DEV Community

Nick Taylor
Nick Taylor

Posted on

Yet Another Newsletter: Saying goodbye

This will be a short one. I've decided to shut down this newsletter. It's been fun gathering stuff I find interesting on a weekly basis, but it also takes time sometimes, and the newsletter hasn't really grown like I thought it would.

Having said that, I do want to thank all of you who have subscribed over the past couple of years.

It's not all doom and gloom, though. I'm going to be putting more of my energy into my live stream, nickyt.live if you weren't aware, as well as what, I think, might be a bit more unique in terms of a newsletter/video shorts, OneTipAWeek.com. I'm pretty busy with work and streaming atm, so not sure when I will start OneTipAWeek.com, but you are welcome to subscribe.

Thanks, peeps!

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
yjdoc2 profile image
YJDoc2

Hey, even if this hasn't grown as you'd expected, it was a great newsletter. I had fun reading this, and found out several cool things because of this. Thanks for doing this till now, and looking forward to other things you're working on ! :)

Collapse
 
fyodorio profile image
Fyodor

+1 🥲, thanks for the great content @nickytonline 👍 (not a big fan of video format, so gonna still watch you here dude 👀😄)

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Thanks for the kind words @fyodorio. It's gonna be a mix of both. The onetipaweek.com will be a newsletter with a one tip and there'll be video that is optional, i.e. just reading the tip should be good enough. Just going to try the dual format to see how it goes.

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Thanks @yjdoc2! That's good to know. Maybe I post things like the newsletter was doing but more as blog posts at some point.

Out of curiosity, did you read them on DEV always, or were you an email subscriber? It'd be good to know so I know where to target things.

Collapse
 
yjdoc2 profile image
YJDoc2

Hey, I would read them on DEV always, didn't subscribe to the email. No particular reason for this apart from that I already follow you on DEV, and didn't want to add another thing to my mail 😅

If you do start blog posts, that'd be great too, but don't spread yourself too thin. If you just do streams and stuff, that's fine too . Cheers , and take care 👍