DEV Community

Cover image for Music Monday — What are you listening to? (Live Music Edition)
Michael Tharrington for #music discussions

Posted on

Music Monday — What are you listening to? (Live Music Edition)

cover image source: classicrockroller

This week I wanna put the focus on live music! Who's your favorite live band? Or maybe it's a solo performer? Tell us about the last live show ya went to. Maybe there's a specific recorded live show (album or video) that ya wanna share with us. Whatever angle ya take, make sure the focus is on live music. Shoutout to @citizen428 for suggesting this prompt!

Elton John dressed up in colorful feathers, hiding his face behind a feathery hand fan before flinging it over his shoulder to expose his face.


How we do

In this weekly series, folks can chime in and drop links to whatever it is they've been listening to recently + browse others suggestions.

If you like talking about music, consider following the org #music discussions for more conversations about music!


So, what kinda live music are ya into? Note: you can embed a link to your song using the following syntax {% embed https://... %}. This should work for most common platforms!

I look forward to listening to y'all's suggestions! 👂 🎶

Top comments (21)

Collapse
 
jmfayard profile image
Jean-Michel 🕵🏻‍♂️ Fayard • Edited

Not live music but maybe I talk about what I just recorded with a friend.
My two passions outside of programming are music and multi-linguism.
Yersterday I united them with my Polyglot Hallelujah 🇫🇷🇪🇸🇩🇪🇮🇹🇨🇦✡️,
my adaption of this wonderful song in French + Spanish + German + Italian + English + Hebrew(*)

(*) yes, the original song was already bi-lingual :)

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

So dang cool! This is a really awesome achievement and great song choice too — so fun to hear the verses in different languages. Nicely done!

Collapse
 
jmfayard profile image
Jean-Michel 🕵🏻‍♂️ Fayard

Thanks. The hardest part was to pronounce english because I'm french :)

Nah I'm joking, recording music is itself way harder than one would thought.

Thread Thread
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Haha oh no doubt! And bravo for your English — I can understand every word loud and clear! 👏🙌

Collapse
 
j471n profile image
Jatin Sharma • Edited

I am currently listening to Forever by KR$NA and Brodha V. I'm with most of India's hip hop industry was waiting for this collab and it's finally here.

Give it a shot. :)

Collapse
 
arielbk profile image
arielbk

There are so many good tiny desk concerts but Rakim is one of the best. That's Ali Shaheed Muhammad from Tribe Called Quest on bass!

And this performance by Pixies is really something:

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Ooooo, I love A Tribe Called Quest and I've not yet seen this performance. I'm siked!! I also really dig The Pixies and Gouge Away is just a great freaking song — annnnd this is yet another performance I haven't seen!!

Both of these are going on my tomorrow list. Thankya for chiming in again, Arielbk!

Collapse
 
cicirello profile image
Vincent A. Cicirello

Not exactly what you're looking for, but at the moment the live music I'm listening to is the faint sound of a neighborhood middle schooler practicing the trumpet for the first time. I'm guessing about a block away in their garage most likely.

Collapse
 
lucassperez profile image
Lucas Perez • Edited

Oh my god, I love sharing music! I really do!

Gonna share some brazilian songs here, since it is less likely for people to know them:

Deixa, by Ana Muller. This one is one of my favorite artists of this year. I hope this "live on studio" version counts for "live" music. Her songs are very beautiful, and of course if you know the language, the poetry is a lot more touching. Gotta love this younger generation of brazilians "MPB" (it is a traditional brazilian genre of music). This is definitely one of my favorite songs of the last few months.
youtube.com/watch?v=XrzZwd6I2j0

Next is a consagrated brazilian singer and songwriter with a tune with a very catchy bass line. Boa Noite, by Djavan. As a bassist myself, I love it!
youtube.com/watch?v=qrL7n382KW4

Malemolência, by Céu. This one is a live version of a great 2000s brazilian song but in the middle of it, they mashed it up with "Mora na Filosofia", which is a very famous 70s song from one of the most iconic brazilian songwriters of that era (Caetano Veloso). I love this piece so much!
youtube.com/watch?v=eF5Puj7_3Fc

Volta, by Johnny Hooker. This is a singer that I knew his name, but only really started listening to his songs this year, and this song in specific has a very "latin" sentiment on the lyrics, a very strong, passionate and unecessarilly exagerated love, so it feels kinda touching for me. I also played this live last month, which is when I started listening to more of his songs. Like Ana Muller (the first singer of this list), he also is more from a "recent" and "young" generation. They both released their first songs in 2010s I think.
youtube.com/watch?v=-OnrzL2CHWQ

