DEV Community

Cover image for Share Your Desk Decor: What Inspires You at Work?
Ben Halpern for CodeNewbie

Posted on

Share Your Desk Decor: What Inspires You at Work?

Whether you work from home or in an office, your workspace can have a big impact on your productivity and mood. That's why we want to know: what's on your desk?

Share a photo or description of your favorite inspiring or fun workspace items in the comments below! Maybe it's a motivational quote, a quirky plant, or a snuggly pet snoozing nearby. Whatever it is, we want to see it!


Follow the CodeNewbie Org and #codenewbie for more engaging, thought-provoking, and sometimes silly discussions just like this.

Top comments (23)

Collapse
 
moopet profile image
Ben Sinclair

Most of the time... this

A brightly-lit PC case with spinning fans. A tuxedo housecat is sitting on the top looking serene

I've had to adapt by putting a drinks coaster over the power button which is also under the cat.

Collapse
 
nlxdodge profile image
NLxDoDge

Please keep your PC clean as well 😜 those cat hairs are going to be not so nice inside your pc 😓

Collapse
 
joelbonetr profile image
JoelBonetR 🥇 • Edited

I'm doing some changes, here's the current state immortalized:

Image description

not sponsored

I'm yet to receive a couple of thingies from Amazon to hide as much as possible the existing cables and a nice wooden support for the headphones. I also need to add a plant somewhere 😂

Can't promise I'll remember but if I do, I'll upload a pic when finished,

cheers!

Collapse
 
brense profile image
Rense Bakker

I got a plastic IKEA plant, it's great because it doesn't die if you forget to water it. Water near computer isn't a good idea anyways xD

Collapse
 
joelbonetr profile image
JoelBonetR 🥇

That's exactly what I thought as well 😂

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

My minimal setup at a coworking space.

desk

Collapse
 
lucassperez profile image
Lucas Perez

This is the way.

Collapse
 
syeo66 profile image
Red Ochsenbein (he/him)

Image description
I have built this e-paper frame playing movies with a rate of 4 seconds of movie per hour. slowplayer.raven.ch is showing the same thing I see on my desk. 😆

Collapse
 
sc0v0ne profile image
sc0v0ne

Desk: Simple
focus on goal

simple

Collapse
 
namenotavilable profile image
Adam Markiewicz

A constant work in progress
Image description

Collapse
 
rjwhite profile image
RJ White

Not a closeup of what's on my desk - since I'm a few thousand miles away from my home office right now - but I dug up a picture of my home office. This equipment is prehistoric - but so am I. I sorta retired around a decade ago. I'm actually going to overhaul everything when I get back home (I'm in Mexico right now avoiding the Canadian winter).
pic of home office

Collapse
 
nicolkill profile image
Nicol Acosta

Frontend

Image description

Backend

Image description

Collapse
 
andypiper profile image
Andy Piper

Well, I do have a couple of cartoons on my pegboard at the moment... 🤣
an IKEA pegboard with an xkcd cartoon

Collapse
 
drodero profile image
Diego

Yeah, I'm a bit of Star Wars fan ;-)

Image description

Collapse
 
muzzammil194 profile image
Muzzammil Shaikh

Image description

Collapse
 
ingosteinke profile image
Ingo Steinke • Edited

Depends on the place I go, as I have a laptop and like to work at cafés and coworking spaces sometimes. This is probably the most minimalistic setup I have been so far, in my old flat before moving out, with any furniture already packed into a truck. But there is still the painted wall and the bright colors of my cup and my müsli bowl.

Shoes, laptop, and notebook on an empty floor

Collapse
 
andrearicchi profile image
Andrea Ricchi

Clean & minimal! Laptop for embedded programming and desktop for gaming...

Image description

Collapse
 
musfick profile image
Musfick Jamil • Edited

Image description

Collapse
 
sc0v0ne profile image
sc0v0ne

Simple

focus on the goal

Image description