DEV Community

Cover image for Music Monday — What are you listening to? (Good Memories Edition)
Michael Tharrington for The DEV Team

Posted on

Music Monday — What are you listening to? (Good Memories Edition)

cover image source: Giphy

For this edition, I want you to dig back through your past experiences to find a song that is personally tied to a good memory of yours. Maybe it's a tune that you used to listen to on CD or cassette in your car back in the day. Perhaps it's a go-to song for you and your spouse. Or maybe it's a song that you and your friends used to party out to during college. Whatever it is, I wanna hear it and would love to hear the story behind it!

A scene from Harry Potter, Dumbledore holds a wand up against his head and pulls a memory, that looks like a weird apparition, from his mind to store in the Pensieve to recall later.


How we do

In this weekly series, folks can chime in and drop links to whatever it is they've been listening to recently + browse others' suggestions. You can follow the suggested genre if you'd like, but don't feel confined to it; you're free to suggest whatever you wanna. 🙌

If you're interested in having other discussions about music, consider following the aptly named #music discussions organization.


Vaporwave is also welcome in this mix, not that I can really tell the difference between the two! 😆 Note: you can embed a link to your song using the following syntax {% embed https://... %}. This should work for most common platforms!

Looking forward to listening to y'all's suggestions! 🎶

Top comments (26)

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ☕ • Edited

Oh! This is fantastic this thread coming now!

Yesterday I went to SoundCloud, and saw the playlists generated by SoundCloud by year. I listened to the playlist for 2016. Yeeeep from way back! It's one of my favourite pieces of music :

Collapse
 
sc0v0ne profile image
sc0v0ne

I haven't heard this really good song in a while

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ☕

Pure happiness 🤩

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Wow, Thomas! How serendipitous! Haha, I hardly ever get the chance to say that word.

This is a pretty bad ass song btw — never heard it before now! Appreciate ya sharing!

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ☕

It's time to listen the playlist of 2017 🤩🕺🏼

Collapse
 
kurealnum profile image
Oscar

Ooo... I have 2 good albums for this one! My mom listened to these every day when she took me to school in 3rd grade. 8-9 years later, I still (somehow) know most of them by heart.

Some Nights, fun.
open.spotify.com/album/7iycyHwOW2p...

1989, Taylor Swift
open.spotify.com/album/2QJmrSgbdM3...

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Nice, Oscar! 🙌

That's a fun. memory to share with your mom. Does she have any favorite tunes from each album or just play it through the whole way?

Collapse
 
kurealnum profile image
Oscar

She doesn't listen to Some Nights anymore, but when she listens to 1989, she plays it all the way through :).

Collapse
 
sc0v0ne profile image
sc0v0ne
Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Oh heck yeah! I'm digging the Flavor Trip house set... someone shared this couple a few weeks back and I really like what they're doing. Also, I just wanna hang out with the two of them haha. They're always making fantastic food, they're place looks lovely, and they seem like fun, haha!

Also, good suggestions with the 80's and 90's mixes. 🙌 I can't seem to get the 90's one to work by me (maybe I need to bust out the VPN later haha), but I love all the bands mentioned!

Collapse
 
renancferro profile image
Renan Ferro

Ohh, niice topic!

This song youtube.com/watch?v=NtV94qNRaTY , I've been listening to this band since I was a child and it still accompanies me today! Lots of good memories!

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Wow! I really like this, Renan.

I know their name is Natiruts Reggae Power but this feels different than reggae to me. It seems like it has a really latin vibe to it and I mean I know that makes sense because the Carribean and Latin music mix a lot... anyway all this for me to say, I don't know what type of music this is but I like it. What do you call this genre?

Collapse
 
renancferro profile image
Renan Ferro • Edited

Hey my friend, sorry to be late!

Their name is just "Natiruts". “Reggae Power” is one of their most famous songs (It’s very good)!

Their genre is "Reggae" and "Pop". But their reggae is not "calm music", it's "personalized reggae", more lively, something more for you to dance to and feel good!

This album was filmed in Rio de Janeiro, for me is the best one! and you can see in the video the Cristo Redentor (One of the nine wonders of the world).

When you have some time, listen and see the full album: Natiruts - Rio de Janeiro. I think you'll like it!

Collapse
 
dendihandian profile image
Dendi Handian

Painful but beautiful. Touch by Daft Punk

Collapse
 
darkterminal profile image
Imam Ali Mustofa

I am weird

Catalyst. - Weird Genius (ft. Pepita) [Official Music Video] - YouTube

Catalyst - Weird Genius (ft. Pepita) Listen Here: https://bit.ly/CATALYST-LISTENWeird Genius, the trailblazing Indonesian electronic trio drops their latest ...

favicon youtube.com
Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Haha, I'm weird too. 🙌 I always say it beats being normal!

Collapse
 
danbailey profile image
Dan Bailey

Listening to the playlist for my upcoming wedding reception. The list is still very much in-progress.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Oh right on, Dan! Are y'all picking out a song for a first dance? Curious if you'd be down to share that.

Collapse
 
danbailey profile image
Dan Bailey

Haven't picked out a first dance song yet. However, here's the playlist so far:
music.apple.com/us/playlist/weddin...

If you're not on Apple Music, you should still be able to view the tracks. ("Three Little Birds" is on there twice. We're entering to the cover version and exiting to the original Bob Marley version.)

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

So, I saw this video over the weekend where a dude builds a breath from scratch in the style of a 1995 Bad Boy Records hip hop song. It definitely got me notalgic for the music from that era.

Here's the video I saw:

On a similar note, this video from a month ago by Digging the Greats about music on Nickelodeon in the 90's got me super nostalgic for my childhood. Enjoy!

Collapse
 
ksolomon profile image
Keith Solomon

Valentine Never Said It Was Gonna Be Easy - YouTube

Linda música da banda VALENTINE (USA)

favicon youtube.com

High school…11th grade, met my best friend. This song was the soundtrack through that year and most of 12th.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Oooo I like this one, Keith! Cool memory too... you just jogged mine about what my friends and I listened to in high school.

I remember a few buddies of mine and me listening to Sublime until the CD was so covered in scratches. It was the time of Kazaa and Napster, so I'm sure it was a burned one. Haha, good times being a punk teenager!

Collapse
 
ksolomon profile image
Keith Solomon

High school for me was more tapes than CDs, but it’s funny how certain songs will put you right back in those days. Sublime was college (the semester I was there 😂), but they were in constant rotation too!

Collapse
 
stefanmoore profile image
Stefan Moore

Monday was no music...listened to my thoughts and thinking things through.

Collapse
 
ennor profile image
Enno Rehling (恩諾)

When I worked in my first game industry job in the early aughts, there was this MP3 going around that was a pastiche of dozens of entertainment media samples, everything from Ren and Stimpy samples to the "Finish the Game" sample from Tron that gave it its (unofficial) name. Legend had it that it came to us from somewhere inside EA, but I've never managed to find out who made the thing. I preserved a copy on Sound Cloud, though.

soundcloud.com/enno-rehling/finish...

Collapse
 
momatininja profile image
momo

I really want to share "Night Visions" album from Imagine Dragons
I had my best memories whit that wish make good memories for you too