DEV Community

Cover image for Music Monday — What are you listening to? (May 2)
Michael Tharrington for #music discussions

Posted on

Music Monday — What are you listening to? (May 2)

cover image credits: Thoka Maer

In this weekly series, folks can chime in and drop links to whatever it is they're listening to + browse others suggestions.

If you like talking about music, consider following the org #music discussions for more conversations about music!

Also noteworthy, my friend @duxtech has a Spanish speaking version of this series here in case you'd like to chime in there as well.

So, what have y'all been listening to today? Note: you can embed a link to your song on most platforms using the following syntax {% embed https://... %}.

I look forward to listening to y'all's suggestions! 👂 🎶

Top comments (61)

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington • Edited

I'm tuning into this mix called Khruangbin Vibes... it's basically a mix of chill tunes that are along the lines of music produced by the band Khruangbin:

I end up on this particular mix (volume 9) quite often and it's become a go-to. Lots of great artists and so many good tunes. The top comment provides a tracklist that lets you skip around from track to track.

2 of my faves from the mix:

  • 3:30 "Into Nirvana" by Maverick Sabre
  • 49:31 "Upside Down" by NOMO & Shawn Lee Feat. Natalie Bergman
Collapse
 
highcenburg profile image
Vicente G. Reyes

ooooffff. 🔥 🔥 🔥

Collapse
 
ruannawrites profile image
Ruanna

Love them!

Collapse
 
simeg profile image
Simon Egersand 🎈

Ohh Khruangbin. Love that band. Seen them live a few times and they're really tight!

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

So jealous! I really wanna see them live. Only seen videos and totally agree that they are indeed pumping out some tight grooves.

Thread Thread
 
simeg profile image
Simon Egersand 🎈

As a guitarist myself I love seeing Mark Speer playing. He has such a unique approach to his playing. Can't wait to see them again.

Thread Thread
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

He really does have a signature style! In a strange way it kinda reminds me of Dick Dale — something about the delay/reverby tone and the speediness of his playing.

Collapse
 
buginether profile image
bug-in-ether

Khruangbin is a great chill band to listen to.

youtu.be/fcaWN3ZJnhs

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

No doubt! They've become one of my go-tos at work. While they aren't solely instrumental, they are certainly very instrumental heavy, and I generally avoid songs with lotsa lyrics while working, otherwise I def get distracted.

Collapse
 
jonrandy profile image
Jon Randy 🎖️ • Edited

"Khruangbin" is Thai for "Aeroplane" - or pretty close

เครื่องบิน

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington • Edited

Nice!! I remember reading that that's the bassist's favorite Thai word.

Music is one big web that weaves in and out of my mind, and reading "Aeorplane" just makes think of the Chili Peppers who I have mentioned more than once on DEV now, haha!

Collapse
 
dendihandian profile image
Dendi Handian

Love Khruangbin

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern • Edited

I like to sometimes listen to pop hits from a certain year, just to bring me back — even if it's not the music I liked at the time 😅

Today it's 2013 hits

‎Pop Hits: 2013 on Apple Music

Playlist · 50 Songs

favicon music.apple.com
Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Right on, that's a good idea! I think music is one of the best catalysts for nostalgia.

Collapse
 
chrisgreening profile image
Chris Greening

I've been passively compiling some new playlists to throw on in the background while I work, these are the two latest ones that I've been pulling together

wistful vocals with crunchy synth instrumentals:

70s and 80s rock, new wave, punk, etc. that feel like spring and early summer:

Collapse
 
workingwebsites profile image
Lisa Armstrong

XTC? Big Country? Wow, I haven't heard them since...
<WHOOOSH> (fell into a time warp)

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Oh heck yeah!

You got 2 very unique lists going on and I like both of these styles.

Thanks so much for sharing!

Collapse
 
abhinav1217 profile image
Abhinav Kulshreshtha

Oops I did it again....
I forgot my scope..
Now I have memory leakaggeee.. e.. e..

Collapse
 
jeoxs profile image
José Aponte • Edited

Right now I'm listening to Hall and Oates - Maneater. I love the 80's Music and Metal Gear Solid V has a lot of them:

youtube.com/playlist?list=PLB7HmcP...

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Woot! As a big fan of MGS, I am so happy to see Snake's face here in this feed.

Oh, and Hall & Oates are just excellent!

Collapse
 
wiseai profile image
Mahmoud Harmouch

Back in the days, while studying electrical engineering at university, Youtube decided to throw the one and only Devon Crowford into my recommendation list. To a certain extent, I liked the tracks he kept constantly reposting on soundcloud that made me chill while coding and stuff of that nature. Three years ago(OMG, time goes so damn fast, please, someone slow it down for god's sake, rn.), he suddenly vanished from Youtube without any single explanation whatsoever. Rumers said he is working on something out of this world, such as building the next version of Google; not sure what that even means. But all in all, I liked this guy; He seemed a nice fellow and humbled human being trying to experience life on his own. I hope he is having a good time.

devon soundcloud

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Dang, I like these beats. Good share!

Collapse
 
nombrekeff profile image
Keff

I've been listening to Deluxe as of late, though for work and relaxing I really enjoy this mix:

And also enjoy everything from "Röss-Åke - The Mix Curator", this one in particular:

Collapse
 
cloudkungfu profile image
Javel Rowe

I've had No Wahala on repeat since the start of the month 🕺💃

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Awww man, this is just plain old fun! Makes me sooooo ready for some summer weather.

Collapse
 
zippcodder profile image
Deon Rich

Two words: B E A C H H O U S E

Collapse
 
zippcodder profile image
Deon Rich
Collapse
 
j_mplourde profile image
Jean-Michel Plourde

I'm listening to the latest Cannibal Corpse album which has a lot of good stuff

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Awww yeah. Having a heavy metal Monday!

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

This week I've started off with some 30 Seconds to Mars. Still love this album

Collapse
 
highcenburg profile image
Vicente G. Reyes

Currently listening to lo-fi

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Oooo very chill!

I love some lofi and some rain noise, haha.

I actually frequently sleep with this specific rain noise generator. So relaxing!

Collapse
 
ajinspiro profile image
Arun Kumar
Collapse
 
alco profile image
Jakub Stibůrek

Joji

Collapse
 
jankapunkt profile image
Jan Küster

di.fm (this is not an ad) switched through many channels but mostly stayed on Progressive, Liquid DnB, Jungle and Breaks

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.