DEV Community

dev.to staff
dev.to staff

Posted on

Welcome Thread - v33

Hello there

Welcome!

  1. Leave a comment below to introduce yourself! You can talk about what brought you here, what you're learning, or just a fun fact about yourself.

  2. Reply to someone's comment, either with a question or just a hello. πŸ‘‹

Let's go!

Top comments (727)

Collapse
 
redlight55 profile image
Kashfil Aziz • Edited

Hi. Here mostly because of the great articles I've read on Dev.to. I'm learning (or re-learning C, C# and Web development languages (HTML, CSS, JS)) as I don't really have a clue to what I really want to do. Mostly thinking on the side of web development, game development or even embedded software. Such is life. Happy to be here though. Might find a clue to what I really want to do.

Collapse
 
vikashkuttuva profile image
Vikash Babu k.k

I too have similar thoughts running on my head ,hope joining this community will give me a better picture.

Collapse
 
wolfdebug profile image
Wolfdebug

This community is so cool, friends,you are good man.
I want to learn more here from you and he or she.Loops!!

Thread Thread
 
redlight55 profile image
Kashfil Aziz

I'll do my best in making something worthwhile!

Thread Thread
 
andziem347 profile image
Andzisi Mabaso

Great stuff! Hope we can learn a lot from each other.

Thread Thread
 
redlight55 profile image
Kashfil Aziz

Same here!

Thread Thread
 
directspeaker profile image
directspeaker

Same here, sharing is caring. I hope me too would learn a lot from here.

Regards.!

Collapse
 
redlight55 profile image
Kashfil Aziz

Aye. Here's to both of our journeys then. May we find what we want to do.

Collapse
 
5hel2l2y profile image
Sherry Yang

Welcome to the dev side.

Collapse
 
redlight55 profile image
Kashfil Aziz

Thanks. Glad to be here!

Collapse
 
donniefitz2 profile image
Don Fitzsimmons

Hi, Kashfil

C# and .Net Core for web development is a great place to be.

Collapse
 
redlight55 profile image
Kashfil Aziz

I'm looking forward to learning .Net Core since I've never touch it before.

Thread Thread
 
directspeaker profile image
directspeaker

Well, its good to know your interest in .Net. I know the intermediate level .Net. I hope we may get benefited from each other.
Regards.

Thread Thread
 
redlight55 profile image
Kashfil Aziz

Aye! Me too!

Collapse
 
aclopez9306 profile image
Alejandro Castillo L • Edited

Hi, I feel the same way, there are so many great stuffs out there that you don't know what to learn and where to start.

Collapse
 
redlight55 profile image
Kashfil Aziz

Exactly. I do have in mind a few projects that I really want to pursue but that would be the end goal of all things. Being a computer science grad, it's hard when you want to pursue the things you want to do and to find a career that you can really enjoy. Usually those two things rarely align but doesn't I'll stop pursuing my dream projects. I love coding. It just takes time for me really learn what the languages that I'm relearning are powerful for which is the idea I never pursued during my studies. Now getting involved with online communities (like you guys on Dev.to) makes it easier to have a - not an exact start - direction to where I should be heading towards to. Hope that we all can work together with a passion project we can all share!

Thread Thread
 
ahnee3773 profile image
Rachel Giles

The #codenewbie community is what made me get as far as I did with python. Its SUUUPER confusing (at least it was for me) trying to figure out what you don't know and where to start. This community seems rad, I'm glad I found this, hope you are finding it helpful too!

Thread Thread
 
redlight55 profile image
Kashfil Aziz

I've heard of codenewbie since I saw it on edX CS50. I've never listened to it but I'll give it a try. Most of the time it's always the pages on github explore that got me thinking what can I do to help people and if I can make something fun and interesting. And yeah, happy to be here!

Collapse
 
nyaedaley profile image
Daley nyae

I equally have the same thoughts, hope to learn through cooperation, what a great community

Collapse
 
redlight55 profile image
Kashfil Aziz

Same here. :D

Collapse
 
vladimirnikolic profile image
Vladimir Nikolic

welcome

Collapse
 
redlight55 profile image
Kashfil Aziz

Thanks!

