DEV Community

dev.to staff
dev.to staff

Posted on

Welcome Thread - v34

Hello there

Welcome!

  1. Leave a comment below to introduce yourself! You can talk about what brought you here, what you're learning, or just a fun fact about yourself.

  2. Reply to someone's comment, either with a question or just a hello. πŸ‘‹

Great to have you in the community!

Top comments (796)

Collapse
 
francoscarpa profile image
Franco Scarpa

Hi all. My name is Franco and I'm from Italy. I love coding, and not by chance I have a Bachelor's degree in Computer Science. My biggest passion is web development. I love HTML, CSS, JavaScript and web performance. Every time I build something for the web I ask myself: Β«How can I made it better and faster?Β».

Collapse
 
ryanzurrin profile image
Ryan Zurrin

Hey Franco Nice to meet you, I am new here and was just noticing that you had a CS degree. I am in the process of getting my CS degree but I am just starting out so I am really new to things, unfortunately. If you don't mind me asking, do you think the degree has helped your success in the industry a lot or not so much?

Collapse
 
francoscarpa profile image
Franco Scarpa

Hi Ryan, nice to meet you! Getting the degree has helped me a lot, since I was able to learn very difficult things that are fundamental for the field of CS. If you have any other question doesn't hesitate to ask!

Collapse
 
jorshman profile image
Jesse Orshan

Welcome!

Thread Thread
 
ryanzurrin profile image
Ryan Zurrin

Thanks Jesse, looking forward to meeting people.

Collapse
 
francoscarpa profile image
Franco Scarpa

Some days ago I published an article that try to answer the question if it does make sense to take a degree in a Computer Science major. I wrote down my experience and points of view. Ryan, I warmly invite you to read it! francoscarpa.com/articles/degree/

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

How can I made it better and faster?

Good mantra to have πŸ™‚

Collapse
 
ceciljs profile image
Cecil Jones

Yes. I love refactoring my code to ensure it's as DRY as it can be. Performance optimisation is key. :)

Collapse
 
francoscarpa profile image
Franco Scarpa

I just want to let people have the possibility to enjoy the best experince possible.

Collapse
 
highcenburg profile image
Vicente G. Reyes

Welcome Franco!

Collapse
 
inkerinmaa profile image
Nikita Gladkiy

Hello, Franco! πŸ‘‹

Collapse
 
wolfhoundjesse profile image
Jesse M. Holmes

Welcome, Franco!

Collapse
 
j3698 profile image
Anti

Hey Franco, what resource would you recommend most for learning about web performance?

Collapse
 
francoscarpa profile image
Franco Scarpa

Check out web.dev, Google’s Why Performance Matters and Jeremy Wagner’s Web Performance in Action.

Collapse
 
francoscarpa profile image
Franco Scarpa

As soon as I come back home, I’ll show you my personal resources ;)

Collapse
 
paras700 profile image
Paras700

Hi Franco

Collapse
 
tarun1401 profile image
tarun1401

Hello Franco how are u. See your Post. U are a great web developer but keep tight for it, it will take some time to make perfect into web designing.
Join me I will help u :)

Collapse
 
francoscarpa profile image
Franco Scarpa

I'm not absolutely perfect, I've so, so much to learn :) Coding is a never ending journey.

Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

Welcome!!

Collapse
 
rahulsavage12 profile image
rahulsavage12

Hello

Collapse
 
jaimin1224 profile image
Jaimin Marfatia

Welcome, Franco!

Collapse
 
smartym profile image
Sergey V.

Hello, nice to meet you!

Collapse
 
brightestdazes profile image
brightest-dazes

Hi Franco nice to meet you. I'm super excited about new experiences.

Collapse
 
renanlbl profile image
renanlbl

welcome my big brother

Collapse
 
antoneb profile image
AntoneB

The secret to making it faster?
Code it in assembly!

