DEV Community

dev.to staff
dev.to staff

Posted on

Welcome Thread - v4

Hey there, welcome to dev.to!

WELCOME TO THE INTERNET

The last introduction thread got 200 comments! Stoked that y'all are introducing yourselves.😁

I'm going to leave some guidelines this time though, just to shake it up a bit:

  1. Reply to someone's comment, either with a question or just a hello. 👋

  2. Leave a comment below to introduce yourself to the community! You can talk about a project you've worked on, some advice for someone else (or your future self), or something that has helped you get where you are today.

Let's do it!

Top comments (256)

Collapse
 
mclovin01 profile image
Kyrollos • Edited

is this the new medium.com (the tech part)
also i'm amazed by how snappy the website is, love it

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Thank you!!

Collapse
 
brunocalmels profile image
Bruno Calmels

Hi everyone. This is Bruno, from Argentina. I couldn't agree more with Kyrollos. Is this the new Medium? We'll see...

The site's really snappy, that's true also.

Glad to be over here!

Collapse
 
geeksherif profile image
Sherif

I guess so

Collapse
 
bencehornyak profile image
Bence Hornyak

Hello

Collapse
 
matscode profile image
Michael Akanji

Same here... I really love this at first sight...

Collapse
 
deodesumitsingh profile image
Deode Sumit Singh

Hello

Collapse
 
billylb42 profile image
Billy Webb

Hi

Collapse
 
ffazar profile image
f

Me love too

Collapse
 
fuadisini profile image
Fuad

Hello everyone

Collapse
 
yu profile image
yu

hello.. i just found an amazing website..

Collapse
 
harshav33985081 profile image
HarshaVardhan N

hi

Collapse
 
n0tt7 profile image
n0tt

Hello everyone !

Collapse
 
ilyes495 profile image
Ilyes Baali

Hello all, I am ilyes from earth:), pleased to join this new platform. I'm a machine learning engineer, hope to learn and share with the community here :))

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Welcome!!

Collapse
 
palencia77 profile image
Jesús Palencia

creepy!

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Welcome everyone! If you have any questions about how to contribute, don't be afraid to ask.

One thing I'd suggest: If you're not sure what to write yourself, feel free to add questions to some of the posts. The authors usually love to answer these. It's kind of like a conference talk. Follow up questions about any of the material is a great part of it.

Collapse
 
wilmynmorillo profile image
Wilmyn J. Morillo

Hello Ben.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

😺

Collapse
 
raquelohashi profile image
Raquel Ohashi

hi :D

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Hi 👋

Collapse
 
undeveloper profile image
unDeveloper

Hi Ben! thanks for give us this new coven to share with the dev world.

Collapse
 
afnansolimann profile image
فونآآههّ

hi

Collapse
 
mangelsnc profile image
Miguel Ángel Sánchez Chordi

Hi!

Collapse
 
codeshifu profile image
Olushi Luqman O.

Hello

Collapse
 
ricna profile image
Ricna

Hello (y)

Collapse
 
philippemarcmeyer profile image
philippe Marc MEYER

OK thanks

Collapse
 
sptandi profile image
Saputro Andi P

Hello !

Collapse
 
thenerdsuperuser profile image
Parth Krishna

Hello World!

My name is Parth Krishna. Currently, I am learning how to google code solutions, and bug fixes(mostly segmentation faults), and get answers from stackoverflow[I am a second year CS student] :P

I came across this website as an advert on facebook, and I liked it. It's a really good project. I find it really useful because it's linked to your github account, so I can stalk people and their repositories both, side by side XD

My college course includes, data structures in C[I freaking hate those sigsegv errors], using python libraries to visualize datasets(Data Science), and some other. I'm trying to script many things using bash currenly[check my repositories], also, I'm learning Django on the sides[ wait until I create a website better than this @thepracticaldev ]

My advice to the current and future self - Stop procrastinating alreadys. You have so many things to do but your attitude is making you refrain. You have the potential. If someone can do it, YOU can do it too.

P.S. ask her out already man :3

Thanks for reading this.
Love from India.
Parth Krishna
parthkrishna1611@gmail.com

Collapse
 
dequaina profile image
dequaina

Hey Parth!

Great advice -- procrastination is a dream killer!

Good luck in building your skill set--seems like you're on the path to success.

In hiring for technical roles I see all sorts of motivated, hard workers come across my desk and I'm in awe of how much focus they have. Focus is key, and it kills procrastination. Good luck with everything!

Collapse
 
thenerdsuperuser profile image
Parth Krishna

Thanks a lot for all the wishes!
Please keep me guiding in the future also =D

Collapse
 
alexparker profile image
Alex Parker

Hello! I'm procrastinating something by writing this. Perhaps i should keep this short and get back to it :)

Collapse
 
njengafransis profile image
CarlyFrancis kamau

Hello,am also interested in tech issues. I study computer science online

Collapse
 
frhtcftc profile image
frhtcftc

Good for you Carly. Never give up

Collapse
 
ritchieeinstein profile image
Ritchie Einstein

Hello my Brothers and Sisters through 1's and 0's. I'm a masters in Computer Applications guy (Similar to Msc in Computer Science) from India. Finally landed in my first job close to 10 months back.

I've been writing code since 10 yrs old. But I learnt more in this 10 months more than what I learnt over the 14 years of education about programming. My love for Programming is now unquenchable. But couldn't find how to progress further or a place to stay updated and be like a real developer.

Finally found this community accidently in facebook. After reading first few posts itself I understood this the place I've been searching for.

Hope to share and learn more knowledge with all you people.

Ritchie Einstein
Programming is The Art. Programming Language is just a way to Express your Thoughts and Solutions.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Great to have you!