Collapse
 
iamkiddy profile image
iamkiddy

nice

Collapse
 
vickie45 profile image
Vignesh S Nadar

Hello brother, same here!

Collapse
 
sixpeteunder profile image
pete

Nice to meet you.

Collapse
 
koskila profile image
Antti K. Koskela

Hi all, I'm Antti - excited to join the community!

I'm working on more enterprisey technology most of the time, programming in C# or TypeScript and running in Office 365 or Azure. But I guess the world needs corporate coders as well, and despite the stack I don't work in a cubicle farm :)

I work for a Finnish Canadian software company as a software engineer and escalation engineer, and while most of my daily work life has been abstracted away from writing code myself, it's still a part of my life. Once a programmer, always a programmer, I guess!

I already posted kind of an introductory post, here:
dev.to/koskila/hi-i-m-new-here-32o3

Really looking forward to interacting with y'all!

Collapse
 
tangweejieleslie profile image
Leslie Tang

Hi Antti! πŸ‘‹ I'm also new to the community!

I'm interested to hear how a typical working day in life sounds like. I guess being an undergrad, it didn't even occur to me that writing code would be abstracted away from a technical role.

" most of my daily work life has been abstracted away from writing code"

That's why when you say the above, it really piqued my curiosity!

Collapse
 
koskila profile image
Antti K. Koskela

Hey Leslie - I like that question!

Unfortunately, it's more boring and less technical than one would probably think :) Instead of writing most of the code myself, I communicate with stakeholders, collaborate on specifications and basicly just update and prioritize the backlog for the dev team in co-operation with other product owners.

Luckily, even in enterprisey dev teams, usually you don't have to drop programming if you don't want to! It's a huge blessing that roles in IT are typically fairly flexible.

Thread Thread
 
tangweejieleslie profile image
Leslie Tang

Thanks for sharing Antti! That provided me some insights πŸ˜„

Collapse
 
ballen2713 profile image
Bartholomew Allen

Hey I see you have some experience with Azure! I am curious to know if you happen to know any good resources to get started in learning about Azure? :D Thank you!

Collapse
 
koskila profile image
Antti K. Koskela

Hey Bartholomew!

Yeah, I've got some :) The way I got started was that my employer pushed me there - or rather, the market pulled, and I was happy to jump in. Luckily, both Microsoft and many 3rd parties have tons of content available on getting you started - edX and Microsoft Learn are both generally speaking free, Pluralsight might be the best paid option for courses.

Check out these examples:
medium.com/microsoftazure/5-micros...

edx.org/course/getting-started-azu...

Depending on your previous experience, you might want to jump straight into development (App Service or Azure Functions, for example). You can sign up for a free dev subscription on Azure, free developer tenant on Office 365 (if that's the way you want to go) and tools like Visual Studio Community and Visual Studio Code are also freely available for learning purposes!

See for example:
azure.microsoft.com/en-ca/free/

The corporate world might be all about expensive licenses, but at least Microsoft makes most tools available for development and learning purposes for free :)

Have fun!

Thread Thread
 
ballen2713 profile image
Bartholomew Allen

Thank you so much for the resources! I am excited just getting started with learning how Azure works! This will prove useful to me when I want to host my site using Azure :3. As far as experience I am a complete beginner in terms of Azure but I have played around with AWS a bit but never really set anything up to intensely but I wasn't as into it I was with Azure though.

Thread Thread
 
koskila profile image
Antti K. Koskela

My pleasure! Also, be aware that both performance and costwise some things are smart to host on Azure, some not - for example, a static site that's built from your source hosted on Azure DevOps or GitHub works well in a free/shared app service instance, a fancy modern webapp completely hosted on Azure Functions would be interesting and reasonably cost-effective, but hosting for example, a WordPress site is going to give you a questionable performance with above average cost, unless you spend a lot of time tweaking it... Been there, done that ;)

It's a rewarding journey, though - have fun!