Collapse
 
francoscarpa profile image
Franco Scarpa

No, code it in machine language: 0011011010111011... 😁

Thread Thread
 
0zand1z profile image
Ganesh Prasad Kumble

Benvenuto, Franco!

Given you are a web developer, might I take the privilege of introducing you to WebAssembly? :)

Given your mantra, here's a blog post that might be worth a read: cliffle.com/blog/bare-metal-wasm/

Happy hacking!

Thread Thread
 
francoscarpa profile image
Franco Scarpa

Thanks, Ganesh! Well, I read something about WebAssembly some months ago and I found it really interesting. However, I’ve never deepen my knowledge about it. I’ll surely read the article you linked! You can absolutely introduce me to WebAssembly. 😊

Collapse
 
antoneb profile image
AntoneB

Djikstra did nothing wrong.

Collapse
 
gonzalolanderos profile image
Gonzalo Landeros Valerdi

Nice to meet you Franco!

Collapse
 
kyngo profile image
Arnau Martin

Hello! :D

Collapse
 
oramirezperera profile image
orlando ramirez

Hi Franco! is awesome that you love coding too, hope you will get better and better in web development. one question, do you know backend too?. Greetings from Venezuela.

Collapse
 
francoscarpa profile image
Franco Scarpa

Hi, Orlando! No, I’m sorry, I have knowledge only about front-end web development. Have a nice day!

Collapse
 
nanythery profile image
Nadine M. ThΓͺry

Hi all! At this point, I might have already bored everyone hehehe. As many of devs here, I am going through an intense learning process.
I am 31 years old and decided to give up my job to really focus on conversion and become a front-end developer asap.
I am not quite sure how I came across Dev.to but I know I just fell in love of it. I felt like this was the right social network to be. Since it is not just for questions nor to show off projects or look for a job like Linkedin. It feels like a secure place to learn and share within the developer's community. A really nice and welcoming place. Thank you :D

Collapse
 
ryanzurrin profile image
Ryan Zurrin

Hi Nadine, I am new to the community and I just wanted to say I can fully relate to the struggle and how difficult it can be to learn new concepts and ideas. I am 37 myself and after 20 years of house, painting decided I wanted to go to school and pursue my original adolescent passion, computers. So just wanted to say I can relate and wanted to say thanks for sharing.

Collapse
 
nanythery profile image
Nadine M. ThΓͺry

It is so brave to take this decision after so many years focused in a profession! Congratulations for taking the step forward. I am here to cheer you up too hehe

Collapse
 
wolfhoundjesse profile image
Jesse M. Holmes

Welcome, Nadine! Your commitment is inspiring, and I can't wait to see where it takes you!

Also, I've been meaning to ask you about the hashtag in your Twitter bio, #CodeGrils. πŸ˜„

Collapse
 
nanythery profile image
Nadine M. ThΓͺry

Grills have the right to code too! If they had hands... Hahahhaa

I will correct it right away thank you!

Thread Thread
 
wolfhoundjesse profile image
Jesse M. Holmes

I didn't want to mention it here for everyone to see, but you can't have DMs open because so many people on the internet are nitwits. It's the second time I've had to face this conundrum in a week's time. I suppose there could be worse problems to have!

Thread Thread
 
nanythery profile image
Nadine M. ThΓͺry

Sorry Jesse, I don't fully understand your message about the DMs. Lost in translation I am afraid.
I have corrected the #.

Thread Thread
 
wolfhoundjesse profile image
Jesse M. Holmes

No worries!

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Welcome to DEV!

Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

Great to have you here, Nadine!

Collapse
 
nanythery profile image
Nadine M. ThΓͺry

My pleasure

Collapse
 
cathyobrien09 profile image
Cathy O’Brien

I'm a fellow career changer 2.5 years after making the switch! While scary and overwhelming at times it has been totally worth it and communities like this make it even better!

Collapse
 
demarisb profile image
DemarisB

Hi Nadine! I agree, after searching different articles on dev.to I felt comfortable to join too. A great place to learn and share ideas.

