DEV Community

Cover image for Music Monday — What are you listening to? (Funk, Soul, Disco, & Reggae Edition)
Michael Tharrington for The DEV Team

Posted on • Updated on

Music Monday — What are you listening to? (Funk, Soul, Disco, & Reggae Edition)

cover image source: Giphy

I know, I know... that's a lotta genres right there. 😅 But stick with me, the theme that binds them together in my mind is that a) they have their roots in Black American culture and b) they were all prominent genres in the 70's. That said, don't feel confined to one decade here... totally cool to share something from whatever time period you wanna. So long as it's funky or soulful, disco-ey or reggae-ish, then it's good to go! And if you would rather share something outside these genres, it's all good. Go for it!

A man and a woman stylishly dancing on the show Soul Train in the 70's


How we do

In this weekly series, folks can chime in and drop links to whatever it is they've been listening to recently + browse others' suggestions. You can follow the suggested genre if you'd like, but don't feel confined to it; you're free to suggest whatever you wanna. 🙌

If you're interested in having other discussions about music, consider following the aptly named #music discussions organization.


Funk, Soul, Disco, or Reggae... which genre is your favorite? Of course, feel free to share picks from all four.

Note: you can embed a link to your song using the following syntax {% embed https://... %}. This should work for most common platforms!

Looking forward to listening to y'all's suggestions! 🎶


🚨p.s. Check out @rachelfazio's new series Podcast Palooza— What are you listening to?🚨

Top comments (25)

Collapse
 
mrlinxed profile image
Mr. Linxed

Not sure if this fully qualifies the category, but I find this Spotify playlist pretty good. House & disco jams with an 80s-infused retro flavour.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Oh heck yeah this fits! Haha, lovin' the title! 🕺

I just saved this one. It's a lotta fun. 😀

I actually use YouTube more frequently than Spotify and so am just curious how this works... I see it says "Made for michaelmadcat" which is different from any of the other playlists I'm a part of. Do you know what's up with that?

A screenshot from my Spotify that shows the language "made for michaelmadcat" on the Lazer Disco playlist

Collapse
 
mrlinxed profile image
Mr. Linxed

Yeah, not sure what's up with that exactly. Mine says it's made for me. I am guessing this is a playlist that is a bit different for everyone.

Collapse
 
mrlinxed profile image
Mr. Linxed

This got uploaded yesterday and made me think of this again. And since you use YouTube more frequently, I'll drop it here.

Discooo lets goo

Thread Thread
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Oh hell yeah! This is a blast. Really great grooves. 🔥

I'm gonna have to check out more on this channel. Two DJ channels that I regularly tune into on YouTube are Boiler Room and My Analog Journal.

Anywho, appreciate you kicking this my way. I'm gonna tune in while I work!

Collapse
 
slika profile image
Simi Lika

Maybe the SUNSHINE BAND with their songs starting with That the way I like it.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Dang! I missed this suggestion before, Sima. Love it!

They sound pretty different, but for whatever reason Kool & the Gang's Summer Madness comes to mind:

Collapse
 
dendihandian profile image
Dendi Handian

Here we go

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Bahhh, it's not showing up for me. I'm getting the "This video is not available" message and when I click to see it on YouTube, it just takes me directly to the site. I probably should use a VPN and just set it to your side of the world, but can you tell me what song you're linking to? I'll look it up!

Thread Thread
 
dendihandian profile image
Dendi Handian

It's the official audio video of KC & The Sunshine Band - That's the way

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

I have been absolutely loving this funky band called Parcels. Props to @dendihandian for showing them to me... you got me in deep, haha!

I recommend watching any of their live videos. Like for instance, this one below. 👇

Collapse
 
dendihandian profile image
Dendi Handian • Edited

Haha, seriously if you like vintage edm like daft punk and vintage disco like bee gees, you will like these guys. and this live vol.1 is a good introduction for y'all.

Collapse
 
balagmadhu profile image
Bala Madhusoodhanan

Never thought about Regga for monday start.. but guess I should... My recommendation might be bit obvious...

Bob Marley - Get Up Stand Up, One Love, No Woman, No Cry, Three Little Birds
Stevie Wonder - Master Blaster
Bobby McFerrin - Don't Worry Be Happy
Inner Circle - Sweat (A La La La La Long)
Shaggy - Oh Carolina,Angel

not sure if Bruno Mars - 'The Lazy Song' would fit into this

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Haha, nothing wrong with the obvious recommendations as long as they are good — and these are!

Gotta love Bob Marley and you picked some classics. Another obvious, but good one is "Could You Be Loved"... and I really love "Kinky Reggae" — that's a chill one.

You got a lotta go callouts here. I freaking love Stevie Wonder! Haha, who doesn't?

And I think Bruno Mars "The Lazy Song" fits just fine in my book. It's got that kinda upstroke guitar that is often used in reggae. It's kinda mixing in other elements and def got a poppy side. But it's a fun song!

Good mentions, Bala!

Collapse
 
schemetastic profile image
Schemetastic (Rodrigo)

Not Reggae exactly, is SKA, the reggae predecessor.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Ooo yeah!!! Great thing to bring up, Rodrigo. I love this classic ska sound before the punks got hold of it. My cousin who I regularly play music with actually played trumpet in a ska band during college in the 2000s, but they had more of that punk flavor!

Anyway, I don't know if I've heard this particular song before, but I dig it. It reminds me of this tune called Enjoy Yourself

And here's my cousin's ska band that I mentioned.

Thank you so much for sharing!

Collapse
 
schemetastic profile image
Schemetastic (Rodrigo)

There is no way I wasn't going to hear those tunes, I liked both of them and added them to a playlist. Thank you.

Your cousins band feels like it has a bit of alternative bits... reminds me a little of Sugar Ray.

Thread Thread
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Sweet! So glad you dig'em. I'm gonna have to come back to Ska in a future edition... it's such a fun genre. Thanks for bringing it to mind!

I play music with my cousin every week, so I'll let him know your kind words. I'm sure he'll be siked to hear it! I can hear the Sugar Ray for sure!

Thread Thread
 
schemetastic profile image
Schemetastic (Rodrigo)

Sure! Happy to know that.

See you at the next Music Monday!

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

I've been listening to Francine repeat a lot lately. I really enjoy GROUPLOVE.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

This is chill. I'm checking out the music video now too — good stuff!

Collapse
 
stefanmoore profile image
Stefan Moore

Man...I'm going to have to go with Blue Eyed Music on this listing. Got to count them in if we gonna do the 70's and 80's.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Very true, Stefan!

Personally, some of my favorite blue-eyed soul singers are from the UK... I love me some Joe Cocker, Van Morrisson, Rod Stewart, and Eric Burdon. Arguably, they all have a rock edge, but they certainly got soul too... the genre lines often get blurry with my favorite music. Shoot, add Mick Jagger to that list too!

Also, let's not forget David Bowie's Young Americans that is one funky soulful album. David Bowie is incredible... I think one of his super powers is pulling together an eclectic group of collaborators and mixing whatever it is that the bring together!

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.