Thread Thread
 
ballen2713 profile image
Bartholomew Allen

Well luckily I am coding my entire website from scratch using React for the front end so I should be fine plus I heard Azure plays well with React and NodeJs so it should be easy to deploy it when the times comes 😁

Thread Thread
 
koskila profile image
Antti K. Koskela

With that stack, you should be good. Have fun coding and be sure to blog about your findings! πŸ˜‰

Thread Thread
 
getsiful profile image
Siful Islam

Hi! My name is Siful. This is the first community I’m joining and I hope to be active for a long time.

Collapse
 
salsaproject profile image
salsa-project

Hi And Welcome :)

Collapse
 
koskila profile image
Antti K. Koskela

Thanks and you too! :)

Collapse
 
petesweet16 profile image
Krishna

Hello!

Collapse
 
koskila profile image
Antti K. Koskela

To you as well!

Collapse
 
andy profile image
Andy Zhao (he/him)

Welcome to dev.to! I'm currently learning more about GatsbyJS and static sites in general. They have great documentation, and make it easy to learn.

Collapse
 
tangweejieleslie profile image
Leslie Tang

Hi Andy! πŸ‘‹ I'm currently learning about Web Development in general. I'm curious to hear what makes you interested in learning about static sites in general, mainly because I never even thought about it when planning my learning.

Collapse
 
andy profile image
Andy Zhao (he/him)

Hey Leslie! Sorry just seeing this now. I'm started to make basic websites for people, and so far static sites seem to be a good pathway of quickly creating portfolio or basic websites. With Gatsby in particular, I wanted to level up my React skills and get up and running quickly.

If you're learning more about web development, I think it's always good to have a solid foundation of how HTML and CSS work. Personally I learned Ruby, then Rails, then Javascript, and then finally more about HTML and CSS (which is now), and I wish I had learned more HTML and CSS to start with.

Thread Thread
 
tangweejieleslie profile image
Leslie Tang

Hi Andy, thanks for the helpful advice!

Collapse
 
vitorreisdev profile image
Vitor Reis

Cool, I just created a personal blog with Gatsby and was super impressed by it. A really cool project indeed.

Welcome!

Collapse
 
rzzldzzldesign profile image
RZZL DZZL

Welcome, I can't wait to meet one of your robots :)

Collapse
 
internap627 profile image
Nkosi Phillip

Hi, what made you choose rails in the beginning?
Do you still use it. I am asking because I learnt it but these days I always reach for other tools.

Collapse
 
pmiguelmartins profile image
Pedro Miguel Martins • Edited

Hi ...

My name is Pedro Martins from Portugal

I’m a developer for the last 30 years ... but always have something to learn

At last a place for me ... sΓ³ excited

Thanks to every one

Pedro Martins

Collapse
 
kid_seven_7 profile image
Joseph

Hey Perdro. It's always nice to see that even with 30+ years of experience you know that you still have to learn. That's what I love about about programming (and tech in general) it never gets old- there is always something new :)

Collapse
 
vuild profile image
Vuild

OlΓ‘ Pedro,

Wow. 30yrs. πŸ‘

There are a bunch of old timers arriving around here lately.

Welcome.

Collapse
 
pmiguelmartins profile image
Pedro Miguel Martins

Thanks ....

Never to late to continue learning ...

Pedro Martins

Collapse
 
koskila profile image
Antti K. Koskela

Hey Pedro,

That's an impressive career! Which stack did you start with?

And welcome to the community!

Collapse
 
pmiguelmartins profile image
Pedro Miguel Martins

HI ....

I started with Basic ( old times ... ) then Pascal, Borland Pascal.. Delphi ... DotNet ... Angular and now VueJS

I'm getting old ... to many languages ...

Thanks

Collapse
 
ahmed8157 profile image
Ahmed Khalil

hi pedro

Collapse
 
notumar profile image
Baba Umar

Hi! My name is Umar. This is the first community I’m joining and I hope to be active for a long time. I am currently learning Javascript, Python C. Im trying to learn something everyday. I want to eventually program robots but web dev seems to be the best way to make money now. Hoping to learn a lot and one day contribute as well!

Collapse
 
robghchen profile image
Robert Chen

Hello Umar, programming robots is a neat goal. Keep on keeping on, you can do it!

