DEV Community

Cover image for What are your favorite emojis, and what do they tell about you?
Jean-Michel 🕵🏻‍♂️ Fayard
Jean-Michel 🕵🏻‍♂️ Fayard

Posted on

What are your favorite emojis, and what do they tell about you?

To play this game, take a virtual screenshot of your iOS or Android or Mac or Whatever recently used emojis

Top comments (22)

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington • Edited

Here goes... these are my most used emojis for Slack:

A screenshot of the emojis I use the most in Slack. It includes classics like 🙌, 👍,💡, as well as custom emojis like Mario high-fiving Luigi, a cat dancing around, etc.

I have the typical ones for confirmation (👍,✔️), those that are for celebration (🙌), and some that are meant for good idea or 2nd that (💡,☝️).

No so sure what all this says about me personally, but I think it means that I'm generally positive and encouraging.

Collapse
 
jmfayard profile image
Jean-Michel 🕵🏻‍♂️ Fayard

Emojis never lie.
They absolutely tells that you are generally positive, encouraging and validating people.

Collapse
 
odifyltsaeb profile image
Alan • Edited

Lol. My most used emjoy - by far - is 👍. So what does it say about me.

Collapse
 
jmfayard profile image
Jean-Michel 🕵🏻‍♂️ Fayard

👍

Collapse
 
odifyltsaeb profile image
Alan

👍

Collapse
 
giulio profile image
Giulio "Joshi"

👍🏻

Collapse
 
odifyltsaeb profile image
Alan

👍

Thread Thread
 
toddpress profile image
Todd Pressley

👎

Collapse
 
jmfayard profile image
Jean-Michel 🕵🏻‍♂️ Fayard

What they tell about me

✍🏻 That's because I write a lot.

🐶👰 are for my dog and my wife, who would have guessed?

ε ⍺ The greek letters I use to say "Mes amiεs" instead of "Mes amis et mes amies"

🎸🎙️🎹💃 That's because I play music and dance

☕️💰📞📆 That's because I start my company and meet lot of people

🇫🇷🇪🇺🇮🇹🇩🇪🇬🇧🇨🇴🇯🇵 That's because I'm a polyglot and need to say which language I'm currently using. First world problem.

👏🏻🔝🤦🏻‍♂️🤔😱😊😎💯👻🚀 because emojis make my articles more fun. Thanks Japan for the emojis.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

🫡

I love that one, I'm not sure why.

Collapse
 
jmfayard profile image
Jean-Michel 🕵🏻‍♂️ Fayard

Maybe you don't want to be the CEO that always give the orders?
Role reversal 🫡

Collapse
 
ant_f_dev profile image
Anthony Fung

😁 is my most used one - probably because I want to let people know when I'm joking, as written text lacks intonation.

Collapse
 
jmfayard profile image
Jean-Michel 🕵🏻‍♂️ Fayard

😁 or because your jokes are bad

Collapse
 
ant_f_dev profile image
Anthony Fung

Could well be that too.

Oh - here's one: what's the difference between a bad joke and a room where everyone's walking out? None - both are silent after they're done.

...

ok - you might have point there 😁

Collapse
 
frankiefab100 profile image
Franklin Ohaegbulam

💯 - because I always keep it 100/100.

Collapse
 
caroline profile image
Caroline

💯 - there's just something about this one that works for most occasions!

Collapse
 
jmfayard profile image
Jean-Michel 🕵🏻‍♂️ Fayard

100%

Collapse
 
longmenzhitong profile image
longmenzhitong

Image description
This is my favourite. I use it when joking with someone. ; - )

Collapse
 
giulio profile image
Giulio "Joshi"

Removing hello and goodbye emoji, that are circumstantial, mine are:

  • 🤔
  • ☝️🧐
  • 😱 👀
  • ⚔️🔥

These ordered by usage frequency... I admit they represent a little recurring narrative.

Collapse
 
jmfayard profile image
Jean-Michel 🕵🏻‍♂️ Fayard

🤔 is the best conversation starter indeed :P

Collapse
 
toddpress profile image
Todd Pressley

capybara riding a tortoise

Collapse
 
flavius_the_0th profile image
Flavius

🗿