DEV Community

dev.to staff
dev.to staff

Posted on

DEV Welcome Thread - v0

Welcome to dev.to! 👋

WELCOME FROM A BEAR

Please introduce yourself to the community! You can start by sharing your favorite programming languages, what you're interested in learning next, or your latest and greatest side project. No rules, just make yourself at home! 😀

Leave a comment below to introduce yourself! ✌️

Top comments (111)

Collapse
 
ash_hathaway profile image
Ash Hathaway 💁

Hello!
I'm a dev evangelist focusing on an open-source ETL project. Previous to that I was a dev evangelist & senior product manager in AI. I started as a front-end dev and have recently taken up Python. I'd love to find open-source projects to contribute to and get involved in.
Thanks!
Ash

Collapse
 
juanita profile image
Juanita Soranno

Hi Ash! I really love Hood.ie - Gregor is a fantastic maintainer that will help you get started on a bug fix or a feature. Highly recommend checking them out (then blogging your experience here!)

Collapse
 
niko profile image
Niko 👩🏾‍💻

Ohh, great info Juanita. I'm going to check them out also. I've been looking for a a friendly project to start contributing to.

Collapse
 
ash_hathaway profile image
Ash Hathaway 💁

Awesome! I've heard fo hood.ie. I'll check them out. Thanks!

Collapse
 
niko profile image
Niko 👩🏾‍💻

Hey Ash, welcome to the community. How'd you get into evangelism? It always seems like folks have a fun ride getting there.

Collapse
 
ash_hathaway profile image
Ash Hathaway 💁

Howdy! Excellent question. I definitely agree there isn't a straight path really. I started out as a front end dev and then moved into product for apis for a few years actually. Kinda go back and forth but getting back into coding more. I really like working with devs and building stuff so found my niche! 😊

Collapse
 
davidhbeck profile image
david

hi everyone! I've been doing custom wordpress sites for about 6 years as a freelancer, started when I was in college and have continued since I graduated last year. recently I've stepped into a front end role for a C# application and am loving it so far

outside of dev world I'm all about music. I play in an emo band and go on tour a couple times a year (sleeping in a van, no WIFI, what???)

Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

WHAT'S YOUR BAND CALLED? 😻

Collapse
 
davidhbeck profile image
david

it's called citysick! we be on spotify n stuff. new music coming out end of august :)

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

How was the transition from Wordpress to the C# app? Different expectations?

Collapse
 
davidhbeck profile image
david

it was actually way easier than i thought it would be since i can actually edit the source HTML rather than use a template override, filter, or whatever. there is a C# guru doing all the hard C# stuff though, I'm mostly just changing the cshtml and moving things around

Collapse
 
andy profile image
Andy Zhao (he/him)

Awesome, congrats on your new role. Sounds like it's going to be balancing act between your job and the band. That's a great way to get away from the screen though.

Collapse
 
davidhbeck profile image
david

thanks! yeah it can be a challenge but luckily my boss is super cool about it. his sons do music and the app I'm working on is music centered so it makes sense!

and yea, it's a great release especially after a day of hairy bugs

Collapse
 
kevineugeneong profile image
Kevin Eugene Ong • Edited

hey everyone, i'm kevin.

I started the journey 18 months ago; I first studied RoR in a coding bootcamp. Got a job at an airline company & learned Nodejs on the go to build Lambda functions for work. Right now i'm the devops lead for an e-commerce venture the under my company. Our stack primarily Magento 2, Angular 2 running on AWS.

In my free time i learn python for text sentiment analysis & the backend of an airline chatbot. Not pro-AWS but familiar; not anti-GCP either.

Who here are from airline companies? Say hi! :)

Collapse
 
andy profile image
Andy Zhao (he/him)

Not from an airline company, but that does make me think about what airline companies do with software more.

Also, you're killing it; 18 months later and you're a DevOps lead? Congrats dude!

Collapse
 
kevineugeneong profile image
Kevin Eugene Ong

Thanks man. It was a super bumpy ride with countless mistakes.

There's plenty of ways airlines seek to innovate from facial-recognition to speed up check-ins to buying flights and luggage via an AI assistant.

but to get to lead the devops my coding time had to take a hit. gotta spend less time looking at Cloudwatch dashboards!

Thread Thread
 
andy profile image
Andy Zhao (he/him)

I for one am looking forward to the day where we have instant check-ins on planes. Or luggage tracking! I've never had my luggage go missing but I imagine it must be a nightmare.

I don't think I'll ever stop wanting to code. I'm sure that'll change a bit in say, 18 months, but maybe not. Are you going to keep up with side projects or have you done a bit of coding as a DevOps lead?

Collapse
 
jannolii profile image
Janno Liivak

Hello! I'm Janno from Tallinn, Estonia. I've been coding for living since 2002... I've been working with certain Microsoft ERP platform but during last 8 years I've done iOS development and also web development. Swift, Ruby, JavaScript and a little Java and Python. RoR, Django and React. But development itself is not my sole interest ... I also want to learn to design UI/UX ... but first of all, I love to solve problems (which can be solved with coding/software).

