DEV Community

Cover image for 23. Help me see the problem (Day 21)
Manoj Kumar
Manoj Kumar

Posted on • Originally published at emanoj.hashnode.dev

23. Help me see the problem (Day 21)

Have you ever found yourself in a situation where you're faced with a problem you can't quite solve on your own? Perhaps you've encountered a technical issue or a challenge in your work, and you feel stuck and unable to see the solution. It's a common experience, and it's one that many of us have encountered in our professional or personal lives.

In this article, I want to highlight the importance of asking for help when you're faced with a problem that seems insurmountable.

The Problem

As mentioned on day 19 of my journal, in my assignment-related portfolio website, I implemented Partial files, which are a useful tool in web development, allowing you to reuse code across different pages. However, after this implementation, I noticed that the responsiveness of my website had broken. I was stumped and had no idea where to start troubleshooting the issue.

My Lack of Experience

I must admit that I'm not a seasoned web developer. I am only in week 3 of learning to code! The complexity of the issue left me feeling overwhelmed and out of my depth. I could neither figure out what the problem was nor how to fix it.

The Turning Point

It was at this point that I realized I needed help. Instead of struggling in silence, I decided to reach out for assistance. I knew that the issue was likely a minor one, but I needed someone to guide me through it. So, I contacted my tutor and he was more than willing to assist me.

The Power of Asking for Help

I shared my GitHub repository with my tutor and provided him with screenshots of the problem I was facing. However, there was a twist to my request for assistance that I believe made all the difference. In my message to my tutor, I made it clear that I didn't want him to provide a ready-made solution to fix the problem. Instead, I asked him to use this situation as an opportunity to help me build my troubleshooting skills.

This approach, I believe, was crucial. It showed that I was not just looking for a quick fix but also aimed to understand the problem-solving process. I wanted to learn how to identify and address issues independently, which is a valuable skill in any field.

A Positive Mindset

Reflecting on this experience, I felt that adopting this mindset was a significant step forward. Rather than viewing the problem as a roadblock, I saw it as an opportunity for growth and learning. By asking for help and requesting guidance on building my troubleshooting skills, I was not only solving the immediate issue but also investing in my long-term development.

The Takeaway

The experience of asking for help to help me see the problem was a valuable lesson in humility and growth. It reinforced the idea that it's okay to seek assistance when you encounter challenges beyond your current skill level. Moreover, it highlighted the importance of fostering a growth mindset, where problems are viewed as opportunities for learning and improvement.

So, the next time you find yourself stuck in a difficult situation, remember that asking for help is not a sign of weakness but a step toward personal and professional development. Approach the problem with an open mind, and seek guidance from those who can help you navigate the path to a solution. You'll not only solve the problem at hand but also equip yourself with valuable skills for the future.

Top comments (0)