DEV Community

Cover image for Music Monday β€” What are you listening to? (Suno.AI Edition πŸ€–)
Michael Tharrington for The DEV Team

Posted on

Music Monday β€” What are you listening to? (Suno.AI Edition πŸ€–)

cover image source: Giphy

We're back with another Music Monday and this time we're doing something a bit different... rather than dropping existing songs, I'd like for y'all to generate one using Suno AI! Quick note: this article is not sponsored by Suno. πŸ˜… In any case, a friend introduced me to what he called "the Midjourney of music" last week and ever since I've been having too much fun with it. I've generated funk songs to cheer up my wife while she's at work, heartfelt hip hop tunes wishing my brother and sister-in-law a belated happy birthday, and invitations for my parents to see Dune II in Imax. Honestly, these are just a sample... like I said, too much fun! Now, I'd like to share the fun here in Music Monday and hear what y'all come up with. Please keep it clean, and to make it even more interesting, consider sharing your prompt too! As always, feel free to share music outside of the theme.

Three Boston Dynamics robots are dancing in sync together.


How we do

In this weekly series, folks can chime in and drop links to whatever it is they've been listening to recently + browse others' suggestions. You can follow the suggested genre if you'd like, but don't feel confined to it; you're free to suggest whatever you wanna. πŸ™Œ

If you're interested in having other discussions about music, consider following the aptly named #music discussions organization.


Let's get to generating! πŸ€–

Note: you likely cannot embed a Suno AI link using the following syntax {% embed https://... %}. But, just drop a link to your song!

Looking forward to listening to y'all's suggestions! 🎢


🚨p.s. Check out @rachelfazio's sister series to Music Monday, Podcast Palooza!🚨

Top comments (34)

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington • Edited

Here's a song that I generated about DEV called "Dev Party All Night"... funny, but the vibe of it kinda reminds me of "Lowrider" by War.

Here's the prompt I used to generate "Dev Party All Night" btw:

A funky disco punk song about software developers from around the world coming together in the Dev Community to share ideas, write code, make friends, and have a good time.

And the lyrics it spat out are cheesy but honestly not too bad, haha!

[Verse]
From Silicon Valley to Tokyo
We're the devs that love to code (code)
Breaking barriers, pushing boundaries
The Dev Community, we're a family (ooh yeah)

[Verse 2]
We're rockin' lines of code, we're breakin' beats
Sharing knowledge, creating feats (feats)
From Java to Python, C++ to Ruby
Together we're unstoppable, getting groovy (groovy, baby)

[Chorus]
Dev party all night (all night)
Coding and dancing under neon lights (neon lights)
We're dev kings and queens, we're dev dynamite
In the Dev Community, we're havin' a good time (good time)

Collapse
 
stefanmoore profile image
Stefan Moore

I am very intrigued about the things I can create with this. To be continued...

@michaeltharrington the track you created is upbeat and makes me wanna chair dance. Will check out the others you created for ideas.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Haha, it is pretty damn catchy, isn't it!? πŸ˜€

I haven't gotten this excited about AI in a while... I admit that I haven't taken this app all that seriously, but then again I don't take life too seriously, haha. I love how quick and easy it is to create a novelty song in the moment for whatever is going on. I mean, I enjoy writing songs and I suppose I could be scared that this is gonna replace human musicians, but I'm really not. I think this can exist in parallel.

I am kinda interested in what all this stuff can do though! I'm sure there are folks out there pushing the creative musical boundaries of this and other AI... Meanwhile, I'm just making silly jingles for my loved ones, haha!

Thread Thread
 
stefanmoore profile image
Stefan Moore

I want to create something like Faze-O "Riding High" or anything by Issac Hayes.

Thread Thread
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Haha, that would be dope!

So, that is the one downside (or potentially upside depending upon depending upon which way you look at it, haha πŸ™ƒ ) to Suno at least. They won't let you use an artist's name or existing song in your prompt. I get it, but dammit, I really wanna hear Michael Jackson sing The Beatles... haha, jk, don't need AI for that one.

Thread Thread
 
stefanmoore profile image
Stefan Moore

Ideas to create an app to do that. Only issue is licensing.

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt β˜•

Oh woah 🀯

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Haha! Perfect emoji for this one. It is mind-blowing!

Collapse
 
mrlinxed profile image
Mr. Linxed

Annoyingly good. πŸ˜…

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington • Edited

Haha, right?! It is absolutely ridiculous.

And I'm someone who kinda cares about music, but like if I was just a normal listener, this could probably totally feed whatever musical craving I have, haha. Kinda scary when you think about the implications, but simultaneously absurd to be able to generate reggae songs about my cat Baby Kitty battling giants, dragons, and ghosts before chilling out and laying in my wife Katelyn's lap. 🀣

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt β˜•

I generated this music. πŸ₯³

Prompt :

ambient style with rhythm, on fine weather

I like ambients songs, and why "on fine weather" ? I didn't want sad music 🀣

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Dangit! I can't get it to work right now for me. It pulls up that song, but times out when trying to play it...

