DEV Community

Cover image for Share the Love — What's your favorite post on DEV? (by someone else!)
Michael Tharrington
Michael Tharrington

Posted on • Updated on

Share the Love — What's your favorite post on DEV? (by someone else!)

Cover image credits ☝️ go to: Derick McKinney, GIF credits👇 go to AlwaysBeColoring!

Napoleon Dynamite dancing

I wanna hear from y'all about what your favorite all-time post on DEV is! Annnnd, please share a post written by someone other than yourself... 😅

By the way, you can embed a post into a comment by writing:

{% embed dev.to/username/name-of-post %}

Don't forget to give the author an @mention when ya share their work. Share the love! ❤️

Now, go dig through those reading lists and pick out something ya think is particularly awesome. 🙌

Top comments (40)

Collapse
 
moopet profile image
Ben Sinclair

Maybe not a single post, but a bite-size series:

tmux series by @waylonwalker

... which doesn't work with embed tags, apparently.

For a single post, perhaps this one, which is kinda meta:

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington • Edited

Wow, that is interesting that Waylon's post isn't embedding here. Will pass that one on over to the team and see if we can figure out what's up. Looks like a great series though!

And thank you for this! I'm gonna have to give @stereobooster's post a thorough read. Just skimmed through and this sounds really interesting. I know we've had DEV quality on the mind, so this might be really good food for thought!

Collapse
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev

Can you embed a series? I have never seen that?

Thread Thread
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Good question!

I assumed we could, but I was totally wrong because I found this feature request for it that we never acted on — looks it must've gotten lost during the shuffle where we decided to use GitHub Discussions for feature request.

That said, I've opened up a fresh request for this here! I definitely think it would be a cool thing for us to offer. 🙂

Thread Thread
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev • Edited

Awesome, glad to know I hadn't missed out on a feature I could have used (and knowing me, found some way to abuse 🤣) all this time.

Fingers crossed it gets added to the roadmap! 🤞

Edit: given the requests an upvote!

Collapse
 
renanfranca profile image
Renan Franca

That's not an easy task, I tried my best and only picked up 2 😅

This post from @inhuofficial helps me to understand some ground rules of this community and It helps me manage my expectations about the visibility my blog posts will have until my 35 blog post 😆

This lovely post from @avdev4j got me motivated to continue blogging even if my posts don't get read by a lot of people.

Collapse
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev

Thanks for including my article. Don't take it as a hard fast rule of 35 articles though 🤣

Hopefully there is some value in there!

Also thanks for the 4 tips link, never seen that so off to read it now!

Collapse
 
renanfranca profile image
Renan Franca

You are welcome😊!

Maybe 65 articles? 🤣 In the end no one knows 😄

Thread Thread
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev

Haha too true, if there was a true magic number it would be so much easier to keep going! lol!

Collapse
 
avdev4j profile image
Anthony Viard 🥑

Thank you so much @renanfranca to quote me here!
Continue blogging, for sure.

Collapse
 
renanfranca profile image
Renan Franca

You are welcome 😊

Collapse
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev • Edited

I have so many! However a recent one that truly blew my mind and I am still unpacking is:

It is not only impressive but so well explained, well formatted etc. A great article that needs some more love from @jh3y!

Oh and I really enjoyed this one from you (not pandering I promise!)!

I might have disagreed with some parts but it really did make me think long and hard on something I had not given any depth of thought to previously, I enjoyed the conversation in the comments etc. I love any piece that makes me think and question my own position on things so I consider it in the top 5 posts on DEV from a value perspective!

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

I really appreciate you included my posts here! 😀

And likewise, I appreciate the discussion with you in the comments section. You got me thinking a lot more about the cultural differences in language and how we should approach maintaining an inclusive environment carefully and empathetically with that in mind. So right back at ya, thanks for making think through this all more critically!

And as for the other post you suggested — this is so rad! To be clear, I'm not a developer, so while I can't speak to the code, I can say that I'm incredibly impressed by the final package. 📦

I think it would be really cool to allow someone to do a digital unboxing with something like this! Maybe a company with digital merch could package their stuff up in it... Maybe you could send someone an online gift wrapped up and the opener could enjoy digitally unwrapping it. Big fan here!

Collapse
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev • Edited

I really appreciate you included my posts here! 😀

As I said, your post was really important, the more we prod, poke an examine these things the more likely we will come up with solutions (or at least ideas) to improve these things and find that all important middle ground!

It more than deserved a place in this list and is a must read!

And as for the other post you suggested — this is so rad! To be clear, I'm not a developer, so while I can't speak to the code...

Haha I call myself a developer and I can't speak to the code either so there is no difference there 🤣. It is like magic!

I also appreciate the horrendous package pun...that is right up my alley and my type of humour (you got a real life groan out of me on that one! 🤣)

As always there are some gems that pass some people by, that was one that I really thought was at the very tip of the quality iceberg on DEV and deserved some more eyeballs and recognition!

Oh and thanks for his post too, I am enjoying reading some of the posts here as I haven't seen a lot of them so it is great they are being surfaced for people!

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ☕ • Edited

Oww.. good question.. I don't know 😵
Boom my brain

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

lol, fantastic GiF... and yeah, this one is a tough one. Picking just one favorite post is admittedly super hard, haha.

You could qualify it by saying "My favorite post today is..." or shoot, throw out your favorite top 3,5,10... 😀

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ☕
Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ☕
Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Classic! ✨ And Ali if you see this, hope you're doing well!

