DEV Community

Cover image for You can now web-monetize your DEV posts! (But don't get your hopes up too quickly)
Ben Halpern for The DEV Team

Posted on • Updated on

You can now web-monetize your DEV posts! (But don't get your hopes up too quickly)

...You won't make a lot of money right away with this new feature, but you can now enable web monetization by adding a "payment pointer" to your account.

👉 settings/misc to add a payment pointer

It's also in beta so there may be some kinks to work out.

Full details of how payment pointers in this other post...

I just wanted to mention how happy I am personally that we were able to ship functionality. It allows individual authors on DEV to get on board — right through their settings! As more Forems pop up, platform creators and individual members may be able to share in the pie. A lot of adoption has to happen for this to work out, but it's a future we're happy to be pushing.

Web monetization is not baked into browsers yet, but it may be sometime soon. Mozilla's support for Grant for the Web is cool to see. This could be an important part of content-driven web in the future.

I'm so excited about this collab! Immediately thought of you all when I met Coil in Amsterdam! I think adding web monetization to DEV is the perfect fit and incentive for authors!

Coil is the company principally behind web monetization. You can support web-monetized content creators by spending $5/month through their service.

Disclaimer: that's a Coil referral link.

Happy monetizing 🤑

Top comments (48)

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

web-monetization

By the way, this post is monetized with my pointer.... Show me the money 🤑

Collapse
 
victoria profile image
Victoria Drake

Collapse
 
andypiper profile image
Andy Piper

I realise this was a comment from an older post, but I just wanted to congratulate you for an excellent use of a Buffy GIF :-)

Collapse
 
mithil467 profile image
Mithil Poojary

Hey, I just added my pointer to the setting. But I see a different pointer in view page source. Can you explain to me why is that so?

Collapse
 
muhimen123 profile image
Muhimen

Encryption type something?

Collapse
 
spekulatius1984 profile image
Peter Thaleikis 🍪

Yeah, I noticed the same. I added mine and can't see it - instead some other pointer is displayed.

Collapse
 
mithil467 profile image
Mithil Poojary

I confirmed with Ben that it's being taken care of on server side. It would be changed shortly.

Collapse
 
dtinth profile image
Thai Pangsakulyanont • Edited

Just a small tip: You can use your domain name as a payment pointer by setting up a 302 redirect from /.well-known/pay to your real payment pointer, replacing $ with https://.

For people who use Netlify, here’s an example _redirects file that does this:

/.well-known/pay https://coil.xrptipbot.com/bUJCmmzwRWaC8FIx4jeppg 302
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

…and now my payment pointer is just $dt.in.th.

This has been spec’d in the Payment Pointers Spec, under the “Resolution” section and supported by Coil extension.

Collapse
 
potherca profile image
Ben Peachey

...and now my payment pointer is just $pother.ca

Freaking awesome! Great tip, thanks!

Collapse
 
ikumen profile image
ikumen

Is the contributor payment pointer working? All the post on DEV have the same payment pointer, I tried adding my own and nothing changed?

Collapse
 
jasmin profile image
Jasmin Virdi

Whoa!, Really excited to try this out!

Collapse
 
lauragift21 profile image
Gift Egwuenu

This is amazing! I've been putting aside adding this to my personal website for the longest time this just gave me that push.

Collapse
 
sergix profile image
Peyton McGinnis

Let's gooo 🙌 Just added it to my personal site as well!

Collapse
 
emma profile image
Emma Goto 🍙

This is super exciting! Keen to see the cents start rolling in 😎

Collapse
 
bhupesh profile image
Bhupesh Varshney 👾

🎉 🎉 🎉

DEV.to to ad companies

future

Collapse
 
peter profile image
Peter Kim Frank

Wow, I absolutely love this show. Good call.

Collapse
 
brodan profile image
Brodan

Yessss! Just added my payment pointer, time to get those fractional pennies!