Collapse
 
christianhoward profile image
Christian Howard

Hi! I'm an aspiring software engineer looking to work with fullstack JavaScript.

I'm thinking about writing a tutorial based on my own experiences learning how to build a CRUD app using React/Redux and Node/Express. Would anyone be interested in that?

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Welcome Christian! Thanks for discovering dev.to

Collapse
 
rapone_gabriele profile image
Gabriele Rapone

🤚 That would be great!

Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

Hello! I'm Jess, one of the co-founders of this thing. My advice for current and future self: if you're stuck on a problem, go for a jog.

Collapse
 
iainmullan profile image
Iain Mullan

Hi Jess! I've just joined the community but been reading articles for a while now. I can totally relate to your advice! I find running somehow both frees and focusses the mind at the same time.

Cheers!
Iain

Collapse
 
uchetweets profile image
Uchenna Nwosu

Hello, I'm a late bloom beginner in C#, although I've had prior experience in Oracle 11G as a database administrator. I also have basic understanding of SQL and Linux (RedHat distr.).

Please holla at me if you've got tips for C# beginners. Counting on your support

Collapse
 
papey profile image
Jean Michel Functional Programming

hello !

Collapse
 
amrullah profile image
Amrullah Zunzunia • Edited

Hello, I am Amrullah. I am a software engineer with 4+ years of experience who has worked mostly on python (django framework). My key area of strength is Object Oriented Analysis and Design. I have the ability to write code that is easily modifiable and self-documenting. You may want to have a look at this small presentation I had created few months ago slideshare.net/AmrullahZunzunia/br.... I look forward to share my knowledge on this platform and learn a thing or two too.

Collapse
 
lyndaxj9 profile image
Omowumi Ademola

Hello everyone!! I'm Omowumi (Lynda) a recent college grad with a bachelors in computer science. I love learning and I'm currently working on a project in Python, a tea database and timer. Also trying to brush up my interviewing skills and read anything that will make me a better programmer!

Nice to be here!

Collapse
 
Sloan, the sloth mascot
Comment deleted
Collapse
 
lyndaxj9 profile image
Omowumi Ademola

Okay! Thanks for that, I'll get my hands on that book!

Collapse
 
saminjay profile image
Saminjay Goel

yo

Collapse
 
lyndaxj9 profile image
Omowumi Ademola

Hi!

Collapse
 
waterlink profile image
Alex Fedorov

Hey, everyone!

My name is Oleksii.

I’m a polyglot programmer and generalist. Currently, I focus on building clean web applications in Kotlin. Also, I work with React/Redux front-end applications lately.

My current side project is the new blog that I’m launching – iwillteachyoukotlin.com. Here I give out my Ultimate Kotlin Tutorial for free. The blog itself has a lot of contents coming up on how to build various applications in Kotlin: ranging from CLI apps to web apps and Android apps.

I’m writing a series of articles on Programming 101 With Kotlin, as well.

Here, on DEV.to community I’m going to write various content about Kotlin and, occasionally, about my personal development journey.

Thank you, ~Oleksii

Collapse
 
andy profile image
Andy Zhao (he/him)

Welcome, and awesome to have you here.

I'm thinking about doing more Android development; do you think it's worth learning Java or should I just jump straight into Kotlin?

Collapse
 
waterlink profile image
Alex Fedorov

Hey, Andy!

If you are already familiar with any other object-oriented programming language, you should be good to go with Kotlin. Notably, for Android, since it is now an official language for Android development.

If you obtain enough proficiency in Kotlin, you’ll be able to maintain older Java code, as well.

Collapse
 
domysee profile image
Dominik Weber • Edited

Hi, I'm Dominik.
I love the dev.to, the awesome blogposts and how friendly everyone is, and I'm excited to finally be a part of this community.
My main expertise is in C# and the .Net stack, and in Javascript.
Of course, I also do some database stuff when needed, but I guess every developer does, right?
My latest side project is ismydependencysafe.com.
I'm trying to contribute more to the developer community, both by writing blogposts, and also commenting with my thoughts to other ones.
So expect a blogpost about that side project to appear soon ;)

Collapse
 
andy profile image
Andy Zhao (he/him)

Welcome, and awesome side project! I've been learning a lot more security stuff than I ever thought I would. Stoked for your blog post :)

Collapse
 
domysee profile image
Dominik Weber

Thank you :)

I hope the blogpost will be finished at the start of next week :D

Collapse
 
topeojewale profile image
Tope Ojewale

Hi, I'm a trained Quantity Surveyor turned Software Developer.... I am passionate about using technology to solve problems logically. I love JavaScript and Angular.

This community has been a great help to me and I'll love to give back to the community

Collapse
 
Sloan, the sloth mascot
Comment deleted
Collapse
 
dramaticbean profile image
DramaticBean🇵🇹

Olá Laura,
Queria te perguntar se alguma vez trabalhaste com Laravel, eu ja fiz tutoriais de tanto Laravel como o Tour of Heroes do Angular e honestamente acho Laravel mais prático que Angular e queria saber a tua opinião.

Collapse
 
Sloan, the sloth mascot
Comment deleted
 
dramaticbean profile image
DramaticBean🇵🇹

No meu caso, eu prefiro o Laravel porque acho que tem uma organização dos ficheiros melhor que o Angular. O Angular tem tudo na mesma pasta (em principio deves poder alterar como quisseres) mas o Laravel já tem os ficheiros que correspondem ao CSS numa pasta, ao JS noutra pasta e assim por diante entre outras coisas , tambem permite criar bases de dados automaticamente e criar um sistema de login e recuperação da password predefenido. O meu curso foca-se tanto em backend como frontend por isso é que já experimentei os 2 e tenho esta opinião.