DEV Community πŸ‘©β€πŸ’»πŸ‘¨β€πŸ’»

DEV Community πŸ‘©β€πŸ’»πŸ‘¨β€πŸ’» is a community of 964,423 amazing developers

We're a place where coders share, stay up-to-date and grow their careers.

Create account Log in
Cover image for The ephemeral miniconf - The review
Tib
Tib

Posted on • Updated on

The ephemeral miniconf - The review

The ephemeral miniconf just ended, it was a real success πŸ˜€ and I want now to share my review of the event (like I did for TPRCiC 2021 and TPRCiC 2020)

Let's call it TEM 2021 then πŸ˜€ even if I promised it would be the first an last edition of this miniconf 😱

This review is of course a bit different from others since this time I attented, spoke, but most of all I was the organizer...πŸ’ͺ

Start of the miniconf

The miniconf started on time by a quick introduction that people would kill for (πŸ˜€).

I think I shared planning links, some "thanks" and few utils infos for the meeting ("remind me to record").

Final planning

(See it on the website if you prefer)

Date Title Speaker
18/11/2021 - 15h00 Keynote Thibault Duponchelle
18/11/2021 - 15h10 Native GitHub actions in Perl Juan JuliΓ‘n Merelo GuervΓ³s
18/11/2021 - 15h40 Do you really know XML? Thibault Duponchelle
18/11/2021 - 16h10 Automatic Observability JosΓ© JoaquΓ­n Atria
18/11/2021 - 16h40 Raku Quiz Group
18/11/2021 - 16h50 Open Food Facts StΓ©phane Gigandet
18/11/2021 - 17h20 Cunningham's Law: A Year of Being Wrong on the Internet Mark Gardner
18/11/2021 - 17h50 Perl Quiz Group
18/11/2021 - 18h00 LemonLDAP::NG ClΓ©ment Oudot
18/11/2021 - 18h30 Once Upon Perl Acronyms Thibault Duponchelle
18/11/2021 - 18h40 End Thibault Duponchelle

Native GitHub actions in Perl

Juan JuliΓ‘n Merelo GuervΓ³s presented maybe the more "Devops" talk of the miniconf (competing with JosΓ© JoaquΓ­n Atria) about GitHub actions and containers. Perl is originally probably the best tool for sysadmin and devops (because it's close to system, very UNIX oriented, easy to deal with processus and files...) and GitHub actions (or Orb or whatever) provide a fantastic facility (with perl always there) for continuous integration, continuous test and CD/CD.

JJ Merelo

I'm personally well versed in this area, but it has to be spread more generally in the Perl community (I see you @szabgab )

It was a very clean and professional talk, did I say we had only experienced speakers?

Do you really know XML?

This title probably makes you not dream that much but during the creation of an XML module for minification, I had to dig very deep in XML features and spec (and libxml2 code) to cover all cases.

This presentation requires you to know XML (who does not!) to look with me at "corner invalid syntax things" (nested comments, duplicate attribute...), security (Billion Laughs attack, XXE injections, Quadratic blowup...), "lesser known" XML features (xml::space, DTD default attribute).
Tib
Then I browsed all possible libxml2 parsed node types spending more time on the ones that are "mysterious" (because this is where is the fun actually) and finally talked about how do I managed (DWIM) XML minification.

Automatic Observability

JosΓ© JoaquΓ­n Atria came with a solid technical talk about Perl and NewRelic monitoring. His talk is built upon the creation of NewFangle::Agent which allows you to easily monitor deep Perl trace events in NewRelic.
Automatic Observability
As I said, very solid talk (he is experienced), I always enjoy native topics (I'm hanging out on #native channel on IRC πŸ˜€)

Raku Quiz

After these first great talks, there was a QUIZ or as we tend to call it "a Kahoot"!

Questions were about Raku, from really easy to some harder ones about Raku internals. It was fun...πŸ‘

Raku Quiz

And at the end, @sjn won:
Podium

Open Food Facts

As I said and repeat, Open Food Facts is a real Perl flagship. It's for me a model of successful Free Software project, and a very pragmatic one above all.

The project was presented by Stephane Gigandet:
Open Food Facts

Very good talk, this project is cool and looking for manpower! What are you waiting for?

Cunningham's Law: A Year of Being Wrong on the Internet

Mark Gardner kindly accepted to speak at The ephemeral miniconf and I thank him like every other speakers.

His talk was about some technical errors that have slipped into his numerous blog posts. Since he is a senior Perl programmer, these errors are traps (not language misunderstanding) and very interesting to analyze in a follow-up!

Being wrong

EDIT: I forgot to mention that while sharing his talk subject on twitter, Mark has got an hilarious answer from Ward Cunningham himself! 😳 😱

The ephemeral miniconf and Ward Cunningham

Perl Quiz

It was time for a second quiz!
Perl quiz

This time about Perl with more questions, and the podium was bitterly disputed πŸ˜€

This time, @mjgardner won! Congrats πŸŽ‰

LemonLDAP::NG

ClΓ©ment Oudot kindly accepted to present LemonLDAP::NG from which he is one of the main core maintainers.

His talks was very much appreciated and he presented a lot LDAP and "auth" concepts.

Clement LDAP

And guess what, he came with a ukulele and sang a LDAP song 😱
Ukulele
(I don't have the picture of him singing)

Here is the song lyrics:
Song

Once Upon Perl Acronyms

I prepared a second talk, this time more "fluffy". It was lightweight but worked well and people enjoyed πŸ˜€
Once Upon Perl Acronyms

And it was a nice way to conclude The ephemeral miniconf!

We then opened mics and put cameras on and talked briefly, then I said I was proud of what we achieved together.

And FWIW here is a well deserved GIF:
Camel GIF

Top comments (0)

🌚 Friends don't let friends browse without dark mode.

Sorry, it's true.