DEV Community

Ryan Whelchel
Ryan Whelchel

Posted on

Day 33 of #100daysofcode: Revisiting Flask

Hey again everybody!

With so much of my focus lately being on React and Redux, I wanted to revisit Flask and get a better idea of what I should be doing with Flask when I am using it in tandem with React.

If you don't know, Flask is a web framework from which you can serve data to specific endpoints. That data can be HTML, which lets you host webpages using nothing but Flask and HTML, but it can also be JSON data which allows you to use your Flask server as an API.

My previous app used some Flask endpoints and some React-router endpoints as webpages. There were also some Flask endpoints which functioned as an API endpoint... but sometimes redirected you.

I'm really not proud of how the endpoints were structured in my previous app, so I'm setting out to make sure that my routing is as clean as possible and is as close to best practices as it can be.

Today

  • LeetCode
  • Bit of FreeCodeCamp
  • Set up the Flask backend, set up React routing, did some research on some best practices regarding using Flask with React routing

Upcoming

  • Continued Leetcode practice, FreeCodeCamp progress and Advent of Code
  • Continue working on Study-aid-app
    • Need to iron out how I want to handle user sessions. Considering using Google auth.
  • Might return to a little Functional Programming discussion
  • Later in the challenge: Possible Android app version of Study Aid app, AWS Deployment, AWS Certification, and Using Docker!?

Resources

JS Course - FreeCodeCamp
Redux Essentials
Redux Fundamentals
Redux FAQ
Advent of Code

Top comments (0)