DEV Community

Cover image for Weekly 0042
Emanuele Bartolesi
Emanuele Bartolesi

Posted on

Weekly 0042

Monday

Day Off

Mood: 🎅

Tuesday

Day Off

Mood: 🎅

Wednesday

I started the day, after 15 days of vacation, updating my Author Page on Amazon. Packt, our publisher, asked to us to do that.
My author page is located here: amazon.com/author/emanuelebartolesi

Then I tried to figure out why our Azure Subscriptions from the Microsoft Startups Program was consuming a lot of credit without too much traffic.
After a few hours of investigation maybe I found the issue.
A few weeks ago I activated a third party SaaS for creating a status page for all services.
This service call our endpoint every 3 minutes and I think it generates some CPU loading on our services.
I tried to disable this “ping” and I will monitor the situation in the next days/weeks.

Mood: 😩

Thursday

I spent the early morning to organize some activities for the week and for the coming weeks.
After that I had a meeting with a customer to solve a problem with an API I have developed a few weeks ago to access the SharePoint recycle bins.
The API obtained always a 500 generic error.
I tried a lot of hours to understand where is the issue and after a while I discovered an issue with the certificate.

After a lot of investigation, I found an error in the configuration json.
We missed a key to retrieve the certificate from the App Service.
Lesson learned.

In the meantime I have worked for Brandplane.
We changed a little bit our strategy and I need to create some new use case in our backlogs.

Mood: 🧑‍💻

Friday

In the morning I checked all the bugs for Red Origin and I solved most of them.
The next week I will have an important meeting for the future of the project.

In the middle of the morning I had a meeting with my co-founder of Brandplane and we talked about a new feature for the product.
I will implement the feature the next week or I will start this evening.
It’s a kind of referral link to onboarding new user but invited from another user (an agency or a freelance) registered in the platform.

In the late afternoon I sent some CFP for events around Europe.

The most important news of the week is: I am the Auth0 Ambassador of the Month 🙂

I also published a blog post about how to export a certificate as base64 string.

https://res.cloudinary.com/practicaldev/image/fetch/s--r8qK5bxg--/c_imagga_scale,f_auto,fl_progressive,h_420,q_auto,w_1000/https://dev-to-uploads.s3.amazonaws.com/uploads/articles/xujbcpc2j5jgb5id1o4v.png

https://dev.to/kasuken/how-to-get-base64-encoded-string-of-a-certificate-in-c-2pko

Mood: 🤪


Thanks for reading this post, I hope you found it interesting!

Feel free to follow me to get notified when new articles are out 🙂

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
jd2r profile image
DR

Ah, it's probably tough to get back to work after so much break xD