DEV Community

Cover image for Tech Networking 101: How Are You Building Your Connections?
Ben Halpern for CodeNewbie

Posted on

Tech Networking 101: How Are You Building Your Connections?

How are you going about expanding your professional network and connecting with fellow techies?

Share your go-to strategies newbies venturing into the industry and more sustainable approaches for coders further along in their careers. Shout out your favorite networking events, and don't forget to include any funny stories of unexpected connections.

Follow the CodeNewbie Org and #codenewbie for more awesome discussions and online camaraderie!

Top comments (7)

Collapse
 
jmfayard profile image
Jean-Michel 🕵🏻‍♂️ Fayard

I genuinely hate the word networking

The damn word makes the activity it's supposed to encourage feels like at best a chore, at worse something dirty.
It sounds like people are forcing you "for your own good" to be in a conference full of hundred of strangers, which is not everyone's cup of tea.
At worse I imagine people telling me to add tons of strangers on LinkedIn and using them to reach my goals.

What I'm doing it much simpler and saner than "networking".

I invite friends and interesting people to have a coffee discussion.
Online and offline.

Pro-tip: usually people want to drink a virtual café with you, but finding the right time is difficult. Use a tool like Calendly to let them pick the time whenever they like

Collapse
 
ryencode profile image
Ryan Brown

I did one unit of networking yesterday on a rare in-person day. Ostensibly to meet my leader's manager's new boss (the VP of our digital technical side of the company.)
Several sub-units of networking were also completed.
Today, I rest.

Collapse
 
jmfayard profile image
Jean-Michel 🕵🏻‍♂️ Fayard • Edited

That's my point that kind of forced networking is exhausting.

Otoh I usually feel energized after a café discussion with cool people

Collapse
 
montyharper profile image
Monty Harper

You described exactly what I think of when I hear the word. Oh, man, I've got to figure this out. It drains me thinking about it. As a brand new newbie what do I have to offer someone in a coffee discussion?

Collapse
 
jmfayard profile image
Jean-Michel 🕵🏻‍♂️ Fayard • Edited

Mostly you need to be genuinely interested in talking with him/her,
and the test for that is that you need to be able to explain why you want to talk.

I'm French, so I'm quite good at drinking coffee, I don't need that much convincing.
You would also tell me that you saw I love music and that you yourself are a children's musician.

Obviously, if the other is British or Japanese, invite for a virtual tea instead

You let me pick the date using calendly or a similar tool
and if I have time right now I would probably say yes.

You will be surprised how often it works.

Collapse
 
juanfrank77 profile image
Juan F Gonzalez

The word networking really gets a bad rep. But it's just meeting people that's doing cool stuff and striking a convo with them like a normal human that's not trying to pitch anything or "get" anything from the person.

Collapse
 
nlxdodge profile image
NLxDoDge

LinkedIn + Recruiter = infinity