DEV Community

Cover image for Music Monday — What are you listening to? (June 6)
Michael Tharrington for #music discussions

Posted on

Music Monday — What are you listening to? (June 6)

cover image credits: Laurent Hrybyk

In this weekly series, folks can chime in and drop links to whatever it is they've been listening to recently + browse others suggestions.

If you like talking about music, consider following the org #music discussions for more conversations about music!

Also noteworthy, my friend @duxtech has a Spanish speaking version of this series here in case you'd like to chime in there as well. 🙌


So, what have y'all been listening to today? Note: you can embed a link to your song on most platforms using the following syntax {% embed https://... %}.

I look forward to listening to y'all's suggestions! 👂 🎶

Top comments (31)

Collapse
 
thiagonevesuf profile image
Thiago Neves

I've been listening to "Dos Santos", a album from Fabiana Cozza devoted to the "Orixás", Gods from Candomblé. The music are very involving with Afro/Brazilian drums and nice vocals.
https://open.spotify.com/album/6HhJcF7yFhjgc0uSuPPMVa?si=4VGqcI1-RTij7JKAzIejPw&utm_source=copy-link

Collapse
 
victorio profile image
Vic

Almost every day I listen to

  • El Cuarteto de Nos Is a Uruguayan pop rock band
  • ツユ「TUYU」 A Japanese band with songs with amazing lyrics. The first you hear it it's a little repulsive because it's Japanese and that but believe me, the songs are amazing.
  • Sato Moka Her songs have just something that I love, maybe not for everyone.

I also hear some songs by Demondice, Stellar, Gaho, LiSA, BoyWithUke or Post Malone

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Oooo lotsa good stuff here! I'm really liking the Sato Moka song ya linked to — very chill!

Collapse
 
pavelkeyzik profile image
Pavel Keyzik • Edited

I'm a huge fan of NF and here are some songs I can listen every single day:

  • How Could You Leave Us
  • Hate Myself
  • Time
  • Let You Down
  • When I Grow Up
Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

I had never heard NF before this. Just listened to "When I Grow Up" and this is badass! Great share.

Collapse
 
pavelkeyzik profile image
Pavel Keyzik

😍 I'm so happy to share this with you and even more happy that you liked it

Collapse
 
leewynne profile image
Lee Wynne

Have just discovered Joey Valence!

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Oh wow! This sounds like Beastie Boys! I'm so in. 🙌

Collapse
 
leewynne profile image
Lee Wynne

I know right - Punk tactics is also amazing

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington • Edited

One of my favorite groups out there is Sylvan Esso. Hailing from Durham, NC (about 30 minutes from me), they're a super cool electronic, pop duo that creates some really feel good music.

Here's a really great tune of theirs called "Hey Mami" that they played for Moog Sound Lab:

Speaking of Moog Sound Lab, I just noticed that Deltron 3030 has a performance on there too, so I know what I'm listening to next. 😀

Collapse
 
adriens profile image
adriens

Currently enjoying this from Moderator

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Wow! I had never heard Moderator before and this is right up my alley. Thanks so much for chiming in here and showing me this!!

Collapse
 
adriens profile image
adriens

OH OH OH, so you may be ready to discover some other higly addictive and psychedelic music with Boards Of Canada : youtu.be/2jTg-q6Drt0

Thread Thread
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

You got it or rather you got me, haha! I'm listening now and I'm sooo into this. Very much appreciated. 🙌

Collapse
 
yourmdsarfaraj profile image
MD Sarfaraj • Edited

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

So cinematic! This was a lotta fun. Is this from a movie as well? Really appreciate ya sharing. 🙂

Collapse
 
yourmdsarfaraj profile image
MD Sarfaraj

Yes movie name "Veer-Zaara"

Collapse
 
andrewbaisden profile image
Andrew Baisden

Lo-fi on YouTube.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Gotta love the lo-fi! I think lo-fi has been my work-from-home soundtrack, haha.

Collapse
 
andrewbaisden profile image
Andrew Baisden

I know right!

Collapse
 
jeremyf profile image
Jeremy Friesen

I got a serious case of college years nostalgia…and the Violent Femmes "American Music" keeps rising to the top of my play list.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

I have not listened to enough of these guys! Loving the humor in this! 😀

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ☕

This new album from Flume 🎉

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

This is dope! I just tuned in for a bit and it's like a party.

But "Palaces" (the song) is definitely a wee bit slower — or takes a while to pick up. Damon Albarn's voice is always awesome. 😎

Collapse
 
pontakornth profile image
Pontakorn Paesaeng

Kirby musics

  • Green green
  • Twos planet approach the roche limit
  • P.R.O.G.R.A.M
  • Sparkling Star section of Void Termina's theme.
  • Moonstuck blossom
Collapse
 
invalidlenni profile image
InvalidLenni
Collapse
 
taepal467 profile image
Chantae P.

My favorite playlist for studying is Lofi girl on Youtube:
youtube.com/watch?v=5qap5aO4i9A

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

YES! Easily one of my most visited videos on YouTube, haha.

Collapse
 
jansennn profile image
Andreas Tampubolon

I'm listening Ghost - JB

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Nice, just checked out the music video for this one and it's like a mini movie!

Collapse
 
jmrfg profile image
Jorge M. R. de Farias

Good old Nightwish