Collapse
 
niko profile image
Niko 👩🏾‍💻

It is all about solutions, isn't it? I'm also beginning to teach myself UI/UX to better support my team. I'm looking into a MOOC I can take to start learning a bit more formally though and plan to enter a hackathon soon as UX/UI to improve. How are you planning ot learn design?

Collapse
 
jannolii profile image
Janno Liivak

Hi! I think I'm going to look at product design and interaction design in general before I dig into UX/UI world. Found myself a book called About Face.

amazon.com/About-Face-Essentials-I...

Haven't decided how or where to learn/study UX/UI design though :)

Collapse
 
sebito91 profile image
Sebastian Borza

Hey folks, I'm a golang, C, python dev and am excited to join the community. Been working in fintech for about 12 years, active contributor to all things open source!

I'm originally from Canada but live in the US now, maybe time to go back? :D

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Where in Canada? I'm from Halifax.

Collapse
 
sebito91 profile image
Sebastian Borza

From Toronto, and that's just crazy. Small world no doubt.

Thread Thread
 
sebito91 profile image
Sebastian Borza

Actually was wondering if dev.to was based from Toronto...long shot but it stuck out in my mind hehe.

Thread Thread
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Based in New York 😊

I was born and raised in Canada but am currently located south of the border.

Thread Thread
 
sebito91 profile image
Sebastian Borza

Sweet, just moved to Chicago last year from NYC. Good times, but kids have their impact :/

Thanks for putting together the site, it's a pretty sweet resource. Glad to be part of the community.

Collapse
 
santi__alba profile image
Santi Alba • Edited

Hi everybody!
I use python for data science and ruby for web development.
Now, i'm studying about sentiment analysis system and trying development through python.

Also i practise martial arts in my free time!!
Thanks!!!

Collapse
 
niko profile image
Niko 👩🏾‍💻

Hey Santi! I take mixed martial arts during every season except summer, a mix of Muay thai, Sinawali/Kali, and Wing Chung (with occasional Tai Chi and fencing workshops). Opinion mining fascinates me, anything particularly cool that you've learned about it recently?

Collapse
 
overdueocean profile image
overdueocean • Edited

Hi Everyone,

I am newbie in the industry with passion for development and learning coding. I like Java & Ruby in general, I been using Linux for a while, I am continuously trying to increase my skills for development in Java and ruby and I particularly like Practical DEV as it provides the solid platform for the newbies like me to enhanced my knowledge and fulfill my passion.

Thanks
OverDue

Collapse
 
andy profile image
Andy Zhao (he/him)

Love hearing that you digging the platform as a "newbie"! Although you know Java and Linux, which I really don't know much about, so maybe not-so-newbie after all?

Collapse
 
overdueocean profile image
overdueocean

Thanks Andy if i would have done program like you in Ruby and JavaScript then can say yes not a newbie :-) but me absolute zero in development, Java me only trying to learn and need some good guidance to way forward ...

Collapse
 
pam_yam profile image
Pamela Assogba

Hello! I'm Pam, an engineer in the DC area with a background in architecture and design. I currently work in media coding in Ruby, Rails, and lots of Vanilla.js. I'll be moving from revenue work to systems engineering in a bit and I'm pretty excited about that! Advice from other systems engineers is always appreciated as I thread these new waters.

In my free time, I run an organization called Color Coded which is all about inclusivity and learning new skills in tech. Besides that, I'm working on learning some React and React Native for side projects and try to do a challenge daily on Exercism

Excited to be here!

Collapse
 
peter profile image
Peter Kim Frank

Welcome, Pamela! Color Coded looks like an amazing organization. Please let me know once some Merch is available :)

Don't hesitate to start a #discuss thread to spur some conversation around systems engineering topics, and be sure to share the knowledge as you continue learning React / React Native.

Happy to have you here!

Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

We write a lot of vanilla js too :)

Collapse
 
exadra37 profile image
Paulo Renato

Hi all :)

I am a very passionate Developer... I really love programming to the point I get my wife being jealous of my Laptop ;)

As a self teached developer I am hungry to learn and play with new stuff all the time, like Docker, Apache Kafka, Rust and any cool stuff I came around in Twitter or other interesting places on the internet, dev.to is one of them recently.

I spent my time in OOP land, being a strong advocate of SOLID and Clean Code I really recommend for any Developer to read our Bible, The Pragmatic Programmer book, followed by the Clean Code book. This books changed the way a code forever and led me to creation of the Resource Design Pattern.

But recently I discovered a language with a huge potential on The Canary And The Caterpillar talk by Neil Crawford in this DevOps meetup around moving from Monolithic to Micro-Services architecture using Elixir.

So after reading the articles why Elixir and Why Elixir has Great Potential plus some more Youtube videos with real use cases of adopting it for massive and demanding projects I just got really hooked on it to the point of establish this learning path for Elixir.

Currently I am professionally working on the backend team that builds, in PHP7, the API's for the e-commerce Apps that we develop and maintain for some of the biggest UK retailers.