Collapse
 
notumar profile image
Baba Umar

Oh wow. Just saw this. Thank you Robert. You’re very nice

Collapse
 
skyfly200 profile image
Skyler Fly-Wilson

Welcome, Umar!
Those are some of my favorite languages to work with. Good luck with learning robotics! I am sure if you work hard you will be able to find your place in the industry.

Collapse
 
couch3ater profile image
Connor Tangney • Edited

πŸ‘‹

Hi all! Not really certain what to call myself, but for the moment, I guess I'm a UI Developer. I have a background in data manipulation and workflow automation, and I love all things JavaScript, HTML, and CSS. I have also been known to dabble in Java, C#, and some other strongly typed languages.

My passion lies in crafting interfaces that allow users to navigate data intuitively but doing so in a way that is visually pleasing. There are few things more satisfying to me than efficiently breaking down a data-set into easily digestible chunks for the end user -- at least in the digital world!

I'm hoping to get a few posts up over the next few weeks, so until then!

Collapse
 
brandonburrus profile image
Brandon Burrus

Hi Connor! UI designer who can also write HTML, CSS, and Javascript? I was just talking to a recruiter the other day who said that more and more companies are looking for this kind of hybrid designer/developer, especially in the data science field. Programmers aren't exactly known for making state of the art interfaces πŸ˜…

Collapse
 
couch3ater profile image
Connor Tangney

Haha, ain't that the truth!

Now that we're starting to hand "big-data" back to the consumer, it's important to make sure that they can make sense of what they're seeing. Otherwise, is there really any benefit to giving it back?!

:)

Collapse
 
tangweejieleslie profile image
Leslie Tang

Hi Connor! πŸ‘‹

I'm definitely looking forward to your posts on crafting UI data dashboards! In fact, your post prompts me to start researching more on this topic.

Collapse
 
ballen2713 profile image
Bartholomew Allen

Howdy! I decided to make an account on this addicting site because I am here to enhance my knowledge on web development and become a Full Stack Developer one day. Right now the semester has ended and I am more than determined to finish my personal website that I started back in 2017! If anyone wants to give me tips and advice for how I should approach it anything will do! So far I am learning React, and hopefully one day I'll get back to using Angular for other projects! I also am looking into learning more about Microsoft Azure, AWS and Docker !

Collapse
 
operatorjcc profile image
Jake Cox 🍻

Hi Bartholomew, everything you said sounds great so far! Keep reading, keep learning and it will sink in before you know it! Microsoft has some great documentation now so be sure to check it out. Also find some tech podcasts you can listen to. It's amazing how much knowledge you can get just listening to other people talk shop.

Collapse
 
ballen2713 profile image
Bartholomew Allen

Thank you! I wish you luck on your journey as well and I definitely will be on the hunt for tech podcasts because I need to start listening to podcasts on my way to my internship and this summer to keep me up to date!

Collapse
 
bmorgan404 profile image
Beth Morgan

Hi everyone! My name is Beth, and I found this place through Twitter - some developers I follow use it so I thought, why not try it out?

I'm a final year Computer Science student in the UK, now in the last few weeks of my degree. I've been learning Java and JavaScript for about five years now and planning on learning what I can of Python over the summer. I also recently spent a year as part of my degree as a Junior Developer, working with Java and SQL.

I'm excited to join the community, and keep on learning!

Collapse
 
arhuman profile image
arhuman

Welcome !

Collapse
 
beckibloom profile image
beckibloom

Hi Beth! Glad you are here, I hope we can learn a thing or two here together!

Collapse
 
winsome_ade profile image
Ogunade Christopher Adekunle

Hi my name is Ade.
I'm a junior developer from Nigeria, my stack is HTML, CSS and Javascript. I'm super excited to be here!

Collapse
 
theisomorphic profile image
SATOSHI πŸ’¬

Hello! πŸ‘‹ Nice to meet you Ogunade!

Collapse
 
antdoesit profile image
Antoinette Mkwapatira

I spend most of my work day building websites using various LAMP stack and JavaScript frameworks. I primarily work on server-side support for websites, so if you can see it, click it, play it, drag it or drop it, I probably didn't build it.

