DEV Community

Cover image for Yet Another Newsletter LOL: Blue Skies
Nick Taylor
Nick Taylor

Posted on • Originally published at buttondown.email

Yet Another Newsletter LOL: Blue Skies

Another week, another newsletter. Let’s get to it!

Around the Web

  • If you’re on Bluesky, I’m @nickyt.online. I’ve been enjoying the new social network, but it’s still early days. Kudos to the team working on it. Wes Bos created a nifty CLI tool for it using the new AT Protocol API. You can post to Bluesky, see your timeline etc.

  • Devon Govett recently mentioned the React Aria NumberField component on Twitter. It looks pretty awesome and reminds me I must build something with React Aria. New to React Aria? It’s a library of React Hooks that provides accessible UI primitives for your design system. Check it out!

  • I really enjoy Jack Herrington’s content, and he posted a banger of a video recently, How To Fix NextJS 13’s N+1 Problem. It was a great video, and I also discovered a new tool called oha! I recommend you check out both.

Fun Stuff

This cracked me up. Groan lol

Words of Wisdom for the Week

A reminder that we’re not productive 100% of the time and that’s OK. It ebbs and flows.

Shameless Plugs

This week I got to hang with Mike Hartington, Director of Developer Relations at Ionic. We built a basic app bootstrapping it with the Ionic CLI, demonstrating how you can leverage all your web dev skills and tools.

Remember to like and subscribe! 😎

On the stream, this week is a doubleheader. Todd Libby joins me to discuss Deceptive Patterns & the FAST framework, and then Kevin Ball, a.k.a. kball of JSParty fame joins me to discuss Coaching and Why It’s Helpful for Engineers.

Check out the full schedule so you can experience all the great guests!

I’ll be at Remix Conf on May 9th. If you’re there, don’t be shy and come say hi! I’ll also have some stickers and pins from Netlify!

I gave my GitHub profile a bit of a cleanup. Let me know what you think!

My GitHub profile page

Jobs

  • If you’re a fan of Next.js, check out the latest Who’s hiring thread in the Next.js GitHub discussions.

I post jobs in the iamdeveloper.com community, plus all other kinds of content, as do others. If you’re looking for another friendly nook of the internet, head to discord.iamdeveloper.com.

If you liked this newsletter, you can subscribe or if RSS is your jam, you can also subscribe via RSS.

Top comments (0)