Collapse
 
nanythery profile image
Nadine M. ThΓͺry

Definitely, it feels good to have people to share :)

Collapse
 
highcenburg profile image
Vicente G. Reyes

Welcome to DEV!

Collapse
 
nanythery profile image
Nadine M. ThΓͺry

:)

Collapse
 
jakekring profile image
jake kring

Congrats on deciding to focus on front-end dev! Coding is such a fulfilling livelihood, and now is a super exciting time to learn (especially in the world of JS). πŸ† πŸ†

Collapse
 
bradwellsb profile image
Bradley Wells

Hey all,
My academic background is electrical engineering and software development. My passions are empowering people through technology. I live in Senegal, West Africa, where I work to foster entrepreneurialism among underemployed youth.

I am also a C# enthusiast. As a side hustle, I am working on developing a curriculum to teach computer programming here in Senegal. My friends here have a lot of great ideas, and I am hoping this curriculum will empower them to bring their ideas to fruition.

If you are interested, I regularly write C# tutorials at wellsb.com. You can also follow me on Twitter @bradwellsb

Collapse
 
devencourt profile image
Brian Bethencourt

Glad to have you here, Bradley. Feel free to get involved in C# articles on the site and share your knowledge with the community.

Collapse
 
ctg123 profile image
Chaance T. Graves

Hi Bradley,

Great to see a fellow EE here! I am inspired to learn more about your venture. All the best.

-Chaance

Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

Great to have you!

Collapse
 
wildeng profile image
Alain Mauri

Hiya all! I’m Alain from Italy. I’m a proud dad and guitar player that become a dev because of a C64. Currently I’m in Sheffield - UK working as a web team leader at TheFloow. I’m still eager to learn new stuff and to give back to dev community what I received during all these years.

Collapse
 
stuartclennett profile image
Stuart Clennett

Hello Alain,

Welcome. I'm only a few miles up the road from you in East Yorkshire. I grew into my C64 from my ZX81. Although only a novice player, I do pick up my guitar for a few minutes whenever I need a mental break from coding.

Collapse
 
wildeng profile image
Alain Mauri

Hi Stuart! Nice to know! Any nice meetup to suggest? When this will be over I really hope to go back to the Dev-ops and Ruby ones in Sheffield

Thread Thread
 
stuartclennett profile image
Stuart Clennett

Hi Alain, no sorry, I don't tend to go to meetups etc.

Hoping you remain safe & well.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

A fellow guitar player, nice! 🎸

What type of music you like playing?

Collapse
 
wildeng profile image
Alain Mauri

I'm so bad at replying to comments... anyway mostly blues and rock-blues

Thread Thread
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington • Edited

Same here music-wise! Blues is the way to go. 😎

Thread Thread
 
wildeng profile image
Alain Mauri

I brought here just a couple of my guitars, an 82 Made in Japan Fender Strat and a Yamaha APX 6.

Thread Thread
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington • Edited

OOooo nice guitar selection there! I mostly play my acoustic electric (a Washburn) right now and sing a lot.

In fact, my band just recently posted a video of us from our first show if ya are interested. I don't play my guitar that much in this one, haha, but our lead guitarist is awesome!

Thread Thread
 
wildeng profile image
Alain Mauri

Cool video!

Collapse
 
alexcooperdev profile image
Alex Cooper

I have been trying to get back into playing the guitar, but I don't have a ton of time to devote to practicing. What style of music do you play?

And it's awesome that you became a dev because of C64! I grew up on fairly new technology, but I have a passion for old computers. I'd love to pick up a C64, Apple II, or anything like that!

Collapse
 
wildeng profile image
Alain Mauri

C64 was awesome at that time. I still have my original ( working ) one in Italy. Probably I will buy the replica they recently put out on the market, just to give my kids a glimpse on 80s IT

Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

Nice! We also have a guitar player on the team, @michaeltharrington 🎢

Collapse
 
dezfowler profile image
Derek Fowler

Similar story here. Loved writing "databases" on the C64. Two small children myself so not much time for the guitar any more.