If you are curious to know more about me just visit exadra37.com or search in Google for my nickname.

Feel free to ask any question you may be wondering the answer for ;)

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Great to have you. We'd love love love more Elixir content if you'd like to submit some posts 😁

Collapse
 
exadra37 profile image
Paulo Renato

On the moment I am just learning Elixir, but I will be glad to contribute once I have something useful that I can share ;)

Collapse
 
niko profile image
Niko 👩🏾‍💻

I should really finish the Pragmatic Programmer and Clean Code, thanks for the reminder of how awesome they are. I love how excited you are about Elixir, I've been hearing buzz around it but as a super new dev I am not familiar with how it could be applied in web dev. I'd love to read some of what you think and you go deeper into it :).

Collapse
 
exadra37 profile image
Paulo Renato

That books are very important to understand the principles of writing solid and clean code.

For web developments is very well suited... see techworld.com/apps-wearables/how-e...

The Phoenix framework makes easy to start with web development in Elixir, see phoenixframework.org

Collapse
 
shakurlopes profile image
João Lopes

Hello,

I'm a developer, mostly doing things for web. I have a passion for robotics and AI. Been programming for almost 10 years and I worked from plain HTML, CSS and JS to ReactJS with Redux, Angular, PHP, Symfony, Laravel, Ruby on Rails, JAVA, on the web, you name it and 99% certain that at least a tutorial I did (get a life right? ahah).
On the mobile apps I developed for iOS using Obj-C.

Anybody here who love to try new languages and/or frameworks?

Collapse
 
andy profile image
Andy Zhao (he/him)

Definitely! Gonna get into Preact and some PWA stuff this weekend. If I'm feeling REALLY ambitious I might start some Kotlin stuff for mobile dev, but I think React Native is going to be a good start.

Collapse
 
shakurlopes profile image
João Lopes

Heard a lot of good things about React Native. And since I really enjoy ReactJS, I think that what they're saying is true! Also, React has a library for VR so I assume they want us to use React on every technology available xD

Collapse
 
nileshkadivar profile image
Nilesh Kadivar

Hi there!

We are start-ups and group of full stack developers.

We recently developed the Crowdfunding portal for a social cause- a Singapore based startup using MEAN stack and Neo4j-rare technology combination.

Going to Launch soon...

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Good luck!

Collapse
 
gameoverwill profile image
Wilfredo Pérez

Hello guys, I've worked with C# a lot, but since 3 years ago I moved to Javascript, node.js And mongoDB. Currently I'm learning IOS and Swift because I wanna create different stuff for mobile. Beside I'm a React/Redux Developer (I love React more than Angular but shhhh :D)

Also I'm looking for different project, to help a little bit on github, I'm not pretty smart but I'll be a great help. I think it's the best way to share, help and improve yours skills.

Currently I'm trying to achieve 100 days of code, but when you have a son and daughter is so difficult but not impossible.

Thank you guys!

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Good luck with the 100 days of code! Feel free to drop a post here and there on the site about your progress.

Collapse
 
stefandorresteijn profile image
Stefan Dorresteijn

Ello!

I'm a full stack engineer who mostly works with Ruby and JS. I've been making websites for a good 11 years now and am still surprised every day by the cool stuff we can do. I'm also an avid gamer and writer and have recently decided to start writing about web development!

Cheers,
Stefan

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Welcome, great first post.

Collapse
 
yashafromrussia profile image
Yasha Prikhodko

Hello everyone. I'm Yasha.

I like sushi, beer, BF1, long boarding, playing Pokemon Go... But above all, I like creating new things that I often think of. I started a company while still in university. Since then, I worked with many different clients. I most often use JavaScript (react, node) and Swift.

My goal for the next couple of years is to get more into machine learning. There are many complex problems that could be solved using ML.

Ah, also.. i've been wanting to start writing dev posts.. Maybe one day 🙏

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

What language do you think you'll explore machine learning in?

Collapse
 
yashafromrussia profile image
Yasha Prikhodko

Most likely Python. There are great frameworks/libraries for ML for Python (TensorFlow, PyTorch). But I'm yet to try out R. Looks fairly simple to jump into. Also, since Apple release Core ML for iOS and macOS, it might be worth while to integrate some ML features into apps.. There are many possibilities. But I think I'll start with Python 🐍

Collapse
 
krthr profile image
Wilson Tovar

Hi! I'm Wilson, from Colombia.

I'm studying Systems and Computational Engineering. I started in the world of code when i was 13 years old (now, i am 18 years old).

So, most of the time i program in ror. But 3 months ago, i started a project with a friend and we are using julia (it's amazing!) and python.

Soooo.... thanks!

Collapse
 
andy profile image
Andy Zhao (he/him)

Woah, what's Julia? Never heard of it before.

Also, welcome fellow Rubyist!

Collapse
 
krthr profile image
Wilson Tovar

Hey! Julia its an new programming language. Its so amazing. Its focused in maths and stats.