DEV Community

Brittany
Brittany

Posted on

Day 57 : 100DaysofCode - Remembering to Git Commit Often

I have figured out what I want to build in the future. I want to build a command line tool or maybe an app that reminds me to commit my code ever so often. Recently I have been putting 5 minute alarms on my phone to remind me, but that can get a bit annoying. I do not know about everyone else, but once I put on my headphones and begin coding I forget to commit what I am doing. Then when I finally get a few things functioning to my liking I realize I have not committed in 15-20 minutes.

Alt text of image

So here I am adding more work by going to each file and seeing what I did so I can git add and commit.

There has to be a better way! I saw this article that talks about something similar to my idea.

However, I want to build something that tracks files as they are saved. For example, if you edit and save a file more than 3x, 5x, or 10x you get a little alert saying you should commit now.

I personally feel like this will be very helpful in the dev community. Hopefully I can start working on it soon. If anyone has any ideas or other solutions please let me know, all ideas are welcome.

As always thanks for reading!

Sincerely,
Brittany

Song of the day:

Top comments (0)