Collapse
 
raxath profile image
Raxath

Total newbie here. Actually found this site thanks to the google app in the pixel launcher. Pointed me to an article and here I am. I'm looking to transition into a career in web design.

Collapse
 
nanythery profile image
Nadine M. ThΓͺry

Hi there! Nice to hear you are also in a career transition. I am going through the same :D

Collapse
 
raxath profile image
Raxath

It's refreshing to hear I'm not alone in that! From the looks of it you've made a lot of progress in a little time. Which gives me hope.

Thread Thread
 
nanythery profile image
Nadine M. ThΓͺry

Sure! If you put time in it, you will improve super fast. However your perception won't be that hahaha

Collapse
 
devencourt profile image
Brian Bethencourt

Welcome to DEV. We have a lot of resources and articles on web design available, so I hope you find everything you're looking for.

Collapse
 
wolfhoundjesse profile image
Jesse M. Holmes

Welcome! You've come to the right place. :)

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

You came to the right place! Folks are generally super friendly and there's lots of beginner-friendly content as well!

Collapse
 
lalucilyn profile image
Lucilyn W.

Hello there!
Welcome!! I've also been going through a career transition for the last 1 1/2 years. Wishing you all the best!

Collapse
 
casualcloud profile image
BalΓ‘zs Nagy • Edited

Hey Raxath!

Just like many others it seems, I'm also here to transition into a different career path - good luck to both of us!

Collapse
 
emma profile image
Emma Goto πŸ™

Hi, I'm Emma!

I currently work full-time as a front-end dev. I'm here to learn new things and improve my blogging skills.

I also have created a habit tracking Trello Power-Up called Streak - if you have any feature suggestions/critiques please let me know!

Collapse
 
real_ate profile image
Chris Manson

Hi! I'm here to also improve my blogging skills so hopefully we'll both be experts by the end of the year πŸ’ͺ

I took a look at Streak and it looks awesome πŸŽ‰ I've always been fascinated about using things like Trello instead of classic full-blown apps, and this is a really neat application of that idea!

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Welcome!

Feel free to make a #showdev post about Streak 😊

Collapse
 
emma profile image
Emma Goto πŸ™

Thanks Ben! Finally got around to it: dev.to/emma/streak-habit-tracker-f...

Collapse
 
chetan_ profile image
chetan venkatesh • Edited

Hi All, My name is Chetan and I'm from sunny California

I'm an engineer turned company operations guy and I started Macrometa 2 years back with my cofounder Durga Gokina to create a new geo-distributed cloud that runs your apps and data across a network of data centers closer to your end users. So instead of your App or API having a single lonely backend thousands of miles and hundreds of milliseconds away from your clients, browsers, and devices, our cloud puts the database and server-side code 10-20 milliseconds away by distributing, synchronizing and orchestrating your data worldwide.

Macrometa is a CRDT database - it uses some new database techniques like Conflict Free Replicated Data Types, logical time keeping and Convergence (instead of consensus) to help provide strong consistency gaurnatees across very large network distances and latencies. It allows you to have local read write latencies - yet synchronizes accurately and deterministically.

Learn more at macrometa.co/macrometa-in-2

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Welcome!

Collapse
 
peter profile image
Peter Kim Frank

Macrometa is fascinating, I'll admit to not even realizing such a set-up is possible. Look forward to learning more, and welcome!

Collapse
 
chetan_ profile image
chetan venkatesh

Thanks Peter for the warm words - I appreciate it.

If you have interest in some code - here's a repl of doing some things like creating a DB that runs across LA, Virginia, Frankfurt and Mumbai India

the code does some inserting and querying. There is a geo loadbalancer in front of this makes sure you are routed to the closest database location based on where you are making the request from.

Repl.it here --> repl.it/@ChetanVenkatesh/Programmi...

