DEV Community

Cover image for What was your win this week?
Jess Lee
Jess Lee

Posted on

What was your win this week?

⏪⏪⏪⏪⏪⏪

Looking back on your week -- what was something you're proud of?

All wins count -- big or small 🎉

Examples of 'wins' include:

  • Getting a promotion!
  • Starting a new project
  • Fixing a tricky bug
  • Cleaning your house...or whatever else that may spark joy 😄

Happy Friday!

Top comments (120)

Collapse
 
jenlooper profile image
Jen Looper

This week, I joined Microsoft!!

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

That's huge! Congrats!

aaww yeah gif

Collapse
 
jenlooper profile image
Jen Looper

thank you!!!

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Congrats!!!

Collapse
 
bureado profile image
José Miguel Parrella

Welcome!

Collapse
 
jrskerrett profile image
Jon S

Welcome aboard! Modern Apps?

Collapse
 
jenlooper profile image
Jen Looper

Cloud Advocacy as Lead for Canada/US/LATAM :)

Collapse
 
jamiekaren profile image
Jamie Ferrugiaro

Woooo congrats!!

Collapse
 
noelkoutlis profile image
Noel Koutlis

congrats!!

Collapse
 
aaronpowell profile image
Aaron Powell

Welcome to the team 😁

Collapse
 
chintukarthi profile image
Karthikeyan Dhanapal

congrats :)

Collapse
 
peter profile image
Peter Kim Frank

What a first day at work! Great meeting in person this week!

Collapse
 
speedmaster profile image
Speedmaster

Congrats!

Collapse
 
arteryxx_wdd profile image
patrick cook

Congratulations Jen! You definitely win!

Collapse
 
d1p profile image
Debashis Dip

Congratulations _^ keep us posted about your journey

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern • Edited

We've been making a lot of progress on dev.to lately and I noticed that we recently passed Product Hunt in traffic according to SimilarWeb

We don't need to define our success as a competition with anyone, but Product Hunt is a tech community we looked to along the way while getting started. So to see that graph is interesting!

Next up, Hacker News:

SimilarWeb is just an estimation, but in an apples to apples way I think it's somewhat accurate as a gauge on these kinds of things.

Collapse
 
vuild profile image
Vuild

Straight past.

Mark this comment.

Collapse
 
jackharner profile image
Jack Harner 🚀

Wow. What A Milstone! Good luck passing HN!

Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

This week, I...helped launch DEV Listings! It's felt like a much needed feature for the community and it's been awesome seeing people list all sorts of opportunities :)

Collapse
 
arteryxx_wdd profile image
patrick cook

Thx Jess, DEV_Listings is a great feature addition to DEV.to.

Collapse
 
stephencweiss profile image
Stephen Charles Weiss

Super excited about these! Already shared with our recruiting team!

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

This week, I got a new phone to replace my old broken one.

Annnnnnnd... I took a picture of my garden to share since I couldn't show y'all one in last week's wins session!

Collapse
 
jackharner profile image
Jack Harner 🚀

Nice! What do you have growing there?

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Let's see here...

3 tomatoes (2 Roma, 1 Cherry)
2 poblanos
2 jalapenos
2 bell peppers (1 yellow, 1 red)
2 eggplant
1 blackberry bush
1 blueberry bush

and from seed:

several butternut squash
several watermelon

... honestly, I might need to kick some of it outta the box before it's over with haha!

Thread Thread
 
jackharner profile image
Jack Harner 🚀

That's a crowded box for sure! Good luck!

Collapse
 
jamiekaren profile image
Jamie Ferrugiaro

Love it!!

Collapse
 
aschmelyun profile image
Andrew Schmelyun

I spot some peppers, nice!

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Indeed! Love the peppers. 🌶🌶🌶

Collapse
 
healeycodes profile image
Andrew Healey

Awesome garden 🌾🌱🌿.

Collapse
 
peter profile image
Peter Kim Frank

This week, I... went to my first big tech conference — Microsoft Build! It was great to hang with a bunch of DEV members, honestly too many to list out and @-mention here. But a special thank you to @bnb for helping make it possible for me and @aspittel to attend! 💛

Collapse
 
arteryxx_wdd profile image
patrick cook

Peter,
How was it? I've never been to a conference... Inspiring, empowering, you tell us!

Collapse
 
peter profile image
Peter Kim Frank

I was really surprised by the sheer scale of the conference. So many developers in one place. So much fanfare. And I gather that this isn't even at the high-end of spectacle (that would be something more like AWS re:Invent or Google I/O).

It was amazing to meet so many internet friends (Twitter and DEV contacts), and new friends while at the conference. Twitter is really a connective platform that adds a touch more permanence to fleeting in-person interactions.

It was inspiring to see how positive and excited people are, even about relatively niche products being offered by Microsoft or the Azure crowd. It reminds you that there are a ton of people out there quietly building and pushing projects and businesses forward using this wide array of technology.

And I really liked the AI demos, especially around visual recognition.

Collapse
 
jpychan profile image
Jenny Chan

This week, my Facebook group Women in Web Development reached 2000 members!

Collapse
 
jamiekaren profile image
Jamie Ferrugiaro

So rad! What’s the group?

