DEV Community

Cover image for Music Monday — What are you listening to? (August 22)
Michael Tharrington for #music discussions

Posted on

Music Monday — What are you listening to? (August 22)

cover image source: clip from The Get Down

In this weekly series, folks can chime in and drop links to whatever it is they've been listening to recently + browse others suggestions.

If you like talking about music, consider following the org #music discussions for more conversations about music!


So, let me hear what you're tuning into this Monday. Note: you can embed a link to your song on most platforms using the following syntax {% embed https://... %}.

I look forward to listening to y'all's suggestions! 👂 🎶

Top comments (19)

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington • Edited

I recently stumbled upon a whole scene of DJs that spin cassettes instead of records and find it all fascinating!

The person behind the wheels in this first video is DJ ooedotechnica... I've kinda struggled to find info on them, but am def interested in what they do! Apparently, they built their own equipment for DJ-ing cassettes — check it out in their quirky performance below for the DJ-heavy YouTube channel, The Moment.

Here's another cassette-spinning DJ that goes by DJ Yew. This set is also from The Moment, and is all Hip Hop. Dig it!

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ☕

No restrictions of style of music's? 😛

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

lol, nahhh that didn't work out so well last time, so figured I'd keep it simple. 😆

Maybe I'll do some more themes in the future, but this time around it's wide open!

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ☕

I like it when It's based with a theme!

Thread Thread
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Totally hear ya on that! I'll try and think up a good theme for us next week. And, on that note, if you have suggestions for a theme we could focus on next week, I'm all ears!

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ☕

This music, I listened yesterday again and again.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Awww man, great song. Ya really need to share the video for the full experience though!

Collapse
 
vishwastyagi profile image
Vishwas Tyagi


Listening this song on repeat.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Awww man! Nice. I think I hear some samples from Nuthin' but a "G" Thang in there too — was not expecting that, but it fits!

Collapse
 
vishwastyagi profile image
Vishwas Tyagi

Yeah, good song.

Collapse
 
zoreankit profile image
Ankit Zore

Do people listen to different music on different days. 🤔

I have a set playlist while working and play it on loop.😛

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

That's an interesting question! I personally don't have set music for each day of the week, but just like to constantly switch it up.

That said, I do have certain types of music that I go to while working... especially if it's really focused work. In those cases, I often am drawn to instrumental music, lofi beats, and ambient stuff.

How about you? What kinda stuff goes on your working playlist?

Collapse
 
zoreankit profile image
Ankit Zore

Even I do like lofi, ambient music when I'm too focused on work but for other times I love hip hops and chill musics.🤗

Thread Thread
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

I totally feel ya on that!

My preferences change day-to-day, but I typically got certain music that I like to work to and certain music that I like to chill to... but even then, the lines get blurred, haha! For instance, I love listening to ambient music while working, but sometimes even while chilling outside of work I like to put it on. For example, I popped on Music for Airports the other day when I had a long drive to take.

Collapse
 
yuridevat profile image
Julia 👩🏻‍💻 GDE

I can't stop listening to this song for days now 🎶

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Oooo this is epic!! I really enjoyed the animation too. 🙌

Collapse
 
doutir profile image
Nathan Guedes

I can't stop listening this song

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Nice!! The beat is super interesting on this one.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Wow! This is new to me... I'd not heard of phonk music prior to this. I'm liking the energy! Great share!