DEV Community

Cover image for Day 36. What is the power of Pull Request?
Kiolk
Kiolk

Posted on

Day 36. What is the power of Pull Request?

What is the power of Pull Request? Is it useful when you work alone? I think It is a great tool for collaboration and personal growth when you review code or when your code is reviewed. I miss having true code review.

What I did:

What did I do today? I spent half of my time trying to fix minor issues that CodeRabbit generated.  It looks slightly boring: looking at the issue, finding it in the code, making changes, and committing. If the task is bigger than just removing something, you should spend time thinking about how to refactor. At this moment, it feels like a waste of time. So I will focus only on critical issues that I find reasonable. I think CodeRabbit is a good tool if you are a solo developer with plenty of time. 

Additionally, I started working on the UI for the SearchScreen. I added my version of a Chip for sorting and selecting a search type. I reused my SortingChip component. Since I had used it on another screen, I refactored its implementation to make it more type-independent. I introduced a generic type for this composable.
Generic composable

This allowed me to use it with three different type of sorting chips. I added these chip buttons to the SearchScreen. Now it looks a bit rough, but I believe that soon, a designer will join the project and help me with this pain.
Sorting panel for the SearchScreen

What I will do:

If you want to join the project, just leave a comment here, or write a message in LinkedIn.

What help I'm looking for:

Designer (create design of application in Figma)
Android/KMM developer
Any other help related to the project.

My timeline:

Day 1. Deep breath and dive
Day 2. Networking layer.
Day 3. Loading of articles.
Day 4. ArticleItem.
Day 5. Localization.
Day 6. Work on Sunday.
Day 7. First week.
Day 8. Enjoying coding.
Day 9. Expect/actual.
Day 10. TODOs.
Day 11. Friday evening.
Day 12. Frustration.
Day 13. Blocker
Day 14. Monday
Day 15. Reactions
Day 16. Feed
Day 17. stringWithFormat
Day 18. Comment
Day 19. 1 percent
Day 20. A bit of progress
Day 21. Pagination
Day 22. Lottie animation
Day 23. Sorting of articles
Day 24. Step by step
Day 25. Broken endpoint?
Day 26. After party
Day 27. Burnout
Day 28. Opportunity for growth
Day 29. Hard work
Day 30. Old code
Day 31. Technical debt
Day 32. API calls
Day 33. Generic response
Day 34. Response
Day 35. Coderabbit

See you tomorrow. 

Top comments (0)