DEV Community

Cover image for Music Monday — What are you listening to? (Not Your Homeland Edition)
Michael Tharrington for The DEV Team

Posted on • Updated on

Music Monday — What are you listening to? (Not Your Homeland Edition)

cover image source: Giphy

In the past, I've asked you all to share music from your native country in our Homeland Edition, but this time I wanna do the inverse of that. I'd like everybody to try and highlight music that is not from your homeland. Props to @darkterminal for dropping this comment that got my wheels turning and led me to choose this topic. I really enjoy learning about music from other cultures and am siked to hear y'all's suggestions! Of course, as always, if you wanna share music outside of the prompt, then go for it. 🙌

A detailed picture of Earth spinning around


How we do

In this weekly series, folks can chime in and drop links to whatever it is they've been listening to recently + browse others suggestions. You can follow the suggested genre if you'd like, but don't feel confined to it; you're free to suggest whatever you wanna. 🙌

If you're interested in having other discussions about music, consider following the aptly named #music discussions organization.


I'm siked to do some musical globetrotting with y'all.🌍🌏🌎 Note: you can embed a link to your song using the following syntax {% embed https://... %}. This should work for most common platforms!

Looking forward to listening to y'all's suggestions! 🎶

Top comments (11)

Collapse
 
brnms profile image
Bruno Santos

Listening to Haggard today, a German band who blends classical music with metal, going to watch them live here in São Paulo (Brazil) in two weeks

Collapse
 
giulio profile image
Giulio "Joshi"

Good to know they are still touring!

Last time I've seen them was 2006, I believe... 😅

Collapse
 
brnms profile image
Bruno Santos

Yeah, hope they release a new album soon

Collapse
 
erinposting profile image
Erin Bensinger

I'm from Michigan, in the northern United States, and my not-my-homeland pick is Filha de Mil Mulheres (in English: Daughter of a Thousand Women) by Clau Aniz, an artist based in Fortaleza, Ceará, Brazil.

filha de mil mulheres | clau aniz

9 track album

favicon clauaniz.bandcamp.com

I stumbled upon this record as a recommendation on Bandcamp in 2018 and it has really stuck with me since! I was initially drawn in by the album art, hahah. It's so eclectic, rich, and experimental with its sounds and melodies. Clau's voice is gorgeous, too. The opening track, "Berro," is a favorite.

Collapse
 
jmfayard profile image
Jean-Michel 🕵🏻‍♂️ Fayard

It's almost cheating because it's not my homeland, but it's my wife's homeland.

I think I talked here about how I love Cumbia. And in particular there is the song Yo me llamo Cumbia that I had been hearing so often that I decided to try to sing it.

Thing is singing Cumbia was way outside of my comfort zone on multiple fronts.

... but after lots of practice and guidance some friends

🎧 I was able to record Yo me llamo Cumbia just today. 🎧

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Oh awesome Jean-Michel! This is seriously cool and major congrats on putting this together. Your vocals sound awesome here! Also, how did ya get the background music?

Collapse
 
jmfayard profile image
Jean-Michel 🕵🏻‍♂️ Fayard

YouTube > "yo me llamo cumbia" instrumental

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Today, I've been listening to the Hermanos Gutiérrez excellent guitar-centric performance on Tiny Desk. It's such a cool vibe, just check it out:

As for whereabouts they're from, the description on Tiny Desk explains their unique background:

Hermanos Gutiérrez’s origin story is as intricate as the guitar playing styles of its two members. The brothers have roots in both Switzerland and Ecuador, and the time spent in those two very distinct cultures and geographies gives their sound a tempered European coolness, coupled with a warm, playful energy.

Funny, enough National Public Radio's Tiny Desk is a pretty darn good channel for finding interesting international music. I love it! ☕️

Collapse
 
highcenburg profile image
Vicente G. Reyes

This! Trying to still do mixing/mastering as a hobby

Collapse
 
theoriginalbpc profile image
Sarah Dye

I'm listening to a lot more kpop. I watched XO Kitty recently so I've been listening to some of the playlists people created based on all the songs featured in the Netflix show.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Oooo this sounds like fun! Thanks for chiming in here, Sarah. 🙌