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt β˜•

Oooh me to. arg

Collapse
 
dendihandian profile image
Dendi Handian

SunoAI seems interesting, I will do experiment on it later.
Today while I'm listening to my Tame Impala playlist, I was recommended this song after finishing the playlist. Turn out it was the stranger things cast, Joe Keery stage name, Djo. I find it totally fit with my tame impala playlist because it sounds so psychedelic.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Hell yeah, Dendi!

Always delivering the goods. I had no idea that Joe Keery was a musician... that's dope!

On that note, you ever listen to Finn Wolfhard's group Calpurnia? Very pop punky.

Collapse
 
dendihandian profile image
Dendi Handian

I'm aware he formed a band since the new A-ha/Weezer Take On Me music video, but not hooked yet. Maybe I will start with this, thank for sharing Michael.

Collapse
 
best_codes profile image
Best Codes • Edited

I've got some interesting AI generated music:

The Code Inside

app.suno.ai/song/e09dc2f2-b26a-4ef...

The Code In My Heart

app.suno.ai/song/e37bdbfc-905f-45e...

Code Warrior

app.suno.ai/song/945a6f80-b169-47a...

Not that creative, but to be fair, I didn't give it much to go on.


Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington • Edited

Haha! These are pretty fun.

Something about "The Code In My Heart" is just great... I think it's because of the genre, I would rarely pair programming with country, haha, and I think that's part of why it's surprising and fun!

I like how the singer sounds a bit auto-tuney, like it could be a country-singing robot. This robot sings about coding the same way a cowboy would sing about cowboy-ing, and that feels fitting. Coding would be natural for a robot, haha!

Collapse
 
best_codes profile image
Best Codes

Yep! My personal favorite is the first one. The others are fun, too, though!

Collapse
 
tqbit profile image
tq-bit

I've been waiting for this

Behold

Tubby Mc Fluff, the fattest cat in the UK

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Hahaha! Oh I wanna meet Tubby McFluff. Sounds like a great kitty!

Reminds me of this song about my cat Baby Kitty fighting mythical beasts and then going to sleep in my wife's lap.

Collapse
 
ssukhpinder profile image
Sukhpinder Singh • Edited

Damn I'm impressed, with just small sentence it generated quite a good rap

Prompt

heavy drum hiphp beats and rap

Created two versions

I loved the 2nd one.

Lyrics

[Verse]
Boom, boom, hit it hard with the bass
Drums go wild, they set the pace (uh-huh)
Feel the rhythm, it's in your bones
Can't sit still, you gotta let it flow (ooh yeah)

[Verse 2]
Lyrical assault, it's time for the rap
Fast and furious, ain't no time to nap (nope)
Spitting rhymes that cut like a knife
Heavy beats, it's the rhythm of life (oh yeah)

[Chorus]
Turn it up, feel the heat, let the beat drop
Bounce to the rhythm, don't you ever stop
Heavy drum hits, it's a musical fire
Hiphop's the game and we're taking it higher (uh-huh)

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Haha, awwww yeaaa! This is a heavy hitter. Good stuff, Sukhpinder! πŸ™Œ

Collapse
 
ssukhpinder profile image
Sukhpinder Singh
Collapse
 
brnms profile image
Bruno Santos

Generated a neo/dark/folk, good one, very atmospheric, since we're starting Autumn in the Southern Hemisphere I thought it could be a good theme for the lyrics

app.suno.ai/song/babd3c25-bdfc-4e4...

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

From verse 2:

The sun's warmth fades, replaced by a chill
A somber beauty cloaks the land
Shadows lengthen, darkness descends
In this melancholic embrace, we stand

I mean damn. It killed that prompt, haha!

Good one, Bruno!

Collapse
 
lilxyzz profile image
Travis

Suno is killer!

Saltwater Tides

Prompt

Make a song that has a beach punk / alternative rock sound. It should have a grunge-sounding singer with good drums. 140-160 BPM range.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Oh yeah it is! 😎

So, I think they did a good job with your prompt, but they really struggle to create good grungy sounding singers. I ran into a similar problem when trying to generate bluesy, soulful vocal for a song. The vocalists just often come off sounding a bit too clean in my opinion! Hopefully with time, they'll have a bit more character.

Collapse
 
ddebajyati profile image
Debajyati Dey

I made this months ago. It is legit and I listen this often. (AI theme song πŸ€–πŸŽ€)

Neon Skies.
app.suno.ai/song/e2f2c12c-5d01-45e...

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Oh wow, this is interesting! Oh and this was on v2, huh? Anyway, the vocal here sounds really post-punk and the beat has that industrial vibe going on. I like it!

Collapse
 
ddebajyati profile image
Debajyati Dey

Yeah! I wanted it to catch the dystopian vibe!

Collapse
 
best_codes profile image
Best Codes

Suno is awesome! I've generated a lot of songs with it and might share some later.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Please do, Best! I'm ready for it, haha. πŸ˜€

Collapse
 
best_codes profile image
Best Codes

I don't have very many non-personal ones to share… I'll see if I can find some in a bit.