Collapse
 
highcenburg profile image
Vicente G. Reyes

brb...digging through my reading list...

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Awww yeah! Btw, how many posts you got in your list? I'm working with 207!

Collapse
 
highcenburg profile image
Vicente G. Reyes

I'm surprised. I have 605!

Here's my favorite! dev.to/jmfayard/20-lessons-i-ve-le...

Thread Thread
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Oh heck yeah! That one is amazing. 😀 I have that one bookmarked as well.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

I seriously enjoyed this awesome collection of music and synthesizer related reads, videos, and resources by @whykay:

There's just sooooo much cool music tech to geek out over in this post! I can tell that you put a lot of effort into this list, Kay, and I enjoyed the heck out of it. Thank you!

Collapse
 
algot profile image
AlgoT • Edited

The posts from two different nurses that took on a career change into dev, including how they overcame the challenges. Partner is in a similar situation and it's inspiring her to also break free from nursing:

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Very nice! Sounds like some cool posts.

Would ya mind dropping the links here if ya can find them so that I might check'em out?

You can even embed the post if ya want, using the following syntax:

{% embed dev.to/username/name-of-post %}

Collapse
 
algot profile image
AlgoT
Thread Thread
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Awesome! Thanks so much for this. 🙌

Thread Thread
 
algot profile image
AlgoT

Thanks to @amanda_peters12322 & @winnekes for sharing their journeys & motivating others in similar situations!

Thread Thread
 
amanda_peters12322 profile image
Amanda Peters

Thanks for the mention!!

@winnekes seems like we have a similar background! Would you want to connect sometime?

Collapse
 
turnerj profile image
James Turner

Probably this post:

I'm personally prefer very technical/advanced posts so randomly stumbling upon that gem of a post was great. They have several other posts equally as technical too which are worth reading.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Wow! This looks super thorough and awesome. I hope it wasn't as tiring to write as Frank's exasperated forehead-in-hand profile pic suggests. 😝

This does indeed look like a more technical/advanced series. I'm no dev, but when I see a topic like "Writing My Own Boot Loader" and tags like #assembler, #x86, and #c, I get the feeling that these are pretty close to the metal and would require more knowledge about the hardware than languages that would have abstracted away that sorta stuff. Please don't hesitate to correct if I'm wrong!

Anyway, thanks so much for sharing, James!

Side note: I've had a post of yours about Sitemaps in my reading list for ages (see it 👇 ). I have a particular interest in sitemaps because I understand their connection to SEO and: a) I'm forever battling spammers here on DEV and spammers are often motivated by trying to boost SEO for different companies' websites b) I'm interested in how cross-posting effects folks' SEO rankings. Anyway, I realize sitemaps are just a component of SEO and your intro post didn't go into SEO directly, but I still found this overview really helpful. I appreciate you writing this one!

Collapse
 
turnerj profile image
James Turner • Edited

I'm no dev, but when I see a topic like "Writing My Own Boot Loader" and tags like #assembler, #x86, and #c, I get the feeling that these are pretty close to the metal and would require more knowledge about the hardware than languages that would have abstracted away that sorta stuff.

You're pretty spot-on there - once you get that low level, you're dealing with some many tiny details of hardware. There's something I've always loved about that complexity and integration. As much as higher level languages help build business logic easier etc, there is this amazing problem solving puzzle occurring right underneath everything we build.

Anyway, I realize sitemaps are just a component of SEO and your intro post didn't go into SEO directly, but I still found this overview really helpful. I appreciate you writing this one!

Thanks mate - I really appreciate it!

SEO is a whole beast of a thing. You have search engines working hard to return relevant content and website admins trying to get their site's traffic by making their content relevant (or like you see with spammers, "relevant" clearly has a different meaning).

Unfortunately it seems one of the best tactics for relevancy is how many other sites consider it relevant by linking to it - that's where you see all that spam abuse. It kinda reminds me of this XKCD comic in that if we were "spammed" with relevant links, it really wouldn't be spam at all but actually useful content.

There is so much depth in SEO as so many things are signals to search engines that it is one of those things that you could never learn entirely - it is just way too big and changes in both major and minor ways too often.

If you ever want to run through some spam blocking ideas etc, let me know - happy to be a sounding board to try and make your life easier on that front.

Thread Thread
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

LOL, that XKCD comic has me rolling. 🤣

If you ever want to run through some spam blocking ideas etc, let me know - happy to be a sounding board to try and make your life easier on that front.

Awesome and just thanks so dang much! I will absolutely keep you in mind for this. 🙂

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern
Collapse
 
miguelmj profile image
MiguelMJ

There are a lot... These are 3 that I can read the title and already remember why I bookmarked them:

This one speaks from itself, I love reading software development myths being questioned.

Then, this is one of those posts that change your way of understanding and using a language you are just learning.

And the first one I ever bookmarked, that also changed my way to promote my open source projects.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Nice! These look like a great top 3 collection to highlight. 🙌

I was just reading through the Survivorship Bias one and it's seriously fascinating.

Thanks for sharing, Miguel!

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington • Edited

Haha, don't worry, I got you covered here:

#web3

A new kind of internet service that is built using decentralized blockchains.

And not an embed for this, but here's what that tag page looks like when filtered to /top/infinity. 🙌

Collapse
 
hiteshtech profile image
Hitesh Chauhan

Well, Don't know about someone else's post but my most engaged post was
dev.to/djackson/how-to-build-a-uni...

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Congrats!