Now I'm much more excited to get my latest post out! Thanks DEV team!

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Fractional pennies? I’m way past that phase, check out these whole pennies streaming in 😎

Collapse
 
turnerj profile image
James Turner

It would be interesting in the next few weeks to see some rough analytics for avg. $/view that a popular post gets. Then in the longer term, actually plotting that across months to see if there is a measure increase or trend.

Collapse
 
tallship profile image
Bradley D. Thornton • Edited

Hi Ben!

Hey wouldn't this be even more Neato if we could see the source that sent to the ledger network? Coil isn't the only stream of assets into my Uphold, but when it is, I would especially like to know which of my own properties that a Coil subscriber was visiting, so as to improve the focus of content creation on those platforms.

Suggestions?

Collapse
 
kokaneka profile image
kapeel kokane

Hey Ben, a small doubt about web monetization. Where does this money come from? If you could point to a doc which explains how the whole thing works.

Thread Thread
 
brodan profile image
Brodan

The money comes from other users/readers who use web monetization. As far as I know, Coil is the only payment service available right now, and costs $5/month.

DEV is actually hosting a hackathon right now centered around web monetization and the announcement post explains it all pretty well. Here's a link to it.

Collapse
 
waylonwalker profile image
Waylon Walker

😎 Cool to see DEV making steps forward to give back to the content creators on the site!

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Definitely. In the long run we really really want to position ourselves as an important, but small part of a much bigger ecosystem where value is broadly distributed.

Of course Forem does that on a community-by-community basis, but we want each community to have that relationship with their end users.

Hopefully this is just a little part of an ongoing journey to make this all happen.

Collapse
 
adnanbabakan profile image
Adnan Babakan (he/him)

Every time I hear about a new feature I get excited but as soon as I try to use it all the services block me because I'm from Iran. It is cruel. It wasn't my choice to be born here. :((((

Collapse
 
exenestecnico profile image
Ernesto

I feel your pain, I'm from Cuba.

Collapse
 
mohammedasker profile image
Mohammed Asker

Have you tried GateHub? It seems this platform is available to all regions.

Collapse
 
dudusray profile image
Kelvin Murithi

Lol. God gave you "da oiylo" dough.

Collapse
 
ishanty64052674 profile image
Ishant Yadav

Use VPN maybe

Collapse
 
adnanbabakan profile image
Adnan Babakan (he/him)

That is possible but they require me to verify my identity usin my passport :((((

Collapse
 
faenor profile image
faenor • Edited

@ben May there be a chance to also see brave rewards added?

Collapse
 
bernardbaker profile image
Bernard Baker

👋 everyone....

Ok. I'm not 💯% sure. But I'm smiling about this all the same.

I've added payment pointers to two sites and I've made $2.00. I'm enthused and excited. I highly recommend that everyone add a payment pointer to their profile. And write at least one article a week.

If you're not sure what to write about leave a comment on my topics I could write about discussion post.

I'll make sure I reply to every comment 🌞.

Collapse
 
hemant profile image
Hemant Joshi

Super Excited🦄🦄😼,
Thanks a lot to dev team and all the other Devian's to support and I am really happy for this even we would make a less amout or large but a lot of new Dev's will get attracted and our DevTo platform will get a massive boost and great opportunity to learn and earn!!

Thank you dev team,😼😼😼😼

Collapse
 
akhilpokle profile image
Akhil

This is so awesome, I am searching for a job and sharing what I learnt via dev posts, but understanding a topic, then breaking it down to understandable bits and designing animations for easier learning takes too much time, but this makes it all worth it and might earn a little while doing so !

It's a win-win !

Collapse
 
ferricoxide profile image
Thomas H Jones II

Sadly, the last few posts I made on Blogger didn't auto-replicate like the prior ones did. Dunno if the connection's perma-broke or if there was something in the Blogger markdown that rendered those most recent posts not ingestible by Dev. So, no earning capability. :(