I love technology, and I'll talk about literally anything.

I look forward to hearing from and learning from everyone here.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

I love technology, and I'll talk about literally anything

Yay! Great to have you!!

Collapse
 
austinratcliff profile image
Austin Ratcliff

so if you can see it, click it, play it, drag it or drop it, I probably didn't build it

πŸ˜‚ I love that!

Collapse
 
theisomorphic profile image
SATOSHI πŸ’¬

πŸ‘‹ Hello, everyone!

My name is Satoshi. I created a dev.to account because I wanted to share my custom React Hooks and how I built them. I just posted my first dev.to post about my useActivityMonitor hook. I would appreciate a read and any constructive feedback! You can also find me on Twitter at @theisomorphic. Thanks!

Collapse
 
noahsscott profile image
noahsscott • Edited

Hello dev.to'ers! My name is Noah, I'm a product designer based in Hong Kong with limited coding skills but looking to up my game! I have spent the last 7 years in tech consulting and have been working for myself and travelling for the past 2 years. I love to talk and write about UX and service design and I want to pick up more development skills to realise and experiment with my ideas. I've joined you to learn, stay inspired and have some fun with other aspiring devs and full-blown wizards.

Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

Great to have you here :)

Collapse
 
arhuman profile image
arhuman

Welcome!
Limits are temporary when you want to improve...

Collapse
 
phillipmalboeuf profile image
Phillip Malboeuf

Hello dev.to folks! I'm a freelance web developer from MontrΓ©al, Canada. Wrote this article about communication with your client, check it out if you're interested in that kind of work:) : dev.to/phillipmalboeuf/subtle-deve...

Collapse
 
cubiclebuddha profile image
Cubicle Buddha

Welcome! I enjoyed your article. I also write about the value of communication. It’s an underrated skill! :)

Collapse
 
chdeinert profile image
Christian Deinert

Hi All! πŸ‘‹

I'm Christian, a rather introverted (INFP-T) guy, currently working as FrontEnd Software Developer using mainly Node.js, React and Sass.
Like most here, I constantly learn new stuff and I love to take a look beyond the tellerrand now and then.

I'm here for inspiration what to try next, information about new stuff and to gather tips to proceed in my career 😬

A bit about where I come from:

Before I started my specialization towards the FrontEnd, was working for nearly 10 years as an 'Informatikkaufmann' (IT Management Assistant is the official translation I think) doing FullStack Development with PHP (60-70% of my time) while also doing IT-Administration and Support. During that time I also made my B.Sc. in Applied Computer Science in my free time...

Shortly after I finished my Bachelor went on and found the position I'm currently in (may 2016)... I guess there will be more to come but only time will show...

Collapse
 
cubiclebuddha profile image
Cubicle Buddha

Hi Christian. Welcome! And congrats on your new-ish in software. I'm also a NodeJS developer. I’m always curious what people are using within NodeJSβ€” what database are you using (mongo? PostgreSQL?)? And are you using regular JS or TypeScript?

Collapse
 
watzon profile image
Chris Watson

Hey there fellow devs. My name is Chris. I'm a full stack developer from Arizona (hoping to soon be in Argentina) that specializes in JavaScript and Ruby applications. Lately I have been focused on a language I doubt many of you have heard of called Crystal. I'll definitely be posting some articles about it 😊

Collapse
 
emanuelquerty profile image
Emanuel Inacio

Hey, Chris! I'm a full-stack developer from Arizona too. I work with Javascript, Python, PhP and NodeJS. I also build desktop apps with ElectronJS, a pretty cool Javascript Library for building desktop apps. I don't know if you've heard about it, but it's a rich yet simple Library. Check it sometime, maybe you might like it. Anyways, just glad to see a fellow developer from Arizona. Cheers and happy coding :)

Collapse
 
watzon profile image
Chris Watson

I have used electron a few times, it's pretty great. VS Code, which I use a lot for code editing, uses Electron actually. Feel free to PM me if you want to talk, it is nice to see another developer from AZ.

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.