DEV Community

Cover image for Day 30. Old code
Kiolk
Kiolk

Posted on

Day 30. Old code

I saw some code that was relevant several years ago, but I'm not sure if I can run it now. A lot of things have happened since then. Perhaps our current code will look just as outdated in a decade.
Old code 

What I did:

I often think about displaying text with web content for comments and articles. I know of an open-source application that has the same functionality. It is OpenHub, a GitHub client that was popular before the release of the official app, after which it lost popularity. I found an interesting screen that was exactly what I was looking for. It was a library RichText. Unfortunately, It hasn't been  supported for several years. I started searching on Google again and found an interesting solution with a lot of stars. Cmpose-markdown has the functionality I was looking for. However, it doesn't support KMM, I should find solution for iOS separately. I quickly added rthe equired dependencies and checked how it looks for comments on an item. It looks good, and it has customization options and supports dark mode.
Comments
Additionally, I added a Stub composable to display on screens that aren't ready yet. I used a Lottie animation for this, and I'm planning to use it instead of a WebView.
Stub composable

What I will do:

If you want to join the project, just leave a comment here, or write a message in LinkedIn.

What help I'm looking for:

Designer (create design of application in Figma)
Android/KMM developer
Any other help related to the project.

My timeline:

Day 1. Deep breath and dive
Day 2. Networking layer.
Day 3. Loading of articles.
Day 4. ArticleItem.
Day 5. Localization.
Day 6. Work on Sunday.
Day 7. First week.
Day 8. Enjoying coding.
Day 9. Expect/actual.
Day 10. TODOs.
Day 11. Friday evening.
Day 12. Frustration.
Day 13. Blocker
Day 14. Monday
Day 15. Reactions
Day 16. Feed
Day 17. stringWithFormat
Day 18. Comment
Day 19. 1 percent
Day 20. A bit of progress
Day 21. Pagination
Day 22. Lottie animation
Day 23. Sorting of articles
Day 24. Step by step
Day 25. Broken endpoint?
Day 26. After party
Day 27. Burnout
Day 28. Opportunity for growth
Day 29. Hard work

See you tomorrow. 

Top comments (0)