Collapse
 
jpychan profile image
Jenny Chan

It's called Women in Web Development. Here's the link: facebook.com/groups/womenwebdev/

Please answer all pending questions to be approved.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Congrats!

Collapse
 
jackharner profile image
Jack Harner 🚀

This week, I made some serious headway on my first full React app I'm building. Plan is to be a no-nonsense color repo, a place for palettes, gradients, and other cool color things. Uses React on the frontend, Node/Express on the back, and MongoDB for storage.

Super Stoked!

Collapse
 
chandrasd profile image
Chandra Dasari

Hahahah love the straightforwardness. Is it open sourced?

Collapse
 
jackharner profile image
Jack Harner 🚀

Thanks! That's definitely what I'm shooting for.

re: opensource: Not yet. I haven't quite figured out the authentication side of the app yet, but it's definitely something that's going to get added to the GitHub portfolio once it's ready.

Collapse
 
stacy_cash profile image
Stacy Cashmore

This week, I gave first presentation in Dutch (I'm originally British) for my colleagues.

Mutilated the language (het spijt mij!), but was apparently understandable!

Collapse
 
namstel profile image
Namstel

Goed bezig! :)

I'm having a hard time presenting, let alone doing it in a language that's not native to me. Well done!

Collapse
 
jamiekaren profile image
Jamie Ferrugiaro

You are so brave! I’d be really nervous speaking in another language. Kudos to you!

Collapse
 
stacy_cash profile image
Stacy Cashmore

Thanks! It felt great to finally do, if a little scary! The upside is that it was for non technical people and my technical Dutch is awful, so I had to keep it simple!

Collapse
 
veslav3 profile image
Roy Honders

Dankjewel voor de moeite.

Collapse
 
leob profile image
leob • Edited

Goed gedaan! Goed bezig hoor :-)

Collapse
 
arteryxx_wdd profile image
patrick cook

My mother is native Dutch. I asked her to translate my LinkedIn, because, I'd love to work in Europe... I was unceremoniously rebuffed. De pijn is echt!

Collapse
 
brettimus profile image
Boots

blijf zo doorgaan!

Collapse
 
alexantra profile image
Alex Antra

This week, I...called someone out on some bad workplace behaviours and wasn’t murdered for it.

They wanted some work done but we weren’t in a position to help. And so they used a combination of name drops, company strategy, and contractual deadlines to bully me into trying to do it. So I pointed out that their behaviours were unacceptable in the workplace and that if someone made a bad decision at the top people shouldn’t just keep pushing shit down hill hoping everyone would fall into line.

They quickly apologised for their actions and we were able to work together on a solution

We talk a lot about mental health and healthy work life balance in my company so I felt confident that I could nip this one in the bud.

Collapse
 
nektro profile image
Meghan (she/her)

amazing job! thank you ❤❤

Collapse
 
jnschrag profile image
Jacque Schrag

This week, I spoke at my first meet up! I talked about code refactoring and my 3 guiding principles for how to approach it.

Collapse
 
drewtownchi profile image
Drew Town

This week, I started a blog and wrote 6 articles. I doubt I'll be able to keep up the pace but I'm loving it so far!

Collapse
 
alvaromontoro profile image
Alvaro Montoro

Link or it didn’t happen 😋

Collapse
 
drewtownchi profile image
Drew Town

Https://drewtown.dev. I'm still building out the functionality as I go along but it is getting there 😁

Thread Thread
 
alvaromontoro profile image
Alvaro Montoro

Are you using any platform or developing it from scratch?

Thread Thread
 
drewtownchi profile image
Drew Town

I'm using Gridsome for the static site generation and Netlify CMS. All of the frontend features I will develop. I have plans to create the archive, a more advanced search and a personal achievements/timeline dashboard so far.

Collapse
 
dylanesque profile image
Michael Caveney

This week I...

Went back to Andrew Mead's GraphQL course, which I previously crashed and burned HARD on during the intricate setup of Heroku/Pgadmin/Docker/Prisma. I got the setup working correctly this time, and got a solid grounding in Prisma and how much work it saves!

Collapse
 
kmintis profile image
kmintis

Hey, can you write steps for setup of Heroku/Pgadmin/Docker/Prisma. Thanks in advance.

Collapse
 
peoray profile image
Emmanuel Raymond

How do you like Mead's course?

Collapse
 
dylanesque profile image
Michael Caveney

I had great initial difficulty with the Prisma installation, but I think he's one of the best, if not the the best teacher on Udemy. This was the first time I started one of his courses with no real experience in the technology, and it definitely gave me a solid grounding in GrapqhQL and it's related technologies. Highly recommended!

Thread Thread
 
peoray profile image
Emmanuel Raymond

Thanks. Can't wait to get started. GraphQL has been on my todo list for a while now

Collapse
 
goodidea profile image
Joseph Thomas

This week, I... launched my first open-source NPM module! github.com/good-idea/use-shopify

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Awesome!

Collapse
 
desi profile image
Desi

This week, I built a silly webapp, and people have really seemed to like it!!

wwe wrestlers the new day dancing

Collapse
 
maxwell_dev profile image
Max Antonucci

This week (this very moment in fact), I am at UXPA Boston!