DEV Community

Brittany
Brittany

Posted on

My Experience With #100DaysofCode

I DID IT! I completed my first round of #100DaysofCode! What did I learn? SO MANY THINGS.

Technical Skills:


I learned iterators, sql, sinatra, routes, active record, MVC, hashes, CSS, began learning javascript, and so much more.

Completed Projects:

  1. I updated my personal website to include my dev.to post using their api

  2. I created a Sinatra app

  3. I created a Ruby on Rails app

via FreeCodeCamp:

  1. Landing Page

  2. Technical Documentation Page

  3. Survey Form

  4. Personal Page

  5. Tribute Page

Certificate Earned:

On dev.to badges
Alt Text

On freecodecamp:
Alt Text

Friends:
The best part for me was the amount of friends I made throughout this process. There were many times when I had random people from all around the world motivate me, help me, or even set up a time to meet with me and review my code. It made me truly appreciate the dev community and all of the beautiful people who wanted to see me succeed. It is weird because I never met any of you, but I feel like I could not have done it without your inspiration and motivation so for that I thank you.

Behavioral Skills:
One thing about me is that I am a very determined individual, I have always been that way. When I say I am going to do something, unless something dire happens to prevent me from doing it, I do it! Well the same thing happened with me for #100DaysofCode. When I first started I thought I should blog about it, without realizing that all I had to do is write a Twitter post to accomplish the 100Day Challenge, but ambitious me thought, "oh thats easy, you can do it." I was wrong.

About halfway through #100DaysofCode there were times when I had absolutely nothing to write about. On those days, I either did tons of my bootcamp assignments or watched youtube tutorials all day. There were days when I just did not know how to convey what I learned just yet or I just did not feel like typing or writing anymore. On those days, I struggled.

I can tell when I had one of those days just by looking at the blog:

Day 44, Day 42, Day 50, etc.

I had nothing really to write about and just shared what I did, such as watching a a youtube tutorial.

Next for me?
I will continue to code every day because I really do love it and learn so much every single day. However, I think I will take a break from #100DaysofCode until I complete my bootcamp. I do not recommend doing both if you do not have the time to commit.

I was worried about sharing content as a beginner and if it is any help, so I asked Twitter and received the following response:

Alt Text

So, I plan to write a blog at least once a week. I want to continue to share what I learn from a beginners perspective and continue to see my growth in coding. In addition, I may possibly start vlogging my coding experience. I will keep you all posted on that.

Lastly, I was recently accepted into the MLH Fellowship and I am super excited!

I can not wait to meet other developers, learn, and contribute to open sources.

I want to thank you all for helping me through this journey.

Sincerely,
Brittany

Song of the Day:

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
krishnakakade profile image
krishna kakade

Congrats on MLH fellowship can you tell me which things you needed for fellowship mean prerequisites and yeah all the best good to see your 100daysofcode journey

Collapse
 
sincerelybrittany profile image
Brittany

Hi Krishna, in order to participate in the MLH Fellowship, you must meet the following criteria:

  • Over the age of 18; or over the age of 13 with a parent's permission to participate in this program
  • Reside in a country not embargoed by the United States
  • Able to commit the required hours per week to this program
  • Know how to code in at least one language
  • Proficient English speaker
  • Have access to a video call quality Internet connection

More information about that can be found in the FAQ:
fellowship.mlh.io/faq

After passing the application process, you will receive two interviews:

The first interview is a cultural/"get-to-know you" interview. Just be yourself and you should be fine.

The second interview is technical and based off the code that you submit in your application. Just make sure to know your code and be ready to explain it to show that you are proficient in that language.

I hope this helps, do not be afraid to go for it!

Collapse
 
krishnakakade profile image
krishna kakade

huge thanks good days