DEV Community

Cover image for Music Monday — What are you listening to? (Nostalgia Edition)
Michael Tharrington for The DEV Team

Posted on

Music Monday — What are you listening to? (Nostalgia Edition)

cover image source: nowthatsmusic

Alright, it's a new week and I'm ready to listen to some fresh tunes. This time up I'm curious to hear any music that makes you all feel particularly nostalgic. Perhaps it's music that references a previous decade (perhaps even one that you never lived during). Or, maybe it's music that brings you back to a particular time in your life, like tunes from your teenage days. Whatever the case may be, I wanna hear some tunes that take you to a specific time and place. Take me there with ya!

A hand holding a compact disc floats around the screen with little laggy trails behind it like in the early internet days... it's meant to feel nostalgic


How we do

In this weekly series, folks can chime in and drop links to whatever it is they've been listening to recently + browse others suggestions.

If you'd like, you can view previous entries in the series here. And for those who have been following along with this series, you may notice that I'm now posting it under the DEV Team org... it's the same old series, but I've just decided to house it here going forward. 😀


Alright, let's get this nostalgia train a'rollin'... 🚂 Note: you can embed a link to your song using the following syntax {% embed https://... %}. This should work for most common platforms!

Looking forward to listening to y'all's suggestions! 🎶

Top comments (20)

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ☕

Ooor

Whatever, I created a playlist with olds musics. 😍

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Ooooo yeah, these are freaking great, Thomas!

I love the two songs you plucked out from the playlist... lotsa goodies in that playlist as well. 🙌

Collapse
 
chrisgreening profile image
Chris Greening

Yessss I've been compiling this playlist of tunes that were popular when I was a kid (late 90s - early 2000s)

I was really into classic rock through most of my childhood (bc of my parents) and have only grown to appreciate these songs as I've gotten older but find myself putting this list on allllll the time now (esp when I am feeling particularly wistful 😅)

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Ooooo awesome! I'm well familiar with this era of tunes — Goo Goo Dolls, Alanis Morissette, Counting Crows, Spin Doctors, Sheryl Crow, Wallflowers, Blind Melon, Third Eye Blind — so many goodies, I can't name'em all but am so glad you put this together! 🙌 I recommend adding Blues Traveler; they seem to fit the bill.

A lot of this music made a big comeback with my friend group in college. And actually, my senior year of college, Third Eye Blind played a show locally (in Wilmington, NC... a small town). At the time, it felt like a big deal, like they must've heard our call, haha. Sadly, I didn't make it to the show, but I heard it was a good one.

Of all the bands in this era, I think I like Blind Melon the most. "No Rain" is absolutely a fantastic song, but they have so many other good ones that didn't get enough radio attention! I really love "Tones of Home" and their cover of "The Pusher." Not to mention, their alternate version of "No Rain" freaking rocks — it has elements that remind me of Led Zeppelin's "When the Levee Breaks"!

Collapse
 
valeriavg profile image
Valeria

Yesterday I woke up with a distinct desire to listen to Yaki-Da “I saw you dancing” which I haven’t heard since childhood. Then I just let the recommendations play and enjoyed t.A.t.u, C.C. Catch, Guano Apes and overall took quite of a trip down the memory lane.
Totally recommend this experience:)

https://music.youtube.com/watch?v=rL4QhWxOiIQ&feature=share

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Oooo yeah, just tuned into Yaki-Da and this is groovin'. 😀

Collapse
 
erinposting profile image
Erin Bensinger

This album puts me right back on the 6:20am bus to high school, listening to my 2nd gen iPod nano...

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Rock on!! 🎸

Collapse
 
dendihandian profile image
Dendi Handian • Edited

this song was recently recommended to me in spotify. this is a new song released in 2022 but feels nostalgic, just like The Midnight @michaeltharrington

bonus:

this song from phum viphurit released in 2018 also feels nostalgic

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Oh totally, Dendi!

This has def got The Midnight vibes... and hey, it's even got "Midnight" in the title. I'm digging it! 😀

Funny thing, it's giving me nostalgia for a totally different reason. Phoenix had a pretty awesome album release my third year of college called Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix. We used to play that album front to back. The song "1901" was def one of my faves... takes me back to beautiful blues skies and sunny days in Wilmington, NC.

Collapse
 
dendihandian profile image
Dendi Handian

I just know the band yesterday, seems like they're indie band from 90s era. As a band, they're so much electronic based from the song 1901 alone. Just like Muse

Thread Thread
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington • Edited

Nice!! Yeah, def similar era to Muse.

Phoenix are a French band... I love this performance of theirs on Blogothèque (a channel that films indie bands playing out in public in France) ... playing "1901", a song about the Eifel Tower, right beneath the Eifel Tower is pretty damn cool and very fitting. 😎

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington • Edited

The album Monsters by The Midnight totally gives me 80's nostalgia (and I suppose some 90's nostalgia too with the whole dial-up tone at the beginning of the album). I was introduced to this a couple years back (thanks @jdoss!) and it's been in regular rotation ever since.

Here's a playlist for Monsters (the whole album and some extra live performances, etc)... but I've plucked out a few of my faves for y'all:

Collapse
 
dendihandian profile image
Dendi Handian • Edited

I am dreaming that The Midnight song could be featured in the Stranger Things series, but too bad the series seems already entering 90s.

Collapse
 
moopet profile image
Ben Sinclair

NOW can't be on 60 already, surely

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Lol! I had to look it up and apparently we've moved well past 60... Now That's What I Call Music! 85 was released on February 3, 2023. 😱

Collapse
 
moopet profile image
Ben Sinclair

I have NOW 6 on vinyl. I didn't listen to any after that I don't think, but 6 was a banger.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington • Edited

Something that always makes me super nostalgic is the movie Moonwalker about Michael Jackson:

I was a huge, HUGE, MJ fan as a kid and I remember having a video tape version of this that my parents recorded off of t.v. The special was playing on MTV... it's kind of a fun little time capsule because it recorded all the commercials playing on MTV at the time. I think it released at the same time that they were doing the making the video for Scream, Michael's rockin' song with Janet in the 90's.

Anyway, Moonwalker is just such a treat. It goes through MJ's evolution from a child star to the King of Pop and ends during his Bad era — I think it released in 1988 so at that point it was up to date. But yeah, it's a really creative presentation, they weave together music videos and other content to form something that is super original. Hope y'all enjoy it!

Collapse
 
jmfayard profile image
Jean-Michel 🕵🏻‍♂️ Fayard

La Colegiala a Cumbia from 1980 just one year before I was born

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Oooo yeah, this was a good one. 🙂 Nice way to end the week, tuning into some Cumbia!