Docs - dev.macrometa.co

Let me know if you have any questions of feedback

Collapse
 
skyebrownh profile image
Skye Brown

Hey everyone! My name is Skye, and I'm an upcoming junior in college studying Computer Science. This summer I have a web development internship with a local tech company that is challenging and improving my skills every day! I'm here because I see a lot of DEV.to articles on my twitter feed and decided to join the community!

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Good luck with your internship! Don't be shy about using the #help tag to seek answers from the community if you're stuck on anything.

Collapse
 
skyebrownh profile image
Skye Brown

Thanks! This seems like a great community to be a part of so I definitely will use it to my advantage.

Collapse
 
thefern profile image
Fernando B πŸš€

Welcome to the community! Would love to hear from you how the internship went. Maybe an article idea for later πŸ™‚

Collapse
 
skyebrownh profile image
Skye Brown

It's going great right now! Maybe I will write about it at some point...

Collapse
 
arielbear99 profile image
Ariel Costa

hi friends! i'm ariel, working as a "full-stack" (but primarily focused on back-end and sql) developer at a startup in orlando for just under two years. i worked for nearly a decade in hospitality (bs in hospitality management from ucf), before finally realizing that my mom (software engineer at boeing) was correct - my brain was made to write code. so here i am. looking to have interesting conversations and learn a bit, too. ✌🏼

Collapse
 
avalander profile image
Avalander

Welcome Ariel!

I hope you'll have a great time here, you'll find plenty of content and a lot of interesting discussions. May I suggest that you browse around the discuss tag if you haven't already?

Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

Awesome! How did you end up learning to code?

Collapse
 
arielbear99 profile image
Ariel Costa

i'd been dabbling for many years, but ultimately attended a 6 week coding bootcamp to really dig in and learn enough to confidently apply for jobs and build fully functional web apps. best decision i've ever made!

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

my brain was made to write code

you'll fit in well here

Collapse
 
joshrod profile image
Joshua Rodriguez

Hey everyone,

My name's Josh and I just landed a frontend developer job a couple months ago at an advertising agency.

I'm solid in HTML and CSS, but my JavaScript is lacking, knowing only enough to make simple web animations.

My skills are good enough for my job, but I want to keep learning more technologies (I think my next step is learning React?) so that I can become a better developer and contribute more to this company or another in the future.

Been a lurker for a while, but decided to finally join this great community.

Cheers!

Collapse
 
peter profile image
Peter Kim Frank

Been a lurker for a while, but decided to finally join this great community.

Very happy to have you here.

My skills are good enough for my job, but I want to keep learning more

This is an admirable goal and attitude. Look forward to seeing you around the site.

Collapse
 
highcenburg profile image
Vicente G. Reyes

Same! I lurked for a month or two before posting. Welcome to DEV!

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Great to have you Josh!

Collapse
 
cirediatpl profile image
Peter H • Edited

Hi all! My name is Peter and I'm from South Korea, Texas, and Illinois. I studied Economics at Yale and will be working in consulting in Washington, D.C. come this fall. I am excited about web development and data science, particularly in its applications for government tech! I love Ruby (and bare with Python)!

I want to build things that give more power to more people!

Collapse
 
peter profile image
Peter Kim Frank

power to more people!

Yes! We are open-source and are definitely excited about finding ways to give power to the people. You might enjoy this post from yesterday.

From one Peter to another, welcome! :D

Collapse
 
dance2die profile image
Sung M. Kim

Hiya Peter, welcome to dev.to ^o/ πŸ‘‹

There are many folks (web or other kinds of) development.
You can subscribe to #Ruby & #Python to learn & share πŸ˜€

Collapse
 
mcsh profile image
Sajjad Heydari

Hi! My name is Sajjad, I'm from Iran. I enjoy coding and theory, and I love free software. I have a Bachelor's degree in Computer Science and I'm starting a Master degree in the same field. I love hacking together chatbots and I've created a lot of them!

Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

Very cool - welcome!

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Show the community those chatbots!

Collapse
 
mcsh profile image
Sajjad Heydari

They are in my native language (Farsi) and are published on Telegram, where would it be appropriate to share them?

Thread Thread
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Maybe share some info about the making of, to help others make?

Thread Thread
 
mcsh profile image
Sajjad Heydari

Sounds great, I'll get to it once I found my way around

Collapse
 
alexo382 profile image
Alex O • Edited

What is actually up, everyone! My name is Alex and I'm from Romania (east Europe). I'm mainly a frontend developer (2yr experience) but I've dabbled in building APIs with Express and stuff like that. After a 14 month hiatus from development due to personal stuff here I find myself re-learning and discovering a lot of new things. It's pretty exciting but daunting at the same time.

I just discovered this site a couple of weeks ago after searching something I don't remember on google. Been browsing almost daily since so I thought that I might as well create an account :D

I'm currently building a desktop app for the cryptocurrency space with Electron and Vuejs as a personal project that maybe I can monetize in the future. Can't wait to pester y'all with questions!

All the best,
Alex

Collapse
 
ryanzurrin profile image
Ryan Zurrin

Hello Alex, my name is Ryan and I am new here and just wanted to say hi. It sounds like you got a lot of fun stuff going on can't wait to get to know you and everyone more and this really seems like a good place to foster friendships and community with like-minded individuals.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

I've always wanted to travel to Romania! Been to Bulgaria, but didn't quite make it as far as Romania. I lived in Scotland for a bit and love old castles. I've heard there are some pretty cool looking medieval towns and gothic castles. Bran Castle looks awesome!

Collapse
 
dance2die profile image
Sung M. Kim

Welcome Alex πŸ‘‹ (ο½žοΏ£β–½οΏ£)~

daunting at the same time.

It surely is daunting on both front/backend worlds.
No need to try everything new that's coming out as nobody can πŸ˜€

And see you around~

Collapse
 
bbutlerfrog profile image
Ben Butler

Hi dev community, I'm Ben and I've been (see how that works?) a full LAMP stack developer since 2003. I'm learning Angular right now simply because I like it, the best way to learn is to read and write tutorials, so I just posted a couple and I'm reading more here.

Collapse
 
peter profile image
Peter Kim Frank

Welcome, Ben! To steal a lame joke, it's always great to have more Bengineers in the community!

Collapse
 
cfv1984 profile image
CFV • Edited

Heya! What's it like to still do PHP? I understand the ecosystem has changed quite a bit, there's got to be a lot of stories to tell

Collapse
 
bbutlerfrog profile image
Ben Butler

Well, mainly we do one of two things now, that is CMS's (WordPress is 40% of the internet, but isn't my "thing", but I have done Drupal, which is 4%) or write REST API's like everyone else (on the PHP side of things) with JavaScript frameworks to consume them on the front end. PHP still makes up around 70-80% of the internet, so there's a lot of us "still" doing it.

Collapse
 
meryemjow profile image
Meryem Jourhbiri

Hey Everyone. My name is Meryem and i'm from Morocco. I was studying Chemistry in university but after 3 years of starting it i decided to change career and do what i actually like which is coding. I started on FreeCodeCamp and that was the point where i was 100% sure about coding. I never thought that i can make a project even if it's just a simple Tribute page , but i did it and after that i felt like i can literally do anything i want to. Now i'm focusing on CSS3 and want to master it.
I'm Happy to join you all here and excited to share and get ideas and thoughts with each others. ^

Collapse
 
andy profile image
Andy Zhao (he/him)

Welcome! CSS is fun! It's great seeing what people can make with just CSS.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Now i'm focusing on CSS3 and want to master it.

I’m sure you’ll master it soon enough, welcome to the community Meryem!

Collapse
 
meryemjow profile image
Meryem Jourhbiri

Thank you Ben :)

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.