DEV Community

Brittany
Brittany

Posted on

Day 42 : #100DaysofCode - The Planning of a Project

Today I planned my next project and it was STRESSFUL! I have an idea, but the process of building it is difficult. I realized that I need a lot of practice with rails associations. There are two things that I want a user to be able to do.

I want a user to be able to leave comments and I also want a user to have the ability to like a post.

I am still in the process of creating a schema for my project and look forward to learning how to connect everything. For now, this is what my schema looks like:

  create_table "comments", force: :cascade do |t|
    t.string "content"
    t.integer "user_id"
    t.integer "post_id"
    t.datetime "created_at", precision: 6, null: false
    t.datetime "updated_at", precision: 6, null: false
    t.index ["post_id"], name: "index_comments_on_post_id"
    t.index ["user_id"], name: "index_comments_on_user_id"
  end

  create_table "favorites", force: :cascade do |t|
    t.boolean "like"
    t.integer "user_id"
    t.integer "post_id"
    t.datetime "created_at", precision: 6, null: false
    t.datetime "updated_at", precision: 6, null: false
    t.index ["post_id"], name: "index_comments_on_post_id"
    t.index ["user_id"], name: "index_comments_on_user_id"
  end


  create_table "posts", force: :cascade do |t|
    t.string "title"
    t.text "description"
    t.datetime "created_at", precision: 6, null: false
    t.datetime "updated_at", precision: 6, null: false
  end

  create_table "users", force: :cascade do |t|
    t.string "username"
    t.text "email"
    t.datetime "created_at", precision: 6, null: false
    t.datetime "updated_at", precision: 6, null: false
  end
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

When I complete my schema I will update this article with the updated version. Wish me luck.

Sincerely,
Brittany

Top comments (0)