DEV Community

Cover image for Music Monday — What are you listening to? (May 16)
Michael Tharrington for #music discussions

Posted on

Music Monday — What are you listening to? (May 16)

cover image credits: sElf - Runaway (music video)

In this weekly series, folks can chime in and drop links to whatever it is they're listening to + browse others suggestions.

If you like talking about music, consider following the org #music discussions for more conversations about music!

Also noteworthy, my friend @duxtech has a Spanish speaking version of this series here in case you'd like to chime in there as well. 🙌


So, what have y'all been listening to today? Note: you can embed a link to your song on most platforms using the following syntax {% embed https://... %}.

I look forward to listening to y'all's suggestions! 👂 🎶

Top comments (13)

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

I've been really into ambient music these days, especially while I'm working. It's frequently wordless and often pattern-less (or at least not a typical pattern) which makes it less distracting to me while I'm working, plus a lot of it is just really soothing.

One of my go-to YouTubers in the ambient realm is OoraMusic. They offer excellent instructional videos where they talk through techniques and equipment used to create ambient music. They also have some really cool performances where they often work with an audiovisual improvisor named J/née who really does a great job of capturing the minimalist, chill vibes of their music. Check it out below! 👇

Collapse
 
simeg profile image
Simon Egersand 🎈

For working I really enjoy Lane 8. Not sure how to describe it, chill edm.

When not working I've not been listening but rather playing my new acoustic guitar. I put a mic in it and having so much fun playing it through a speaker 💙

Collapse
 
tmchuynh profile image
Tina Huynh

I started to listen to more and more self-development audiobooks in the gym, which is really hard to do while focused on coding so it's a little funny that I actually started listening to my workout playlist while coding. It looks something like this:
Image description

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Oh right on! 🙌 Haha, sounds totally worthy of inventing a new genre!

Please do drop a link to it once it's ready if you plan to post it online anywhere. Maybe drop a clip?

And on the note of sample-heavy ambient/trance music, I think you might dig this new pedal by Chase Bliss called Habit.

It's no doubt expensive 😅 but also pretty dang awesome. I bet it could do some pretty rad things to some vocal samples!

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Haha! Love it. This tune is just a lotta fun. 🏴‍☠️

On a semi-related note, I ran into an album called Son of Rogues Gallery: Pirate Ballads, Seas Songs, & Chanteys and I seriously love this tune by Tom Waits and Keith Richards called "Shenandoah":

Collapse
 
nombrekeff profile image
Keff

I recently found a new (to me) album from Hugo Kant, which I find exceptional. Worth taking a listen if you enjoy trip-hop:

Collapse
 
nexinspiration profile image
Bhuvanesh

Mostly piano music

Lemon:
youtube.com/watch?v=uKBUl07jBo0

 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Haha, you're dang right they should! If they wanna pay me in Teenage Engineering gear, I'll accept. 😆

Collapse
 
rvr91257 profile image
Rafael Ventura-Rosa

Miles ("Sketches of Spain"). Never gets old.
tinyurl.com/5n7kek2j

MilesDavis