 1. Deep breath and dive
Day 2. Networking layer.
Day 3. Loading of articles.
Day 4. ArticleItem.
Day 5. Localization.
Day 6. Work on Sunday.
Day 7. First week.
Day 8. Enjoying coding.
Day 9. Expect/actual.
Day 10. TODOs.
Day 11. Friday evening.
Day 12. Frustration.
Day 13. Blocker
Day 14. Monday
Day 15. Reactions
Day 16. Feed
Day 17. stringWithFormat
Day 18. Comment
Day 19. 1 percent
Day 20. A bit of progress
Day 21. Pagination
Day 22. Lottie animation
Day 23. Sorting of articles

See you tomorrow. 

Top comments (0)