And finally, for a change, a french group that became one of my favourite. Vacances, by L'Impératrice. This was the first song I heard from them, and in fact this video was my very first touch with them, and it is a live version. As someone else mentioned here, my two passions also are music and learning languages in general. I actually am right now in France for vacations, trying to learn some french, so nothing like a french song. I really love this group!
youtube.com/watch?v=1c1Fp8NRzrs

I feel like I have spammed way too many songs already, but like I said, I really like sharing songs! Au revoir! 😁

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Haha! Ohhhh I so appreciate ya spamming my article with this list, Lucas. I'm gonna dig in tomorrow and will let ya know what I'm into. 🙌

 
j471n profile image
Jatin Sharma

Say My Name by KR$NA

This song is a shot at all those who keep sneak diss KR$NA subliminally & that’s why he keeps asking in the song Say My Name.

He also showcases his rapping talent & explains why those dissing cannot stand near to him as he is the master of the art.

This is the first rap song released in 2 languages Hindi & English simultaneously.

3:59 AM by DIVINE

In this song(3.59 AM), Divine talks about his life and struggles as an artist rising from the slums of Bombay

Hi-Rez - Playground Ft. KR$NA & KXNG Crooked

This is the new collab song of KR$NA ft. Hi Rez x KXNG Crooked. If you are a fan of lyricism then give it a shot.

City Slums – Raja Kumari ft. DIVINE

It carried an old school hip-hop vibe accompanied with lyrics that captured the hustle of Mumbai. The video was shot in 24 hours.

FREEVERSE FEAST (LANGAR) by KR$NA

If you want only lyrics and flows switch then this is the right song i guess. In this he starts with Hindi and then switches to the English very seamlessly.

Brodha V - Bujjima | Ft. Niharika NM


I'll recommend you to check KR$NA, DIVINE, BRODHA V, IKKA songs.

If you ask me my Personal Favorite Hip Hop artists in India is KR$NA because of his lyricism.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

So this isn't truly my favorite live performer, but I do like him a lot and he has kinda an interesting angle...

For the past week, I’ve been jamming out to a DJ from the UK called Suat. His music is pretty good (though I don’t consider myself the greatest judge of house/dj music), but the real draw is his videos. He takes his dj equipment out and about, generally strapped to him, and walks around in public blasting his beats while being extremely goofy. He gets different reactions from different folks — some people love it and groove with him, some folks ignore it, and some folks confront him about making too much noise in public. He often finds himself in trouble with security guards. It’s all pretty silly.

Here he is in Instanbul doing his thing!

I'll come back to this later to drop more live music in thread!

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington • Edited

If you've never seen The Last Waltz, the documentary about The Band's final concert (directed by Scorsese) with loads of awesome guests (Bob Dylan, Joni Mitchell, Neil Young, Dr. John...) and you like 70's classic rock/Americana, then you're in for a real treat.

You really outta watch the whole show, but here's a quick sample for ya — The Band playing "Up on Cripple Creek" which ends in a yodel jam:

This is one of my favorite all-time shows.

Another worthy mention from the same era would be The Concert for Bangladesh that George Harrison organized with Ravi Shankar "to raise international awareness of, and fund relief for refugees from East Pakistan" — it's famous for being one of the first ever benefit concerts. And wow, it's filled to the brim with amazing artists from the era. I recommend watching the whole show, but here's a quick preview for ya:

Collapse
 
erinposting profile image
Erin Bensinger

+1 for Pearl Jam (lol) and Against Me!!! Eternally jealous that you got to see LJG so early in her career 🥲

Collapse
 
j471n profile image
Jatin Sharma

I can however most of them would not be in English language. Is it ok?

Collapse
 
lucaargentieri profile image
Luca Argentieri

Other monday other Mace's album

favicon youtube.com
Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington • Edited

I'm still vibin' from that live performance I saw last week when your first suggested Mace, haha! You can bet I'll check this album out too.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Wooot! So so much to dig into here. I'll be back with my thoughts when I've had a chance to tune into some of this. Really appreciate ya Michael!

Also, good suggestion... I'll take ya up on it!

Collapse
 
unsungdeveloper profile image
Jacob Martin

Asake's album

Collapse
 
dendihandian profile image
Dendi Handian • Edited

shout out to Parcels Live Vol.1

Collapse
 
arielbk profile image
arielbk

Good stuff, lots of avenues to explore here!

I saw Jeru the Damaja a couple times in Berlin since he lives there. A friend and I were behind him in line (I think it was for KRS-One). He was polite, waited and explained to the door people that he was a special surprise guest 😄

I bet Nine Inch Nails would be an experience to see live 👌